Samwise AMPS & PMPS 2/27

Status
Not open for further replies.

sueandsamwise

Member Since 2010
AMPS 479 Shot 2.75U

+6 55 :mrgreen: puts in another appearance. I'd like to try and get a curve soon. I'll see if the DH can do one this week sometime. If not it will have to wait until next Sunday since we are going to Buffalo on Saturday.

PMPS 559 Shot 2.75U
 
Yeah, I don't know how much a curve will tell you - you already know the drop is really steep. Ideally you want a drop in the 60-65% range give or take. The nadirs are great, but I continue to be worried that such steep drops and rises could be perpetuating that pattern. I'd still experiment with shaving a little off the dose and seeing if you can still get decent nadirs and see if the PSs settle down a little bit. If you try a lower dose and the nadirs just go flat again, or yellows or whatnot, you can raise the dose back up. And if that does turn out to be the case, I would start thinking about another insulin.

I am really hoping for you guys that the PSs come down, it is so great to see these nice nadirs it would be a shame if you can't capitalize on that! But I don't think it's a good pattern long term if something doesn't change. It can't feel good for him all those swings (though hopefully still way better than just all the high #s!!!). That's where I'm thinking maybe a tiny bit less insulin would help the PSs come down - maybe, maybe not, but seems worth some experimenting to me. Another option would be shooting early to try to head off the worst of the high #s, do that for a few days and see if that settles things down. But that can be a huge headache, and you have to figure out what dose to shoot if you are shooting early (you would need to lower it based on what time you are shooting), so it may be more trouble than it's worth to try something like that. And of course it doesn't work for many people's schedules.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top