Samwise AMPS & PMPS 3/9

Status
Not open for further replies.

sueandsamwise

Very Active Member
AMPS 368 Shot 2.5U

+6 37 My DH called me at work and told me he checked Sammy and what his BG was. :o He said he gave him 2 big meals, some high carb treats and did some honey on the tongue/gums. Sam just gave him a dirty look for the honey thing as is doing well he said. I wish our Sam would quit doing this.

I can't use the google spread sheet, stupid thing is so slow it takes 15 minutes to post anything to it.

PMPS 507 Shot 2.6U

I feel I have been abandoned. :YMSIGH: I miss Lori
 
Oh Sue, don't feel abandoned! Unfortunately we can't all check in too often (I almost was too tired to turn on the PC tonight, but I'm glad I did!), but that doesn't mean we aren't thinking of everyone here. There are lots of people pulling for you guys and following along, even if everyone doesn't post every day.

I wonder if the low today was b/c the PS was a bit lower (nice btw! not blue or anything, but nice to see a moderate PS in the mix and not a 500+).

Hang in there! You really are doing a great job!
 
Extra hugs to you Sue. You've been on a roller coaster with Sam, and it's so hard to not see the results you want when you're doing everything you can and you've been at it for so long. Wish we knew what brings on those "damn" hi's (grr!). Hang in there! I feel like too much a newbie to have any real advice, but I did see you mention you were thinking of trying a different insulin. Maybe it's worth a try. ECID. Try not to get too discouraged and keep on posting. I really do like to see how my "kitty peeps" are doing.
 
I am sorry we have abandoned you, Sue. Not on purpose= just lots going on. I just don't know what to tell you about the high ps numbers and the low nadirs. Have you messed around a little with the food - feeding low carb during the night time hours and medium carb after the morning shot? That's the only thing I can think of - to try to slow the drops with food and even out the highs. I don't know how to alter the dose with those low nadirs - you don't want to decrease the dose.....

Wish I understood more about how and why Sam reacts the way he does.
 
I am sorry we have abandoned you, Sue. Not on purpose= just lots going on. I just don't know what to tell you about the high ps numbers and the low nadirs. Have you messed around a little with the food - feeding low carb during the night time hours and medium carb after the morning shot? That's the only thing I can think of - to try to slow the drops with food and even out the highs. I don't know how to alter the dose with those low nadirs - you don't want to increase the dose.....

Wish I understood more about how and why Sam reacts the way he does.
 
Hi Sue, sorry you have been having such a hard time.your kitty is lucky that you are not the kind of person who gives up. Have you checked with the tech forum about your spreadsheet difficulties? Perhaps they could offer an alternative approach.
 
She took me under her wing as her newbie. So, I miss hearing from her. You guys are a big help too, don't get me wrong. It helps to hear your comments and gives me a reason to carry on with the home testing, which was the hardest thing to teach the DH and myself. Sam really screeches when he gets poked. Poor baby.
 
For your own sanity, you might set a target date and if things aren't better by then, go with another insulin. I did that (never switched, but set a timeframe to keep trying PZI, and then resolved to switch if I couldn't get things under control by then) and found it really helped me not to stress about it so much, and it certainly helped me stay hopeful. You've certainly given PZI a fair shake, I think it's just an unknown at this point if this is the best he will do on PZI, or if with continued tweaking you will see lower PSs.

Early shooting (reducing the dose accordingly), like at +8s or +10s, or as needed once he gets over 150-200, is one option, but is very stressful. You can try to head off the highest #s that way, and sometimes if you do that for a long weekend or something you can get enough improvement that they will do better during the week. It's hard to get the dose right though, and if you shoot early you always have to be sure you have a rising # and you burn through a lot of test strips that way, so I don't strongly recommend it to anyone really, but it's certainly a tool that has worked for a number of people.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top