Samwise AMPS & PMPS +6

Status
Not open for further replies.

sueandsamwise

Very Active Member
AMPS 457 2.6 I did a fur shot last night and he may have gotten some may have not.

+6 49 :mrgreen: No more cheese for Sam, he just barfed all down the front of the cat tower and my dresser. Sheesh!


PMPS 372 Shot 2.2U


Here is the scale I've been using for Sam. 175-50 No shot
200-185 1U
200-300 2U
300-400 2.5U
400and up 2.75U
 
In looking at your numbers yesterday, there is a *strong* possibility that Samwise went lower than that 47 at +4. Around +3 is when the prozinc first starts kicking in, and I would gander to say your nadir is not until at least +6 or +8, but I really can't tell where it is from the testing patterns. Though the 400+ this morning could be from a fur shot, the higher preshots yesterday are more than likely bounces from just plain going too low. If he is already at 47 by +4, you really need to get another test in 1 or 2 hours after that to ensure that he doesn't dive from there. It is a safety issue IMO and not a data gathering issue.
 
It looks like back on 3/28 you got picture perfect results shooting 2.2 on a 377 PS. I'd use that to guide me (I think you are using a sliding scale if I recall?) and make that my dose for PSs around 350 - 400.

It looks to me like his #s have improved enough you may need to revise your overall scale downwards? I'm not sure exactly what scale you are using at the moment, but keep in mind the scales are subject to constant revision as you get data and the picture changes. He is doing so well I am thinking maybe you can knock a .1 or .2 off of most spots on your scale and see how it goes.

He seems to be bouncing quite a bit less often now, which is super, so by shaving a hair off I think you might be able to avoid some of the bounces he is still getting, which look like they may be from the dose a bit too high. For instance last night I would have reduced the dose based on the 47 during the day (the rule of thumb is that any # under 50 triggers an IMMEDIATE dose reduction), especially since that may not have been the actual nadir, and the nighttime PS was lower. So to me that's an instant .2 to .4 off of the dose.

Not meaning to sound critical, just trying to help you avoid risky lows as well as bouncy-looking PSs. It's nice to see his PSs often being lower of late... YAY! :) If you can avoid overshooting hopefully you will see continued improvement in PSs. You definitely get big credit for having the guts to shoot enough to get him into good #s, and that strategy has produced some good results, but also some risk with some of the lower #s you have seen. Just don't want to see you overdo a good thing. :)
 
I hear you Joanna. It can be nerve racking giving the higher doses. I put the scale I am using up top. So, I may have to revise it downward.
 
See how tonight goes and that should help you decide. I found sliding scale overwhelming at times b/c of the constant adjustments as you collect data, and then all the questions about things on the borderline (like a 290 vs a 310, hmmm, not that different). If you can get the scale right though you can get good results. Hopefully a little tweaking and you can keep him in safe & good #s!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top