Sue and Oliver said:
I wonder if he has really long duration, and shooting every 12 hours causes overlap until he crashes low?
Interesting thought - when I have seen overlap it shows up in lower PSs though, so I wouldn't think that would be what is going on. To me, that would look something like:
Just raised to new dose:
AMPS 400 +6 250 PMPS 300
AMPS 250 +6 150 PMPS 200 +6 50
Totally made up #s of course, but the idea being that the overlap keeps the #s from zooming between PSs. To me if you are seeing regular 400, etc. PSs, you aren't seeing overlap.
I am in drive-by mode (sorry!) and looking at the SS the #s don't make a heck of a lot of sense to me either. Some cycles the dose looks too high, some cycles it looks too low, and some are just mega-wonky. :?
You tried pulling back to 1u and didn't get good results. The only thing I see in there is it looks like there was a jump back to 2u, and there's some chance that maybe there's a good dose between 1u and 2u? I'm not sure that's really the way to go, but I suppose you could try something like 1.5u for a few days and see how things shake out.
Do you feed him at all between shot times, or is he on a 2 meal a day plan? I am a free feeding fan, and especially if he is skinny, I'd let him eat as much as he wants at any time.
I hate to suggest considering another insulin simply because the #s are a puzzle, but I think there is a reality that there are other insulins with fairly straightforward protocols, and a boat-load of people using them and helping out. Sadly in PZI we are more limited in the size of our crowd, and the lack of a super-clear process for how to use the insulin, especially when the #s aren't straightforward. So I wouldn't say that there is no hope getting him regulated on PZI, but I'd say that unless *someone* is able to help you figure out how to use it effectively (and I'm out of ideas beyond what I've just typed - certainly I wouldn't consider raising the dose with wacky-low PSs like this morning's) it might just be reality that continuing on this track may be too much of an uphill battle.[ETA: my apologies to anyone who may be posting who does have some insight & a game plan - I only did a quick read and everyone looked as mystified as me, but I may have misread...]
When it seems like you've hit a wall, I generally recommend that people post on Lev and/or Lantus forums and ask for suggestions - should I switch? Is there hope for PZI? etc. There are former PZI users on both forums, some with extensive experience, and you can potentially get good tips, or more clarity that way.
Sorry not to be more help! Hope things come together better soon. I know I'd be tearing my hair out if I were you! confused_cat