samwise AMPS & PMPS +6

Status
Not open for further replies.

sueandsamwise

Member Since 2010
AMPS 442 Shot 2.7 U

+6 33
Sam went so low the DH should have called the vet! He said he was getting ready to and then Sam ate a lot of food and was acting normal. He never called me at work either. I would have absolutely freaked and taken him to the vet. ****! He's lucky I didn't know about this until about an hour after I got home! I tested Sam again when I found out and he was at 180. So another catastrophe avoided. I really need to figure out how much to give him with these ups and downs.

9.75 180

PMPS 289 2U
 
did someone write something i did not approve? tom r u playing with the computor again????
 
if we don't speak it can all be summed up. Bounce. it now looks verra verra clear that you are in chronic bounce. might have been for a long time.
and it's not +3.75 it's +9.75 k? ya scared me.
there is a whole thing about when cats go too low they are very insulin sensitive next day..
is there anyone on board who does not see this clearly is bounce for awhile now.
lori
 
Agree, Lori. He'd logically bounce from those 40s. And the low pmps. I am thinking both mean lower the dose. Is that what you are thinking?
 
yes, but since he's been high for sooooo long....it's so hard to decipher the dose. i feel that if sam is not going to be curved and curved routinely than we can't know when rebounding or when it's the real deal kwim?
it has become a little confusing but one thing i know...this is rebound.
 
and sue. today's 33 is not necessarily the lowest he's been. when they pop up from a low it can happen in less than an hour. so we don't know how much of a trend this is.
for ex.
amps 370
+6 73
pmps 480

we have no idea how this make believe day really went, was the +6 going down and zoom
or was the plus 6 immediatly following a big fat low and on it's way up.

a single test mid day does not the story tell.
 
Please lower the dose now, ok? I really truly do have samwise's best interest at heart and I have felt for a while now that the dose has been too high. From his constant dips into the 40's it appears that even 2.5u is too much for him right now. Please go down to at least 2.2u, or maybe even 2u and keep it there for a while. He will bounce from that 33 today, so don't be put off by higher numbers for the next cycle or two. Going down that low constantly and only getting one test in can sometimes be dangerous, as we saw today. But thank God you guys test mid cycle, otherwise this wouldn't have been caught! nailbite_smile
 
That was 9.75 too. Sorry, I was a bit flummoxed over the numbers. I do think I need to lower Sam's dose back down to 2.5 or 2.2 not matter if he's up in the 400's. I just hope that damned Hi doesn't creep back in. We're trying girls, we're trying.
 
Remember too that if you reduce and the #s go high, well 2 things - 1) you have to give the bouncing a little time to clear, so you may have to ride out a couple higher cycles. What's the phrase we use? Something about handcuffing yourself so you won't shoot the #s even if they are high. 2) If you get high for a few cycles and do need to break out of that, you KNOW these doses will do that. I know it's scary to think of the old days when you never saw blues or greens but I would put that out of your mind. Those were the old days and you are NOT in that scene any more. The scene you are in now is that the doses are often too high and that is dangerous. So it's a different picture altogether. I know how stressful & confusing & frustrating it all is, so I'm not trying to be critical, just to help you find the mindset that will help you get the dose right. I always had a hard time adjusting to the changed picture - yesterday's problems & rules belong to yesterday, not today, and they can be hard to let go of.

Anyhow, hang in there! I would do some experimenting with the dose at this point. Even if you undershoot a little right now, I think that is the lesser of the dangers right now. With ketone kitties in high #s, yeah, shoot more and take that risk. But you know he is getting overly good results right now, so take the opposite risk and see what happens. You may find he needs less insulin than you think - you will need to do some data gathering on lower doses to find out what the lower dose limits are and what doses are best (you already know the high dose limits!). Don't be afraid NOT to hit a green nadir. I know that's the opposite of what we tell most people, but you don't seem to have chicken sh*t dose syndrome :lol: like many do, so I think you need to let yourself relax a little in terms of trying to get a perfect nadir every cycle. Aim for a nadir of 150 rather than 50 and see how things go.

Hope that helps a little. We all care about you & Sammy and want the best for you both :YMHUG:
 
We'll try the lower dose Joanna. If anyone wants any 7777777777777777777777777777777777777777777777777777777777 Ghost just typed that. chicken sh*t I've got plenty right now. :lol:

My Sam is just driving me crazy with this. I wish he'd regulate. We may have to change insulins anyway. I'll keep this up for one more month, then no change, we change insulins.
 
so here we go with a new 'don't respond to the number' as opposed to shoot the number. you'll get some hi's,,,some reds likely but it has to be done. k?
btw, don't know who wrote that earlier post :lol:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top