Samwise AMPS & PMPS +6 4/12

Status
Not open for further replies.

sueandsamwise

Very Active Member
AMPS 233 .8U

Nice.

+6 129 dancing_cat flip_cat


****, ****, ****! Look at this horribly high number!!!!!!!! :o

PMPS 539 Shot 2U
 
Maybe Joanna will be able to analyze this for us. We have so many kitties that have low nadirs and high amps. It would be nice to figure out exactly what helped and how to apply that to others. :-D
 
That's a very lovely AMPS for Sam. Looks like he also had a nice nadir yesterday. Yay Sam! Here's to good day/good #'s today.
 
Wow, looking really awesome! My guess is the duration might be a little slim on this one, like what you saw last night, but still, looking good! I'm thinking you might need to edge the dose up a teensy bit, like 0.9 or maybe 1u on the next PS like this one (definitely not more than that though!). Nadir has a little room to be lower, though still very nice today! You are doing great! I'm so happy to see him doing well on less insulin - sometimes they just go all reds like he used to, so big yippee for all this great progress he has made!!!

As for analysis (my fave word! :mrgreen: ) it's hard to really match up very many kitties 1 to 1, seems like they all have variations and sometimes what works with one backfires with another. In this case I think there may have been a combo of actual rebound from the steep drops, and also liver training needed since he hadn't seen many good #s. So I'm thinking now that his liver has seen some stretches of good #s that reduced his insulin needs, so now the lower doses are still working well, and with the steep drops out of the picture the PSs are improving due to no more rebound. I'm guessing the higher PS last night was from less duration on the lower dose though. It's a balancing act! Anyhow, that's my speculation on all of it, if it made any sense.
 
Ouch that's high, sorry! I think it's probably the shorter duration on the lower dose. I might go with 1u as your lower end dose (maybe a hair less on a 150 PS). You got good duration off the 1.6 last night, so you may find you just need doses between 1 & 1.6. If 1u bugs you now b/c of the icky icky PMPS :evil: maybe try 1.2 as your lower end dose. He didn't do too badly yesterday though off that 1u - PMPS was on the high side, but not too awful. Maybe a fat 1u would have been perfect. I do like the higher green nadirs better than blue, just not those scary low ones! I'm sure you are frustrated - it's such a delicate balance to navigate between the highs & the lows. I used to feel like we were walking the insulin tightrope. You are doing great though!
 
Walking the insulin tightrope is right. I do feel a higher dose at night would be better, ah hell............ I have no frigging idea what the hell I am doing except playing with my Sam's life. To much, to little, when will it regulate and be just right. Bleh. :-| I really wanted to shoot a higher dose because of the higher number but thought that it would just ramp up his AMPS.
 
Yeah I agree, any higher dose would be risky. You don't want him dropping down to greens from black, that's just asking for a higher AMPS like you said. I know it's frustrating, but I'd be really happy about how he's doing lately - you've gotten some nice yellow PSs and still gotten good nadirs. It's really huge progress compared to a few months ago. Hope he is feeling better these days too? I know you have had a rough time.
 
Glad Sam is feeling better. That is so important too and can be overlooked when looking at just #'s. And... just when Sam starts making progress, the game changes and now you have to "re-learn" what works for him on lower doses. Exasperating but the key is Sam is making progress. After not a lot of progress for so long, that's a serious yay! Go Sam!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top