Sammy, in the middle.

Paula and Sammy(GA)

Member Since 2019
Hey everyone! I've been lately trying to get Sammy back into the blue range, and I got one today, after giving him close to 1 unit in the morning. He's been quite high at amps. I suck at overnight BG levels, but am willing to work it in if I don't have vet tech work the next day. After incorrectly being on 4 units BID ( a few weeks ago when I had covid, but the vet seemed to think he was doing GREAT until I discovered, post covid, a spontaneous BG check which came back 39. I backed him back down to .25 to ensure no bouncing. Today he got almost a whole unit and is at 140 at +7.5. He's been quite high the last few days, and doesn't seem to be coming down. I now work for a local vet. He gave me a prescription ( 2 actually) to get the freestyle monitor (willing to give it a try if it means 24 hour info as long as the cat keeps the sensor in) as well as for LANTUS! yay! I want him to be on this, so I have more Lantus peeps to help me!. My question is, as I switch from Prozinc to Lantus, is what dose should I start him at, presuming I can acquire a small pen until I can order a proper vial from that Canadian pharmacy. Any and all help is totally beyond belief appreciated. Please see his oh so weird SS. Many thanks to everyone!
 
First, Sammy needs more insulin. His numbers are high because that was a huge drop in dose. In most cases, we adjust all of the insulins we use here by 0.25u.

Typically, the switch is to the same dose of insulin as you're currently using. You were seeing better numbers at 0.5u. You lost momentum when you dropped the dose to 0.25u.

Please read over the sticky notes at the top of the board. Lantus is a very different insulin than Prozinc. Also, you will need U100 syringes. You may also need a prescription for the syringes.

You don't have to get Lantus from Canada unless you want to. The biosimilars/generic for Lantus are now available. I would call around to your local pharmacies to see if they carry Semglee in stock -- or ask if they have glargine (it's the chemical name).
 
First, Sammy needs more insulin. His numbers are high because that was a huge drop in dose. In most cases, we adjust all of the insulins we use here by 0.25u.

Typically, the switch is to the same dose of insulin as you're currently using. You were seeing better numbers at 0.5u. You lost momentum when you dropped the dose to 0.25u.

Please read over the sticky notes at the top of the board. Lantus is a very different insulin than Prozinc. Also, you will need U100 syringes. You may also need a prescription for the syringes.

You don't have to get Lantus from Canada unless you want to. The biosimilars/generic for Lantus are now available. I would call around to your local pharmacies to see if they carry Semglee in stock -- or ask if they have glargine (it's the chemical name).
Thank you yes I have already got U100 syringes. I use them correctly for low amounts of prozinc. This evening at PMPS he is at 77. I did feed him but have held off for his shot until he comes up, if I do it at all. His dose wasn't even quite 1 U. More like .8 I like the fact he went down but his nadir is so late. It's a mystery. I am planning on getting my first Lantus injection pen locally to get him started (probably on Tuesday morning if I can get it on Monday with a signed RX). I have a located a pharmacy that has it. I'll worry about getting more from Canada later. Now I'm working for this vet, I have more flexibility. Thank you for your advice. I agree, but 77 is the lowest Ive seen for him in days.
 
Not all cats have their nadirs at the middle of the cycle (or when the particular insulin would suggest the nadir occurs) -- some generally have early or late nadirs. In addition, just to keep you on your toes, Sammy's nadirs may move around. My cat typically had an early nadir -- as early as +2 but usually around +3 or +4, except for those times when it wasn't!
 
Not all cats have their nadirs at the middle of the cycle (or when the particular insulin would suggest the nadir occurs) -- some generally have early or late nadirs. In addition, just to keep you on your toes, Sammy's nadirs may move around. My cat typically had an early nadir -- as early as +2 but usually around +3 or +4, except for those times when it wasn't!
Oh yes! So I've noticed. He's trying his absolute best to be variable in ALL readings, not just the quest for the current "nadir". hahahaha. The things we do. Thank you- it's nice not to be the only challenge.
 
The other thing you might to consider is one of the Lantus biosimilar insulins. Semglee is one, also there is a generic glargine. They are much cheaper than the brand Lantus int he US. Tagging @Diane Tyler's Mom who can help you with where to find the deals.
 
Hi Paula

You can have the vet write the script for generic lantus ,many members use it, The brand is much more expensive, just call around and see who might have the generic
Here is some info
Check this out also
https://www.goodrx.com/insulin-glargine?dosage=five-3ml-prefilled-pens-of-100-units-ml&form=carton&label_override=insulin glargine&quantity=1
The 5 pens will last about a year, we use the pens just like a vial, you would just insert the syringe it the gray rubber stopper on the pen and draw out your insulin
Its generic lantus



Or this one also

I see some members will call CVS, Rite Aid, Costco, Walgreen's, to get the price for 5 pens
Posted by another member
One members posted this
. I paid $175 for a box of 5 pens at Walmart pharmacy, but GoodRX coupon says you can get it for around $90 if you have a Rite Aid pharmacy near you.

We don't use the pen because you can only adjust the dose by full units, we adjust the dose by 0.25 units at a time. Are the U-100 syringes you already have do they have half unit markings


Just take the cap off the pen and use a U100 syringes and pull the insulin out of the pen!
syringe-in-pen-pic-jpg.45006
 
Hi Paula

You can have the vet write the script for generic lantus ,many members use it, The brand is much more expensive, just call around and see who might have the generic
Here is some info
Check this out also
https://www.goodrx.com/insulin-glargine?dosage=five-3ml-prefilled-pens-of-100-units-ml&form=carton&label_override=insulin glargine&quantity=1
The 5 pens will last about a year, we use the pens just like a vial, you would just insert the syringe it the gray rubber stopper on the pen and draw out your insulin
Its generic lantus



Or this one also

I see some members will call CVS, Rite Aid, Costco, Walgreen's, to get the price for 5 pens
Posted by another member
One members posted this
. I paid $175 for a box of 5 pens at Walmart pharmacy, but GoodRX coupon says you can get it for around $90 if you have a Rite Aid pharmacy near you.

We don't use the pen because you can only adjust the dose by full units, we adjust the dose by 0.25 units at a time. Are the U-100 syringes you already have do they have half unit markings


Just take the cap off the pen and use a U100 syringes and pull the insulin out of the pen!
syringe-in-pen-pic-jpg.45006
Yes thank you! I have the U100 with the .5 markings. I am going try and get it today. Sam's asthma is quite bad, he's on Flovent and Albuterol. Ate ok but not great. Gave 1 U. (AMPS 309) Poor guy can't get a break. I've got a good rx thing - going to try Cosco then Walgreens.
 
The other thing you might to consider is one of the Lantus biosimilar insulins. Semglee is one, also there is a generic glargine. They are much cheaper than the brand Lantus int he US. Tagging @Diane Tyler's Mom who can help you with where to find the deals.
This is amusing but now I work for the vet, he just gave me a couple of blank RX forms to fill out myself. I'm checking to see if there's a generic around this area. Absolutely a great idea. I was going to get Sam started on the glargine then see about having it shipped from Canada (love those Canadians!)
 
Yes thank you! I have the U100 with the .5 markings. I am going try and get it today. Sam's asthma is quite bad, he's on Flovent and Albuterol. Ate ok but not great. Gave 1 U. (AMPS 309) Poor guy can't get a break. I've got a good rx thing - going to try Cosco then Walgreens.

I spent $75 and change at Costco in January for the five pens of Glargine (Lantus generic). If you're a member, that's probably the best price. It will last a year. Best wishes!
 
I spent $75 and change at Costco in January for the five pens of Glargine (Lantus generic). If you're a member, that's probably the best price. It will last a year. Best wishes!
Thank you! I did get a great price for the total of 10 ml of glargine AND the Freestyle 3 meter for under $100! Now, to get my vet to put it in. Question! Please advise - This evening Sam is going to get his first dose of glargine. I am so looking forward to it, but....I'm not sure what to give him. He's been basically getting close to 1U of prozinc. I don't want to start him with that much glargine. Anyone's recommendations would be treasured!!!
 
Thank you! I did get a great price for the total of 10 ml of glargine AND the Freestyle 3 meter for under $100! Now, to get my vet to put it in. Question! Please advise - This evening Sam is going to get his first dose of glargine. I am so looking forward to it, but....I'm not sure what to give him. He's been basically getting close to 1U of prozinc. I don't want to start him with that much glargine. Anyone's recommendations would be treasured!!!
I can tag a prozinc user for you to see how many units of glargine you should start with
@Suzanne & Darcy
I can try one more member but she hasn't been on lately
@FrostD

You can read about glargine /lantus ,read all the yellow stickys and read about the 2 dosing methods you might want to follow
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/forums/lantus-levemir-biosimilars.9/
@Paula and Sammy
 
Last edited:
When switching to Lantus/glargine, we take into consideration how the dose of Prozinc is doing. 1 unit seems a bit high to start, so I'd go with either 0.75 units or 0.5 units if you aren't able to monitor much in the beginning.
Ah, that was kinda might my thinking. Thank you so much.
 
@Paula and Sammy
Hi Paula just a reminder when you start the lantus don't forget to add lantus and the date, and on your SS up top where you have prozinc , and make a line above the date you started it and colore it like you did when you put that you switched to human meter
Good luck with the lantus
 
@Paula and Sammy
Hi Paula just a reminder when you start the lantus don't forget to add lantus and the date, and on your SS up top where you have prozinc , and make a line above the date you started it and colore it like you did when you put that you switched to human meter
Good luck with the lantus
Thank you so much. I just gave him .5U and am going to color the line and put it in my notes. Fingers crossed!
 
Thank you so much. I just gave him .5U and am going to color the line and put it in my notes. Fingers crossed!
Can you also add lantus to your signature just so members know , that's the first thing they will look at ,you can just put Lantus started 2-27 PM
Just tap on your name up top, tap on signature and add it, then tap save
Sammy sure is a little cutie pie :cat:
@Paula and Sammy
 
Can you also add lantus to your signature just so members know , that's the first thing they will look at ,you can just put Lantus started 2-27 PM
Just tap on your name up top, tap on signature and add it, then tap save
Sammy sure is a little cutie pie :cat:
@Paula and Sammy
Oh thank you! He is a funny boy. (Not so little, up towards 15 lbs and not fat!) And that's WITHOUT a leg! ha. I added his insulin to the signature.
 
Back
Top