Samwise AMPS & PMPS 3/23

Status
Not open for further replies.

sueandsamwise

Member Since 2010
AMPS 553 2.6u Very hard time this morning getting blood. I finally had to wake up DH to come and poke. :YMSIGH:

PMPS 388 Shot 2.5U
 
Some days are like that, hard to get blood, in more ways than one. Hopin' the rest of your day is a little better.
 
Hi Sue! You might not like having me back :lol:
I've just come back from Sam's SS. Wow!
First about the pokie. Are you sure you are really doing it right? There should not be any sores, scabs, irritations or anything of that sort. the ear is warmed, it is gently rubbed, the cotton ball in on the inside of the ear flap and the pokie gently hits the outside of the ear flap. then sometime a gentle 'milking' is needed. All of this done gently, with praise for Sam and head scritches and all. And don't forget the treat! Sometimes in our frustration we forget to romance the kitty into the ear pokie.

And as far as changing insulins. I think it's time. However I will let you know, while I think you will get amazing results with the Lev it is not something that can be done without testing. I promised myself I would never need to or want to test 4-6 times a day.
In the beginning it is necessary, not so much to keep your kitty from hypoing as to know what number are safe to shoot. For example I can now shoot Tom a full dose at amps 86. Why, becuase this insulin moves like a snail and it 'holds' the number. But you won't know that unless you start out testing.

So you see why I started out with the testing stuff hmmmm?

I've missed you alot. You and Sam are my real interest here in pzi but you have to start workin it if you want it to work, kwim?

HUGS
Lori and tomtom

btw, tom was all blacks and reds on pz, one week into levemir he's all greens and blue's. just sayin.
 
Woohoo, welcome back Lori! We have missed you! Sue has been holding her own though, we are very proud of how great she is doing, and you taught her well! Glad to hear Tomtom is doing well too. 86... sweet!!!!

Sue, hope the poking goes better soon! It can be frustrating, some days I had a lot of trouble too.
 
Hi Joanna! Did you really? Have a hard time with the pokie even after getting good at it? Did Bix just not go for it?
 
LORI!!!! :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :thumbup :RAHCAT You're back!!!

Yes, I think it is time for an insulin change. I am almost out of the PZI and I do think that it is not for Sam. He just isn't regulating and he is getting very sour about testing. I know we'll have to test with another insulin but I am thinking that it is time. After all, it's been 7 months on PZI and nothing has changed, we got a break through but no real regulation. His PMPS was lower but it was still in the high 300's. Sooo.... time to change.

Great to hear from you!!!! WE all missed you woman. :-D Wow! Tom's SS looks great!
 
wow, you guys! thank you so much for the warm welcome. i am so happy to have my passport back to the board. i had so many pm's and truthfully i did'nt know we had people who would even notice i was gone. people said they missed hearing about tom. i was thinking 'really?....did'nt realize i ever talk about tom' not that he is'nt very very interesting kitty to talk about :lol:
now we can't hijack this thread or i may get in trouble again....i gotta be real good ;-)
 
but sue, are you really giving sam the sweet seductive treatment when you do the pokie pokie
 
with the proper testing you could even go otj. i think tom is heading there. are you in need of strips? what meter are you using?
 
Yep, we've been being super nice to him when he gets poked. Warmed ear, some milking, treats he can have, steak bits, chicken bits, etc, no high carb ones! Maybe I have been being to rough and quick. His morning poke I do and I am usually in a hurry since I've come in from feeding horses and chicks and need to put on the face. I should change and do it before the outside chores I think.

I did get some chicks! 8 of them and they are 3 weeks old and look like small raptors. One, I call her Georgina, comes and looks up at me when I change the feed and water. I look forward to fresh eggs! ( 6 month wait though) :-D

It would be great to go OTJ again. I am using the Walmart Relion brand. Have plenty of strips. Since running out once I buy the 50 size.
 
oh i love it...a chick with personality. sounds like she wants to be your friend!
i laughed cuz at first i did'nt get the 'get the face' statement :lol:
yes, make time for the pokie...it could be your special time together...the lovey dovey time.
and whatever you do...try the lev over the lantus.
i'll walk you thru lev.
 
I know I seem to be singing a different tune than some people here - but you were getting lows close to dangerous territory a little more than a week ago with this 2.6u dose and now it is fattened up to a 2.7u dose. I REALLY think you need to bring down the dose a little bit, especially since you are not able to get those mid cycle tests in right now. Please think about lowering it - at least to 2.25u, until you are able to make the insulin switch.
 
lori and tom said:
Hi Joanna! Did you really? Have a hard time with the pokie even after getting good at it? Did Bix just not go for it?

Bix was endlessly patient, he rarely objected at all, I think my talents just don't lie in that direction, LOL. It usually took me 2 or 3 pokes to get blood, and often a lot more, especially if I was tired.

Kelly & Oscar said:
I REALLY think you need to bring down the dose a little bit, especially since you are not able to get those mid cycle tests in right now. Please think about lowering it - at least to 2.25u, until you are able to make the insulin switch.

Definitely agree. Especially if you are planning a switch and assuming you don't have anything like ketones in the picture, no need to be aggressive right now with the dose.
 
but girls, with the slighty lower dose sam goes NOwhere. i know it's a delicate dance with him. in the best of all worlds he would be tested at +3 and if need be fed a little med. carb.
i can't help but feel sam's regulation will be all about testing...kwim?
 
yah, but if she's switching anyway, why risk it, plus the roller coaster effect...? seems to me like just lay low for a couple days and go ahead and switch, not worry about it too much in the meantime?
 
yeah..i guess i just want to see more testing one way or da other. sam is prime for questions about his responses.
 
But can you call it regulation if he is still hitting reds and pinks? Would a more shallow curve rather than a 300-400pt drop make kitty feel better? Those zooms can be tiring on kitty systems after a while. Plus without testing, I really feel it is dangerous to keep the current dose. He was hitting low 40s and upper 30s at the 2.6u dose. No matter what insulin you use, no matter your situation, those numbers warrant a dose decrease.
 
yes kelly you are right...i am just thinking back to the times where sam was Hi amps..+6 and pmps. Horrible. Yet the low/highs are very bad as well. whatever insulin sam is on...i just don't see how regulation or understanding of his response to insulin will be seen without a couple of curves and some more spot checks. i'm wondering when and how this drop occurs...how fast...and how long does he stay green before he zooms...or is it just a zip up and a zip down.
either way you are def. right about the high/low being rough on sam and potentially dangerous. as are ketones for those highes he's been in forever.
sigh... :YMSIGH:
 
and btw, your kitty pic is the cutest one i've seen in like ever. that expression...it's priceless. OSCAR!
 
lori and tom said:
and btw, your kitty pic is the cutest one i've seen in like ever. that expression...it's priceless. OSCAR!

Thank you :mrgreen: It was one of his "I'm cute and I know it" moments :lol:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top