? Sammy PS 309, +4 45- dosing advice please

Molly and Sammy

Member Since 2018
Sammy has finally been showing a few nice low numbers on 2.5 Lantus, but this morning he dropped like a rock to 45 at +4. I retested (49), then fed gravy food and walked him back up, but it scared the crap out of me. I've been wondering if this dose is too high as I've had to skip a few shots lately (under 200) and now he clearly needs a reduction. I'm thinking 2.0 rather than 2.25. I am following SLGS and am extra cautious because I can't drive and live alone - an emergency vet trip takes some time to arrange. I'd appreciate any feedback!
 
Good catch, good job bringing Sammy up. Sammy definitely earned that reduction down to 2.25 units. As this was the only green he's seen on 2.5 units, and you do a good job testing so I don't think you missed any others, he should be good on 2.25 units.

I see that you've been skipping blue preshots. Over time and with data to do so, you should be able to lower your no shoot value. You did reduce the dose one time, which is a good alternative to working your way down to shooting full dose with the blues.
 
Good catch, good job bringing Sammy up. Sammy definitely earned that reduction down to 2.25 units. As this was the only green he's seen on 2.5 units, and you do a good job testing so I don't think you missed any others, he should be good on 2.25 units.

I see that you've been skipping blue preshots. Over time and with data to do so, you should be able to lower your no shoot value. You did reduce the dose one time, which is a good alternative to working your way down to shooting full dose with the blues.
Thank you! Would you suggest a preshot threshold of 175, then, with reduced doses of .25-.50 for readings between 150-175? And nothing given if less than 150? I appreciate the help!.
 
The answers depends on your comfort level. Due to the nature of the depot, a reduced shot often doesn’t have any effects until following cycles. You could try what you suggested and see how that goes.
 
Back
Top