Samwise AMPS & PMPS 3/10

Status
Not open for further replies.

sueandsamwise

Member Since 2010
AMPS Hi Shot 2.6U
Here we go again. I think this could be rebound from his real low of 37 yesterday. I don't think the DH feeds him enough during the day. He's busy with his dog and his other projects around the house but tries to pay attention to Sam. He is his favorite among our herd of 4.

+6 67 Much better number. :mrgreen: I was shooting with 1/2 ml needles and went and got some new ones tonight. The 1/3 ml ones.

PMPS Hi Fur shot! I got most of it on my hand! Damn
 
I add a little water to Max's food to help it stay fresher longer. At least DH will help you with the testing...that's a big help. My parents would help me by watching out for Max during the day but didn't think they could learn to test him on their own. The things we go through for our kitties.
 
I have 4 cats and one is a beast that loves any and all food. Anything left out will be consumed by the Ghost Pig. Or the dog, who loves cat food with a passion. They both check sites that may have food left on them and I find Ghost's foot prints all over the counters when he's been roaming searching for food. This is the reason he weighs around 15 pounds. :lol:
 
Time for some creativity. Is there a room you can close off and leave Sam in there overnight? Or leave the other critters in a closed off room? Can Sam jump up to a high enough place the others can't reach?

Food can make a huge difference - even the timing of feeding. Hope you can come up with some ideas to have Sam eat without the others interferring?
 
Yes, as Sue said having food available [if possible] can be a very important thing. Cats tend to want to self-correct when they go low by eating. If they don't have food available they cannot self-correct and are dependent on the human to catch their drop and take necessary action.

Looking at your SS from the last I looked, I am at least happy to see that you have "broken though" and are able to achieve some PSs lower than high 300's or 400's. And though you have tried [specifically on 3/1], unfortunately you have not been able to capture that momentum. Looking at 03/01/11 at first my eyes kind of :shock: with a 2.5 into a 128 but ultimately Sam ended back up in the 400's. That's a real bummer.

Usually if I see consistently big deltas with nadirs in the low greens meaning more insulin would likely push them too low, then that usually makes me thing duration of the insulin is the issue. But you are not getting 'consistently' big deltas. The recommendation when duration is the suspected issue is to try TID shooting with PZI or to move to a slower acting insulin.

Sam is a little all over the map and normally I would think something else is going on with him. But we've run the traps about behavior, diet and other health issues in the past so I'm not going to do any more interrogations there.

I know we have talked about other insulins before and of course I would point you towards Levimir. The only "problem" with the other insulin is that they generally require more testing - l lot more in some case - and a close following of the 12/12 [and finding help on this board for anything other than tight regulation can be challenging]. Also if one does the TR then there's often relatively a lot of interventions to be done. And lastly we would miss you as part of our little PZI family here. :smile:

The bottom line here is that you are still getting HIs and 500s which is not too good. I really don't have any good input as to what you should do with your current insulin. So I would say what is going on here is not working well enough I would hope Sam could improve. Talking with Lori and Marcy would be a good thing to start you research into the potential for changing to Levimir and what that might take from a logistics point of view - to see if you think it is doable.
 
Well, I'll run it by the vet. Maybe we need to go back to the 2.75U's. I had dropped it since he was getting such good numbers but also those damn lows. The drop seemed to help. So I guess we'll go back to 2.75U on the Hi days and see what happens. :YMSIGH:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top