Sarah & Sammie
Member Since 2017
Double checked on alphatrak both monitors give me a “high” reading. (Above 600 on human meter) I have to leave for work in 20 minutes. What do I do?
Last edited:
It looks like Sammie was as high as (747) on 12/8 and you gave her 2.5 units. I think the cut off is (750) for the Alphatrack reader...anything above reads HI - so this is essentially the same number.
I wouldn't skip the shot...
Is she eating? Does she have a history of ketones? Behaving normally?
The 78 earned a reduction down to 2.75. She had been at 3 units. I had only given her 2.75 that morning because I was afraid of giving a full dose at 206. I gave 2.5 that night because I was concerned about giving a full dose at 218.For SLGS , That (78) reading on the 19th would have earned a reduction to 2.5. Which you gave that night, but increased again to 2.75...and now 3 units.
I'd be hesitant to increase back to back - especially with limited data to see how low the dose is taking her.
Thank you for the tip. It was scary! It’s never happened before.Will help to draw attention to your thread if you put a question mark icon at beginning of thread .....also I know how chilling seeing a HI can be . Elmo bounces there and it makes my stomach flop
![]()
It looks to me like you are basing your dose on the pre-shot numbers. Lantus dosing is based on the nadir -- the lowest point in the cycle. Thus, you were correct to reduce the dose after the 78. You should have been holding that dose for a week since you're following SLGS.
Lantus is different than shorter acting types of insulin. It isn't the kind of insulin that does well if you are trying to "shoot down" the numbers. Some of the high numbers you're seeing are likely due to bouncing. Sammie may be seeing lower numbers during time when you can't test and his numbers "bounce" into high numbers by shot time. Bounces are the result of numbers dropping low, dropping into a range your cat isn't used to, or numbers dropping quickly. As a result, the liver and pancreas release a stored form of glucose along with counterregulatory hormones that cause numbers to spike. More spot checks will help you to see if this is the case.
The 78 earned a reduction down to 2.75. She had been at 3 units. I had only given her 2.75 that morning because I was afraid of giving a full dose at 206. I gave 2.5 that night because I was concerned about giving a full dose at 218.
It seems that 3 is too much and 2.75 is too little. What do I do in that situation?
Oh okay. It just looked like you shot a full 3 units on the 10th when the PMPS was (183).
If you aren't comfortable shooting numbers in the 150-200 range and think the 3 units is too much it would seem the 2.75 is more appropriate.
In looking at your data. It looks like your +2 numbers are generally the same or higher than PMPS numbers, so shooting in the 200s might be alright. I understand being hesitant.
I'd think about what numbers you are comfortable shooting and some days grab a +11 before the AMps, so you can see which way Sammie is heading.
If it's a number you aren't sure about, then you have time to stall, retest and ask for help.
That night I delayed three hours until she was in the 400sOh okay. It just looked like you shot a full 3 units on the 10th when the PMPS was (183).
For SLGS , That (78) reading on the 19th would have earned a reduction to 2.5. Which you gave that night, but increased again to 2.75...and now 3 units.
I'd be hesitant to increase back to back - especially with limited data to see how low the dose is taking her.
It looks to me like you are basing your dose on the pre-shot numbers. Lantus dosing is based on the nadir -- the lowest point in the cycle.
What happened on the 4th isn't what's happening now. Insulin needs change all the time. What didn't work a couple weeks ago may work now.
Yes, with SLGS, you need to do a curve at the end of the 7 days. Many do it on the weekend or on their day off. A test every 2 hours for 12 hours is common practice.Does that mean I’m supposed to do a curve on a weekly basis? That’s just not practical.
Does that mean I’m supposed to do a curve on a weekly basis? That’s just not practical.
Every time I post I’m told to add more data. I started doing before bed tests. I’m a working student. I’m often out of the house for 12 hours at a time and I don’t have anyone at home to help me.
I know all this is stressful and you do have to take care of yourself too. When people talk about extra testing, they are often telling you what would help others help you and Sammie better. They won't always know or remember your schedule and how many hours you have to be away. The before bed tests are helpful, as are any extra you can get. It's important to know when the nadir (lowest number/ peak activity of insulin) is, and to test around that time if possible, since that's what dosing is based on.
Does Sammie seem to feel ok?
I wonder if this post on using TR with a full time job will be helpful for you? I realize the focus is on TR which requires more testing but some of the text as well as the suggestions that people made may be applicable. Throughout Gabby's FD, I worked a full time job. Fortunately, I didn't have a long commute. Unfortunately, there were days when I would bolt home at shot time and go back to the office for meetings. I can work long hours.
As for more testing, admittedly, I'm a testaholic. With either TR or SLGS, the minimum number of tests is your pre-shot test and ideally, at least one additional test during both the AM and PM cycles. I moved my shot time to 5:00 so I could get an additional test before I left for the office. Because Gabby had an early nadir, this worked well for us.
Looking at Sammie's SS, that black this morning makes me think that Sammie may have seen lower numbers last night and she bounced to black. Getting a "before bed" test every night may help you to anticipate a lower than expected cycle. You don't want to miss a number that requires a dose reduction.
Managing FD isn't for sissies! We balance our devotion to our kitties with all of the other things -- work, school, social life, family obligations -- with caring for our cats because they return that devotion. When you have a minute, look at the link to Gabby's Legacy in my signature. Read over post #7.