Samwise AMPS & PMPS +6 3/28

Status
Not open for further replies.

sueandsamwise

Very Active Member
AMPS 377 Shot 2.2U

Talked to vet and she is leaving him on the Prozinc.
+6 77 :mrgreen:

PMPS 157 No shot

+14 197 Shot 1.5U
 
Sam has been very interesting the last few days. Can't wait to see what he does today. AMPS wasn't terrible on .6u. Fingers and paws crossed he surfs some more today.
 
Oscar did this weird duration thing on Prozinc too. We didn't have the reds and pinks like you guys (never did), but take a look at his spreadsheet around 4/20/10 at 3.5u BID. We lowered the dose each time and had to skip a few shots, and within a week and a half we were right back where we started - high and flat. Similar thing happened on Lantus around 9/7/10 on 4u BID. Had to skip shots and lower the dose and we lost regulation again, though the overall numbers looked better than they did on prozinc.

I hope you guys don't go back to square one like we did. You may need to slightly lower the main dose and do your best not to skip a shot or shoot a chicken dose. Once prozinc really started to work for Oscar, I swear I could argue that there had to be *some* sort of build up in the system for the doses to keep his numbers down as long as they did. (like 18-20 hour durations). We eventually learned (after switching to lantus) that he did better if we didn't skip a shot ever - but that meant testing, watching like a hawk, and pushing food when needed to keep the kitty safe.
 
Did you already invest in a new bottle of ProZinc? If not (or even if so if it's something you can return or sell to someone on the board), I'd really reconsider. I just don't know how you're going to get a flatter curve on PZ, unless you want to try shooting early (very stressful, though it can be done), or try some of the food experiments others have suggested (feeding some mid-level carbs around +3 or whatnot to slow the drop). Don't mean to be overly negative, but I guess I am right now for his chances of getting really nicely regulated on ProZinc. :?
 
but remember....levemir, lantus...takes more testing. it's a bigger commitment. with fabulous results for alot of us...still. i want you to do it sue, but if you do it there is a commitment. whatcha think?
 
or try some of the food experiments others have suggested (feeding some mid-level carbs around +3 or whatnot to slow the drop).

Sam is usually fed through out the day anyway. I'll see if I can talk DH into feeding him on time.
 
oh sorry - if he eats on his own timing that is even better really - then most likely he'll eat of his own accord if the drop is steep or the #s get low
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top