sanity check: are these numbers even possible?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Chult

Member Since 2014
Hi all,

My cat Vegas has been on Lantus at varying doses and low carb wet food (Weruva first and now Tiki) since his diagnosis in Feb. By May, he was at 1 unit every 12 hours with normal blood sugar (50-200 range). Then something went wrong and since August, we've been getting high readings. We've increased his dose to 2 units and I just did a mini-curve yesterday that has numbers I don't understand at all (normally his curves are usually +/-200 from first reading).) How can a cat go from 166 to 500 in a few hours? Is this what some veterans here refer to as "bounce" or some kind of negative reaction to insulin? Has anybody seen numbers like this on the same day and if so, what might it mean?


  • AMPS (and actually 14 hours since prior shot because we slept in) = 261
    +2.5 hrs = 166 (haven’t seen a number this low for months)
    +8 hrs = 500
    *checked calibration of Alphatrak 2 at this point. Appears calibrated.
    PMPS = 589 (his highest reading ever since diagnosis)

In terms of the usual suspects: We checked our Alphatrak 2 twice to ensure it was calibrated using control solution and it says it's calibrated. Also, our Lantus and test strips are NOT expired etc. And my husband and I don't think we gave a fur shot in the AM. I don't think Vegas got into any high carb food because we don't have any of that around and clean up human food quickly. . .

I will get some more readings to see if the pattern repeats, of course (and try to get one between the hours where it seems to increase rapidly). I have been looking at spreadsheets of various kitties on Lantus to see if these types of swings happen to anybody else but not sure I've looked at enough to find a kindred sugarcat. Any thoughts on what might be going on here? Would be grateful . . .

Will likely set up a spreadsheet longer term and maybe join the Lantus relaxed group . . . through this message board I'm realizing the value of consistent testing and adjustment.

Thanks for any advice-- am learning a lot from the folks here and realizing we haven't been sufficiently vigilant.

Caroline

Sugarcat: Vegas
Lantus, unregulated
Alphatrak 2
Diagnosed February 2014
 
Without seeing the full spreadsheet of numbers, I can't say for sure - but this looks very much like a bounce to me. If +2.5 was that much lower than preshot, he probably saw much lower than that in the few hours following that test.

Check out Tink's SS and you'll see plenty of bounces like that - from green all the way to black in some cases.

Large drops can cause a bounce, but also fast drops can cause a bounce.

BTW... ANYTHING is possible when it comes to Feline Diabetes. Tink continues to make me question my sanity on an almost daily basis! :lol:
 
Seems odd that it went from stable to unstable. Could it be a bad pen? Like the numbers started going wonky at about the same time you started a new pen/vial of Lantus? That happened to us one time. Also, have you had Vegas in for a checkup? Health issues and/or pain can cause higher numbers. Especially have them check his teeth.

If you can get your data recorded in a ss it will help advisors see the bigger picture so they can help you get Vegas back on track. Here's how to set one up: https://docs.google.com/document/d/1jqCdRZYrHkg26ptyJd9UzcQR6sPgwrgnSXI-O0wH45k/edit

Hugs to you and Vegas! I hope you get back on an even keel soon!
 
Did you actually test twice when you got the 500 and 589? Whenever I get a wonky number, I immediately re-test. It could have been a bad strip, too much or too little blood can cause a weird reading also.
 
Thanks all. Did not test twice but that's a good idea . . .we checked the meter with calibration solution so I don't think it's malfunctioning. Clearly need to capture one per hour during that window from low reading to high. Our vet thinks this may well be a response to going hypo.

I've set up a spreadsheet now. I'm ashamed of how erratically we tested him the past several months now that I've read more across the forum. Our old vet didn't emphasize importance of regular testing (despite being supportive of home testing, didn't tell us to do it daily etc.). My husband has to do the testing still-- I have not learned and I panic Vegas because I get so upset. So I'm dependent on him being home to do it. Must learn. Here is spreadsheet . . . sigh: https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet/ccc?key=0AqC2AYXjtIe6dDR2c1NNWFhoZ0RuTmZkM1R2ZDBvbFE&usp=sharing
 
Great job in setting up the spreadsheet! You need to add it to your signature so it's available with every post. Don't feel bad about not testing. We're all lost when we first start out. Good news is you're getting it done now and you can learn how to keep Vegas safe. Hope those black numbers hit the road soon!
 
Tara & Buster said:
Great job in setting up the spreadsheet! You need to add it to your signature so it's available with every post. Don't feel bad about not testing. We're all lost when we first start out. Good news is you're getting it done now and you can learn how to keep Vegas safe. Hope those black numbers hit the road soon!

I can't tell you how reassuring and kind these words are. I'm learning to test. We're starting the protocol. But I have felt terrible about what we've done so far--feels like we've failed him. New day coming. Appreciate the support.
 
I've gone through those feelings of thinking I've failed my kitty. I think we do our best at the time, making the best decisions we can with the information we have at the time. I know we always fed what we thought was high quality food. Science Diet, then we realized that wasn't good, went to Blue Buffalo. Always dry food because I'd read that it was better for their teeth.

And then we learn something new and it's hard not to beat ourselves up for choices we made in the past. We shouldn't have fed dry. We should've been more informed about vaccines, about steroids, about this, about that. The diabetes diagnosis brings on a whole new world of things we can beat ourselves up about.

Or, we can do what you're doing. Find an amazing community full of supportive people and helpful resources and do our best to become informed. And then we do our best for our kitties from now on. Because we can't change what's done. We have to focus on giving kitty the best care and love starting today.

Vegas is in good, loving hands.
 
I can tell you right now you have not failed him. Why? Because he is still with you. You did not hear the words "Your cat is diabetic" and respond with "Then I guess it's time to put him down." You bucked up, got the insulin and started treating the disease. Now we just need to help you learn the finer points to taking even better care of him. And you know what, because of what he is teaching you now every kitty that becomes part of your family now on will live a much longer and happier life. Yes, a sugarcat is a blessing in disguise. Sure wouldn't trade my 3 in for the world (of course won't trade in their 13 civie brothers and sisters either :lol: )

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top