Sandy's blood Sugar numbers today

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sandy96

Member Since 2012
I'm new to this group but some of you helped me yesterday with Bug (Sandy) and her first Hypo afternoon :-)
AMPS 162, followed the .25 per kg dosing protocol after she ate about .5oz of food and gave 1U Lantus
+2 241 laying in living room on kitty donut bed,
+4 291 same as above curled up sleeping
+6 295 same as above
+8 397 laying in kitchen cabinet, was a bit grumpy when I took her blood and "yelled" at me
her spreadsheet is attached to my signature please feel free to look through it. I have all her home numbers on it from the day we brought her home from the vet. I cchecked her urine this am for Ketones and it was neg, if i get the chance this eve will do the same esp since her sugar is way up.
 
Great job getting the spreadsheet (SS) set up! Thanks. I also can't believe you stayed up all night testing. You must be exhausted.

Don't be alarmed if it takes a few days to see Sandy's numbers stabilize. Lantus likes consistency. You changed Sandy's dose twice in three cycles. In addition to low numbers which can cause some bouncing, back to back dose changes can also yield wonky numbers.
 
Thanks Seinne and Gabby. I did sleep for the 1:45 between testing over night, I dont think I would have made it if i hadnt :-) I was wondering about the stabilization, also about her insulin dose tonight, Since her numbers are so high how should I handle the dosing? I'll be doing a +10 and of course the PMPS check. Do I need to continue the q 2hr sugar checks over night tonight since I changed her dose?
Thanks again for the help
 
Dani,
I would pick one dose and then stay with it. You've tested a couple times for ketones, and gotten negative results, correct?

I think I would stay with 1u, for six cycles (3 days), and continue getting tests as you can. You don't have to test every 2 hours.
How often you test, and when in the cycle, is more or less determined on the numbers you see.
If you get a PMPS number in the 300 range, then a test at +2 or +3 will give you an idea whether or not it is going to be an "active" cycle, meaning if it looks like she's in for a fairly big drop in BG. If you see a number at +2 / +3 that is a good bit lower than the PMPS test, then it would be a good idea to test again within an hour or two so you can see if it keeps dropping. If you don't see a big drop by that time, then maybe get a +6 to see how much it went down.

Here's a "typical" curve on Lantus:
Example of a typical Lantus curve:
+0 - PreShot number.
+1 - Usually higher than PreShot number because of the last shot wearing off. May see a food spike in this number.
+2 - Often similar to the PreShot number.
+3 - Lower than the PreShot number, onset has started.
+4 - Lower.
+5 - Lower.
+6 - Nadir/Peak (the lowest number of cycle).
+7 - Surf (hang around the nadir number).
+8 - Slight rise.
+9 - Slight rise.
+10 - Rising.
+11 - Rising (may dip around +10 or +11).
+12 - PreShot number.

If you see numbers that are not like that, like a quick early drop in BG, that's when you want to be testing more often, and feeding to slow things down.
And that's when you post on the board and ask for help or for people to take a look at your numbers. Use your subject line to catch people's attention if you need a quick answer.

For tonight, I think I'd go with 1u, and I'd get a test at +2 for starters.

Carl
 
Thanks Carl I appreciate your help!
Will do on the testing, and the insulin dose.
And of course post numbers
Dani
 
I agree with Carl -- stick with the 1.0u.

One way that Lantus differs from many other types of insulin is that dosing is based on the nadir. Pre-shot numbers are important only from the aspect of whether it's safe to shoot. Your dose is based on the nadir. So, even though you may see a high pre-shot number, you stick with the dose unless you've waited the 6 cycles/3 days in order to allow the dose to stabilize and an increase is indicated. (Of course, if numbers drop below 50, you decrease.)
 
Her PMPS was 352. She ate about half the 1/4 can of food I gave her and refused to eat more. 1unit given and will check per Carls suggestion at +2 to see how her numbers are reacting. Heres hoping they start to come down and not go Hypo again :-) I do have a question. If her numbers continue to climb what do I do? I know with a person we would call the doc and get an order to administer reg insulin (Humulin R) on a sliding scale if they didnt already have one. But I have no idea what to do for a kitty.
 
There are some kitties who use R. However, you don't have enough data yet to know if that approach is indicated with Sandy. Right now, you're seeing a bounce. It can take up to 72 hours for a bounce to clear. This is just Sandy's body responding to the low numbers from yesterday. Bounces are annoying but they are normal.
 
Thank You!!! Right now shes gone back into her favorite sleeping spot in a kitchen cabinet. WIll post her +2 number and try not to worry so much about her (its sure hard not to tho)
Edited to add: +2 BG is 288 so am gonna take the opportunity to get some sleep in my bed rather than the couch tonight :-D WIll be back at +6 to post next numbers.
Good night all
 
to finish out her 12 hr curve so to spea
+6 295
+8 295

Is moving around a bit this am, generally to and from the waterbowl. Am watching for her to head for the litterbox so can check for ketones.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top