Samwise 2/10 AMPS & PMPS

Status
Not open for further replies.

sueandsamwise

Very Active Member
AMPS: 508 shot 2.4U closest I could get to 2.5 on a U100 needle. Hopefully, his numbers will go down.

+6 341
Hi shot 2.4U
 
I know how frustrating this fd dance can get. It can be overwhelming and very sad. I know you're doing your best to balance your vet's advice and the advice from random strangers on this site. Try to follow your gut. If a dose doesn't look to YOU like it's working after a few days, increase it. You can do that without your vet's permission. Even my ex-vet who was super old-school with treating diabetes told me to only hold doses for a week. My new vet says 4-5 days, but that's also a different insulin (levemir) that takes a little longer to settle in at each dose. Keep in mind that his dose isn't all that high yet- there's plenty of room to go up and see better numbers still. You'll get there.
 
Yes, she wants to see Sam in about a week to see how the new dose is working. I figure if he doesn't move, I'll up it a bit. She also said we can try changing insulins but I had just bought this bottle about 3 weeks ago. So in the interest of not tossing out an almost full bottle of expensive insulin we'll use it up, then maybe change unless this just proves to not be the choice for Sam.
 
I've been trying to give each new dose a 72 hour testing period. If I don't see positive movement by then, I change the dose.

So sorry to read about your horse. I can't imagine how hard that must be for you. ((hugs))
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top