Samwise AMPS & PMPS +6 5/20

Status
Not open for further replies.

sueandsamwise

Very Active Member
AMPS 569 1.3 u :cry:

+6 571 Well, no drop today but a rise! I am thinking fur shot but I always feel him after wards to make sure he got the dose.

PMPS 553 1.5
 
I don't know, Sue. You don't seem to get much change regardless of how you tweak the dose. And those 200 points drops at nadir must feel awful. What did your vet say about changing insulin?
 
I feel your pain. Maisey was on such a short time, I don't know that I'm qualified to give suggestions. Do you think the high's are because of the lows?
To go from the upper 300's and 400's to greens in the 40-70's seems pretty dramatic drops to me, so I would be thinking bounce, especially since the days that the 1.4 was at night and the 1.2 in the a.m the bounce was higher in the morning - just a guess.
Is there any way he's finding "new" food sources- i.e. kids cookies/crackers bites?
I guess I'd be thinking go lower, but as I said, we were short timers on the juice.
 
What Kathy says makes sense to me. What about giving a lower dose a try? And I also think it makes sense to ask your vet about other insulins, as Sue suggested. I am assuming you are doing ketone monitoring and all is well there.
 
I think I will call the vet and ask if we can switch insulins. This is damned weird and I think it is the insulin after all this time. With him getting the same dose every day practically he shouldn't be bouncing like this. He's not getting that much and lowering the dose seems to be the problem I think. There are no other foods he can get into around the house either.
 
Sam has been one tough cookie. No fun to kind of start over on a different insulin but may be something different with a slower/longer duration may do the trick.
 
Hmm, that's all but unheard of for him, a 500 at +6. cat(2)_steam

I wish I had more ideas for you - you've tried lowering the dose and the nadirs get quite a bit higher, and you can't raise much b/c you risk the steep drops and low nadirs, so there isn't much room there to play with the dose. The only options that make sense to me would be early shooting, which is a pretty daunting task, or another insulin.

On the plus side I do think he has a really good chance at continued progress and continued lowering of the dose, but I don't see how you get there from here on 12/12 PZI shots. Also on the plus side you know he can get good nadirs and you have a window on the dose, so an insulin switch wouldn't be too traumatic I wouldn't think. You should get to the dose pretty quickly, start low and build up and you should be at these levels very soon, and then hopefully he would benefit from a flatter curve. No guarantees, but that's what I think I would do in your shoes.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top