Sam's update

Status
Not open for further replies.
I was wondering about them too! (and no worries about the shift in topic). @ShipsCat magically appeared when I really needed some wisdom, but then disappeared. I hope everything is okay!
 
No shot tonight. And another one of those weird cycles where he doesn't seem like he's going anywhere at mid-cycle, and then his PS is too low to shoot.

And the pet sitter was here to go over the shots -- didn't go so well since he didn't get one. However, she did get to do a successful test, so that was exciting. Still not sure I can count on it, but at least she did one -- and the first one is always the hardest, right?

Now I'm worrying more about the dose while I'm gone. Here's what I'm thinking:

Over 200 = 1u
Under 200 = no shot
No test = no shot

Since he's had two low numbers in three days, I'm feeling like shooting blindly is a bad idea, even at a low dose.

Am I just being a worry wart? What does the hive mind think of all of this? I'm very open to other's thoughts on this.
 
Wow. Sam's doing awesome! I think your dose plan is good while you're gone. He's doing great on the current dose but that's with you around test him and make sure he is safe. I don't think lowering the dose while you are away will set you back much if at all :).
 
Can you tell me how to hide rows on the SS? I'd like to hide a few months on mine since I didn't start a new one for 2017.
 
You're only gone for a few days right? I think that vacation plan is good. It's only a few days and you might lose a bit of momentum, but as we all know, better too high for a day than too low for a moment.

Those numbers he is giving you are EXCELLENT! And I do hope that your pet sitter can get some tests in, but if not, at least you know he'll be safe.
 
Can you tell me how to hide rows on the SS? I'd like to hide a few months on mine since I didn't start a new one for 2017.

On your spreadsheet, using the numbers on the left side, select the rows you want to hide, then right click and one of the options will be "hide rows 3-27 (or whatever rows you picked)"

I wish I had started a new page for this round too. I suppose I could rearrange things, but hiding is quick and easy.
 
On your spreadsheet, using the numbers on the left side, select the rows you want to hide, then right click and one of the options will be "hide rows 3-27 (or whatever rows you picked)"

I wish I had started a new page for this round too. I suppose I could rearrange things, but hiding is quick and easy.
Thank you!!
 
Gracious! How we drive ourselves crazy! Or maybe it's just me.

I got home late and needed to shoot as fast as I could so we didn't get any farther off schedule. But he was at 161. Since I was already 40 minutes late (ugh...don't judge), I didn't feel like stalling longer was a good idea. Plus, at that point he had essentially already been stalled. So I looked at this spreadsheet and decided on a .8u dose.

Then immediately after shooting I thought...

OMG! What was I thinking? Last night he didn't get any insulin at all and was fine and he's been so reactive and he's going to go hypo and die!

and then....

Oh dear....that was a really small dose...and he wasn't really that low. That probably wasn't enough. Now he's going to stay flat and I should have given him more.

-------------

Sometimes you just can't win.
 
Oh I hate those instant feelings of regret after shooting. I think it was a good choice on dose... I would have done the same.
 
Then immediately after shooting I thought...

OMG! What was I thinking? Last night he didn't get any insulin at all and was fine and he's been so reactive and he's going to go hypo and die!

and then....

Oh dear....that was a really small dose...and he wasn't really that low. That probably wasn't enough. Now he's going to stay flat and I should have given him more.
The second guess - wait, can I take some insulin back out of you?!... Nope :facepalm:
 
Well, looks like I should have gone with 1u. Not a bad cycle, but he had room to drop still. Although he was terrible for his test tonight, so in silver lining land: I won't have to monitor and try to test again with his mood, and also I got a good belly laugh trying to get him to cooperate. He climbed down through my hoodie (while I was wearing it), out the bottom, chased the civvie under the bed, and then stood defiantly on top of the bed just daring me to try again. I really do adore this little monster.

Now that I write that, I wonder....would his BG have been lower if the test had occurred with less drama? I guess there's no way to know.
 
When...oh when...will I learn?!?! Every. single. time. that I say Sam is easy, he does something weird. :rolleyes:o_O

Okay, this isn't exactly new, I've been suspicious, but I finally caught it: At +4 he was at 189. That's usually just before his nadir. Now at +8, he's at 108.

I think he did this during the AM cycles on 4/4 and 4/6 as well. It appears we might have a new trend.

Yesterday he was green at nadir, so I won't call it a pattern yet.

It looks like his insulin is acting longer during the AM cycle. Which means it may also be acting longer during the PM cycle. Might be time to set an alarm and check. I really hate doing that. I like sleeping.
 
Well, looks like I should have gone with 1u. Not a bad cycle, but he had room to drop still. Although he was terrible for his test tonight, so in silver lining land: I won't have to monitor and try to test again with his mood, and also I got a good belly laugh trying to get him to cooperate. He climbed down through my hoodie (while I was wearing it), out the bottom, chased the civvie under the bed, and then stood defiantly on top of the bed just daring me to try again. I really do adore this little monster.

Now that I write that, I wonder....would his BG have been lower if the test had occurred with less drama? I guess there's no way to know.
lol. He's probably playing you, the little rascal! Chloe is an angel. She actually purrs when I hold her down for a test, but she yelps when I stick her.
 
Well, he's either having a lousy cycle, or he's aiming long again. What do i do about this? Should I keep reducing the AM dose to try to get a shootable PMPS? If I do that, I'm worried about him staying high like this during the AM cycle. But if I raise the AM dose, I'm worried about him getting too much and diving.

Last time when this started happening, Sue said to keep reducing the AM dose, or to move to a 13/11 to give him more time to rise before the PMPS. But I wasn't getting a lot of mid-cycles at that point, so I don't really know what the day cycles looked like, and also I've been told that it's different the second time around, and not to put too much into what happened last time.

Any thoughts?
 
Well, he's either having a lousy cycle, or he's aiming long again. What do i do about this? Should I keep reducing the AM dose to try to get a shootable PMPS? If I do that, I'm worried about him staying high like this during the AM cycle. But if I raise the AM dose, I'm worried about him getting too much and diving.

Last time when this started happening, Sue said to keep reducing the AM dose, or to move to a 13/11 to give him more time to rise before the PMPS. But I wasn't getting a lot of mid-cycles at that point, so I don't really know what the day cycles looked like, and also I've been told that it's different the second time around, and not to put too much into what happened last time.

Any thoughts?
His scores are much lower than Chloe's. He doesn't have any red or black.
 
I was very lucky to notice his diabetes early on since this was his second time having it. And Sam is very lucky to just not be very sick with it.

Just like humans, one person can catch a cold and fight it off in a day or two. Someone else can catch the same virus and end up in bed and with bronchitis. Diabetes isn't a virus, but that idea that everyone (or in this case, every cat) responds a little differently.

Also, I am confident that Chloe's numbers will get better. She is responding to the insulin. We can see that with her nice drops so far. As you gather more data, and grow in your skill with this, her numbers will start to come down. It does take awhile, but you'll start to see healthier numbers in time.
 
Thank you so much for remembering that! I could shoot 1u tomorrow morning, but I leave at +2 tomorrow. I did change the rules for the sitter though. Now they read:

1. AM cycle: Above 200 - 0.6u, Below 200 - no shot
2. PM cycle: No shot

I'm afraid that's way too conservative, and I'm going to set him back a bit, but I need to know he's safe while I'm gone or I'll spend the whole vacation imagining him passed out under the bed.
 
I need to know he's safe while I'm gone or I'll spend the whole vacation imagining him passed out under the bed.
That wouldn't be much of a vacation :p. Hopefully he'll let her get AMPS so she doesn't have to skip shot if no test. I'm still dreading leaving Maury for at least 3 days in the fall with his current numbers :(
 
Well, he's either having a lousy cycle, or he's aiming long again. What do i do about this? Should I keep reducing the AM dose to try to get a shootable PMPS? If I do that, I'm worried about him staying high like this during the AM cycle. But if I raise the AM dose, I'm worried about him getting too much and diving.

Last time when this started happening, Sue said to keep reducing the AM dose, or to move to a 13/11 to give him more time to rise before the PMPS. But I wasn't getting a lot of mid-cycles at that point, so I don't really know what the day cycles looked like, and also I've been told that it's different the second time around, and not to put too much into what happened last time.

Any thoughts?
I vote for a dose reduction if it's another NS tonight. He's going 12 hours with no insulin when you have a NS whereas he has some round the clock coverage if you have two shootable PSs.
 
I hate the timing of this. Honestly, if I could cancel the vacation and just stay home with him this week, I would.
 
I second the vote for a reduction!

I know the vacation is bad timing, but honestly...it always would be. And you NEED a little break. Sam is doing great, and taking a little break is helpful. You'll feel better with a little recharge and you know you'll get him back. :bighug:
 
+8 is 93

Looks like long cycles are now his thing. Tomorrow morning - 1u, and then off to the desert...

Gosh, I'm going to miss my little fur monsters! I always miss them when I'm gone, but after being hunkered down at home staring at him for two months, it's going to be strange...
 
Have a WONDERFUL time Djamila, and know your babies will be waiting for you when you get home! We'll miss you!
 
He just gave me a "normal" pre-shot. And already I'm disappointed because it's not one of his special, low pre-shots. It's definitely time for a break! I'm going to miss you all, but not staring at a computer screen all day long is going to be a blessed thing!
 
Sam seemed to do well while you were away :cat:.

His numbers were pretty good. And I'm super proud of the pet sitter for getting some tests done! His poor ears though! Especially the right one - it's super bruised. And there were little blood spots on the wall in the testing area, so I think she hit the vein. He'll get over it though. And seriously - I'm just glad to have a sitter who can test and shoot!

I was second guessing the dose tonight - I hope it doesn't shock his system too much to go from a tiny bit of insulin back to the full dose! It'll be easy to keep an eye on him tonight - he's been following me around since I got home!
 
I had gradually moved Sam's shot time to 5:30 for the pet sitter, and was planning to gradually move it back to the 4:30 times which work better for me. He didn't get a shot this morning, so I'm thinking I can just bump it straight to 4:30 this afternoon since there won't be any overlap, but I'm wondering if that's too much all at once?
 
I had gradually moved Sam's shot time to 5:30 for the pet sitter, and was planning to gradually move it back to the 4:30 times which work better for me. He didn't get a shot this morning, so I'm thinking I can just bump it straight to 4:30 this afternoon since there won't be any overlap, but I'm wondering if that's too much all at once?
Prime time to move the shot back.
 
So Sam was up on the testing counter pitching a fit and I thought gee, maybe he's dropping and trying to get my attention! So I go ahead and go over and give him a test. Not dropping at all. He just wanted more treats.

And now...because we can all use a little sunshine and love....here are Sam and Atticus...

 
So Sam was up on the testing counter pitching a fit and I thought gee, maybe he's dropping and trying to get my attention! So I go ahead and go over and give him a test. Not dropping at all. He just wanted more treats.

And now...because we can all use a little sunshine and love....here are Sam and Atticus...

So cute - the bros! :smuggrin:
 
upload_2017-4-15_11-23-2.png
 
I'm feeling a little anxious about Sam's numbers today. First of all, I hate shooting below 150. I know I'm going to need to at this point, but....ugh. Also, I just don't know when his nadir is anymore. He might be at nadir, in which case 66 is a lovely nadir number. Or he might be having another long cycle like he had on 4/4, 4/6, and 4/8, in which case he still has a few hours to drop and I need to keep monitoring. Although today is 4/15 which is an odd numbers so maybe that means he's fine (I'm kidding!).

I know the only way to know is to keep testing, but his poor little ears are still so bruised from the pet sitter that I hate poking him right now.

I have to keep reminding myself that he doesn't seem to mind, and it's just me reacting to it....but they look awful :(.
 
I had to come over and comment on how great Sam looks! This dose 1unit is doing good by him. It will be interesting to see how the 1.2 does. :cat:;):bighug::)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top