Re: Samwise AMPS & PMPS 4/10
OK, just looked at your SS. Curious why you went with 2u? Here is the logic I would have used:
- PS is 272
- I shot 2u into a 366 recently and got a low nadir, so I know that dose is too high for that PS.
- I shot 2u into a 377 last night and got a PS too low to shoot this morning, again confirming that dose is too high for that kind of PS.
- SO, since this PS is 100 points lower and 2u was too high for a 375-ish PS, I am probably looking at something like 1.6 for this PS.
- Going back to check that against recent data, I see that I shot 1u on a 233 a couple days ago and the next morning's PS was too low to shoot, so that makes 1.6 sound way too high, probably should try something like 0.8.
- I have been overshooting lately, so let's knock another 0.2 off of that, shoot 0.6, and see what happens. If the #s are all higher then I'll know I over-reduced.
Another way to look at it is in %s. You want something around a 70% drop. The last time you shot 0.8 you got better than a 75% drop (you don't know how low the actual nadir was), so that makes that dose look too high, on ANY PS. Granted that one was on a low PS, but the % rule applies to any PS, more or less you can expect a dose will give around the same % drop anytime you shoot it. So on a 272 PS like you have today, you could expect a dose of 0.8 might give you a nadir around 68, which is a little low for comfort IMO when his insulin needs appear to be changing and doses are a lot of guesswork right now. So again that would lead me to try 0.6.
Now all that said, my gut feeling is 0.6 would likely be too little insulin, but my point is you won't know that until you try, and with repeated low nadirs you are putting him at risk. With the changes in patterns and low #s lately, my guess is my gut reaction is based on PAST results when he did need more insulin, so I wouldn't really trust my gut right now anyway.
I KNOW he is actually doing really well right now, I KNOW some of that is due to your being aggressive with doses and getting him in good #s, and I KNOW I am probably driving you nuts right now with the lecture :lol: . But I really do think you have to lower the doses further, and don't shoot a dose that was too high a day or two ago. IMO 2u should be off the table at this point - you got a 34 nadir on it, so it is scratched off the list of useable doses.
So anyhoo, I'd get some early to mid cycle checks in today. I am really worried the 2u will be too much insulin. In addition to the 200 no-shoot rule I think you should add the following:
Cap all doses at 1.6 for now, even on the highest of PSs, until you have more data on how that is working.
Lower the dose from there on lower PSs. I'd go with something like:
200 - 250 0.6
250 - 300 0.8
300 - 350 1u
350 - 400 1.2
400+ 1.4
500+ 1.6
Or if it's easier to stick with more of a steady dose and less sliding scale, I would say try 0.8 as your basic dose, and maybe raise to 1u for PSs in the higher zones.
And then gather data on those doses and revise as needed. They may turn out to be too low, but you won't know until you try, and they may save some nailbite_smile with the scary-low nadirs.
Oh yeah, just saw your latest post, I think his panc could be sputtering. When you have an unshootable # at something like +14, there a reasonable chance that's not the PZI keeping it there. Hard to say for sure though, if the dose was too high, it could just be from that.