Samwise AMPS & PMPS +6 3/29

Status
Not open for further replies.

sueandsamwise

Very Active Member
AMPS 506 Shot 2.6U

I take a civvie to the vet today and I'll talk to her about the insulin. He's still on Prozinc. If he shows no improvement with this bottle we go to Glargine. No +6 DH forgot, his mom had surgery today.

PMPS 141 Shot 1U I am shooting on these low numbers because I want to sustain his surf. The vet does not understand this and still wants me to shoot the full dose of 2.75U. First she says this should be the limit of Sam's dose, today she said we can always shoot something higher. So, she contridicts herself, then says maybe I could just test every other day. I just wanted to yell "WHAT THE **** IS WRONG WITH YOU!" i will test before every shot! Would you tell you diabetic grandma to test just every other day! Jesus! What the hell is wrong with people. angry(2)_cat

My civvie, Ghost went in for a rabies shot. 51.00 later I was told he needed to lose 2 pounds and to have his teeth cleaned. They worked me up an estimate. 648.00! I told her sorry, to expensive. I can't afford that, my husband is on disablility, we are on a budget. Well, we can lower that by not taking x-rays, I did tell her that Dr. Smylie in Douglas charges $58 for a cleaning and that includes extractions. She said she would not compromise on medical care. I guess she thinks that her teeth cleaning is better than her colleagues. I will take Ghost to Smylie and then take him into her so she can critique his work. So anyway I guess I'll use her for the insulin and not for anything else. Crap. cat(2)_steam
 
Wow that sounds like scary surgery! :o Glad she is doing well.

Sorry your vet is being a pain. I'd just smile & nod and then do what you want to. :mrgreen:

$58 wow that is sweet. I had one kitty's dental done once in Washington state it was like $120 or something with 2 extractions! Here in Cali it's more like $600 minimum, (a lot) more with extractions. :YMSIGH: Crazy. Who can afford stuff like that, I mean really? Where my sis lives they wanted to give her dog a crown *giggle* for $3000!!! She laughed at them and they pulled the tooth, but I'm sure it still wasn't cheap.
 
58 for extractions!!!! well make sure they know what they're doing. venita has a horror story of extractions done leaving the root in the gum which caused infection and excrucitating pain. an xray should be done before and after. my vet whom i refer to as dr. idiot also wants 600 plus for the dental. no cleaning...just pulling. that 58 would'nt even cover all the drugs used in a dental. the anesthesia, the blood work up before, the anitbiotics, the pain killers for after...something there just doesn't ring right sue.
 
My vet charges about 250.00 for a dental. But they like to do an echo cardigram with a little machine that relays the info directly to a cardiologist who reads it which adds about another 50.00. Then if you haven't have blood work for kidney, liver function, etc. done recently they want to do that. All the extras are optional but recommended for senior kitties before they go under anesthesia.
 
My cat Max needs a dental in the next little while. Sounds like I need to start saving up now. Glad your MIL is ok. Sounds like a serious surgery. Nice PMPS from Sam today.
 
Man, I don't know where they get these high costs for a dental! The techs do it, at least they did when one cat I had, had a dental when I could afford it.

Dr. Smylie charges 58 dollars for dentals on cats, dogs, horses, etc. His techs do the actual cleaning and the cats are sedated. The vet is always on hand in case of emergency. I called another vet here in town and they charge $45-85 for dentals. Remember this is Wyoming, it will be cheaper or they'll rape you for something simple. I think most of them have priced dental care for pets right out of our wallets. What do they expect? And the thing is she offered no payment plan, care credit, nothing.
 
On second thought I think the base price here is more like $300 - $400 if there are no extractions and no complicating factors. Still a lot, but less than I was thinking. Not that it matters, just didn't want to misrepresent :)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top