Sammy pmps 189

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sammysmom

Member Since 2013
Hi friends.

I just picked up a new prescription of prozinc and with this lower number I am hesitant to give Sammy even a small dose since its a brand new bottle and I worry a little about it's potency. Sammy was due for his dinner and pm shot 20 mins ago. I am going to test again in a few minutes. Any suggestions?
 
I would make sure he is rising. If it's over 200, you could reduce the dose by a little. If you do that, can you check in a couple hours?
 
If you're stalling, you shouldn't feed yet? If you are considering giving a shot, you need to know that the number is rising before feeding and shooting. I'll watch out for your next test (20 to 30 minutes?).

If you decide to skip the shot tonight, that's 100% your call, and I'd certainly agree with your decision.
 
30 min past pmps is 196

Ok 30 minutes late we are at 195. What should we do given we are using a new script. I have enough of the old bottle to do a small dose. We have been doing 1.25 units. Should I give a small dose of older insulin?
 
I am big on going with your gut. It sounds like you are nervous about using the new vial with this lower number. Yes, I think you could give the old insulin. Maybe 1 unit?
 
Thanks to you both! I think I just get anxious because my vet tells me not to shoot under 250. But then again, she says she has very few owners who test every time before shooting. I have certainly dosed under 250, but under 200 makes me a little nervous. Thanks again!
 
If possible, a test at +3 or +4 tonight would be a good idea. If Sammy's number is likely to go low, that's about the time the Prozinc should have kicked in and if you see a number you aren't comfortable with, you can give him some food at that time to slow or stop any drop in BGs.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top