Samwise @ 85bg do I shoot?

Status
Not open for further replies.
No advice but had a question -- how come your meter sometimes shows "High" instead of a number? Does it do that alot? I'd be nervous shooting an 85 if my meter didn't give me a number.

Hopefully the experts will see your condo tonight. I think if you shoot, just be prepared to do alot of tests starting at +1 and get your hypo kit ready.
 
Hi, I was just checking in before bed and saw your post. It doesn't look like you've shot a number this low and Samwise is new to the Lantus. I wouldn't shoot cause you don't have the data behind shooting these numbers. HOWEVER - if you have not yet feed and you have not yet shot - you could delay and test again in 1/2 - 1 hour. If the number is rising "enough" then you could potentially shoot. Remember - that is only if you haven't fed. Otherwise the rising number probably is just food starting to spike. If you have already decided not to shoot and have fed him - mark it on the SS and see how the numbers look tomorrow.
Another option would be to shoot a "big chicken **** dose" - but again I would only do this if the number was rising ANd you hadn't fed him AND you were going to be up to test more tonight. This type of dose is reduced dose - in your case say, .5 unit. AGAIN - if you are shooting - you must be up to test him tonight. Hopefully you are also prepared with HC foods, lots of test strips and coffee for yourself.

Options - but don't know when you actually posted this and when your shot time is. Probably best to pass on the shot tonight......
 
I haven't shot yet or fed. I think I'll feed and skip the shot. (mostly because I've had a pain pill and wont be able to stay up much longer.) Damn broken leg.
 
Possibly the best choice. You might for the sake of data if it has been over 1/2 hour test him again and just for curiosity sake see where he is going - still down?? or up???
 
I agree that you don't have enough data to shoot this low. I think you really, really need to start getting some spot checks at night so you can see how low Samwise is going on this dose. These high numbers in the mornings *could* be the result of him going low at night and bouncing. This 85 sure makes it look like that is possible.
 
Most meters read "HI" if the BG reading is >600. This doesn't indicate that your meter is inaccurate.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top