KristenP&Sam
Active Member
So, Sam is home from the vet's and rather full of himself at the moment. He had a constant low of 60-70 for several readings today, which the vet thinks I would have had too if not for the free feeding. Here's what's going to happen:
I'm going to stick to a feeding schedule (8:30 am and pm) for at least 30 days (her set time, not mine) to help get him regulated. My other cats are going to hate this, but if I have to feed them in another room, I will. Tonight, I'm going to check Sam's bg before bed. If it's over 300, I'm going to shoot 1 unit, if it's under, no insulin. Then recheck bg in the morning around 8:30 am (before his 9am shot) and call her with the reading. She'll make a determination as to what dosage for that shot. They want me to only check his bg's for amps, nadir and pmps. She firmly believes she can get him regulated in 30 days and into remission in a few months, if it's going to happen at all. We're sticking with the Prozinc for now too.
She brought up Somogyi's almost right away and says she doesn't think that's what's happening, although it's always a possibility. She also has no problem with me switching to the U100 syringes if need be.
I'm going to give this new course of action a chance and see what happens. As for now, I have to give Sam his sub-q's and finish my work for the day. Will be back later to nose around. If the rest of the cats haven't gnawed me to death from lack of food. ;o)
I'm going to stick to a feeding schedule (8:30 am and pm) for at least 30 days (her set time, not mine) to help get him regulated. My other cats are going to hate this, but if I have to feed them in another room, I will. Tonight, I'm going to check Sam's bg before bed. If it's over 300, I'm going to shoot 1 unit, if it's under, no insulin. Then recheck bg in the morning around 8:30 am (before his 9am shot) and call her with the reading. She'll make a determination as to what dosage for that shot. They want me to only check his bg's for amps, nadir and pmps. She firmly believes she can get him regulated in 30 days and into remission in a few months, if it's going to happen at all. We're sticking with the Prozinc for now too.
She brought up Somogyi's almost right away and says she doesn't think that's what's happening, although it's always a possibility. She also has no problem with me switching to the U100 syringes if need be.
I'm going to give this new course of action a chance and see what happens. As for now, I have to give Sam his sub-q's and finish my work for the day. Will be back later to nose around. If the rest of the cats haven't gnawed me to death from lack of food. ;o)