Sam - 5/23

Status
Not open for further replies.

KristenP&Sam

Active Member
Sam had a check up at the vet again today since after his last check up after his dental it was discovered that some of his sutures had come loose and he had to be put on antibiotics. Vet report was great today! He's healing up beautifully and there's no need to put him under to resuture the area.

Now, numberswise, Sam's having an amazing day:

AMPS - 273
+6 - 116
PMPS - 110 (Needless to say I have not given his PM shot yet)

After a few days of really crappy flat numbers, I decided to switch to the new vial of Prozinc last night and obviously, it made a difference. Why Prozinc doesn't last longer for me, I have no idea. Maybe I'm too rough with it? I just roll it between my hands, but maybe I need to be more gentle. Anyway, the downside is that I leave on Wednesday for 3 days away and my husband sucks at testing. I'm going to try going over it again with him tomorrow, but I'm a little apprehensive about how that's going to go. Sam doesn't sit still for him.

I guess we'll see what tomorrow's numbers bring...
 
Yay, go Sam!!!

No shot tonight. Stay on your toes and get DH up to speed.

I'm not sure why the Prozinc is pooping out on so many folks here lately. Honestly I'm still using the last few drops in the vial I bought last July.

You should start looking at lowering your dose with the new vial and post dental. This could be a whole new ball game.
 
Good for Sam! I know what you mean about leaving them with DH. I was pretty uncomfortable leaving Thumper with mine but he did ok. I was able to talk to him & give advice for every shot. I even left instructions & got to sleep in 3 days! Yay!! I told him he could call if he needed to but he didn't.

flip_cat
 
Oh wow, weird with the poop-out trend. I know Vetsulin degraded every time you rolled it, so they said to replace that every month or two (depending on who you talked to). That was *not* the case though with PZI Vet, but I'm starting to wonder if maybe it is with ProZinc? Hard to say, but I hope everyone who has found replacing it helps is keeping track of how long it seems to be lasting, etc. Given that it's a new insulin, they may just not really know yet (? is that possible?). Or of course it could be just a few bad vials, or changes coinciding with other factors and stuff, so hard to say. But they really need to change the price if the trend continues. Vetsulin was $25 a vial, so that was reasonable to replace every month. But at ProZinc prices...? no way!
 
He was 218 at 11pm (what would have been his +2), so I decreased his dose to 2.4 and gave him his shot. Will definitely be keeping at eye on him tomorrow! DH practiced testing once tonight and did okay. He knows it needs to be done and he's willing, but he's just not as good at it. Fortunately, Sam seems to have gotten a little more tolerant.
 
I am very interested in the effect the change to the new vial is having on Sam. I really think I am seeing the samething with Kitty. Her numbers are unpredictable, so Kitty is not a great study-- but, new vials seem to give us better ps numbers and drop. After 30 to 45 days, I think the PZI is pooping put for Kitty.
 
This is discouraging. I think a call to the manufacturer is definitely in order. I wonder if they have any statistics from other cats.....And I wonder if the accepted method of storage and care needs to be altered in some way.
 
Glad to see Sam is doing well Kristen! Awesome! :thumbup

I am curious about the pz poop out too. We are nearing the end of our second bottle, we never finished the first due to this problem. The first two bottles had the same expiration date and were purchased from our first vet.

The new vial I got from our new vet has a totally different expiration date than our first two, so it’ll be interesting to see if we notice anything.
You guys will be the first to know :mrgreen:
 
My vet is aware of my concerns with prozinc pooping out. I kept the first two vials-- one is 1/3 full and the other is 1/2 full. Both bottles are the same lot and expiration date. The vial we are using now is a different lot.

My vet has suggested and offered to send my first two vials back to the maker for lab testing. What do you think-- should I send them back?
 
My daughter, the nurse, didn't do well testing Maisey. Was I ever lucky, despite spiking a 411 the day before I left for a week, Maisey stayed low the whole time I was gone. So maybe you'll luck out and Sam will stay low for you.
 
I would send them for testing, that is a great idea! They really need to know if their insulin is pooping out and they are not aware. Otherwise they are really misrepresenting it, I'm sure there are laws on stuff like that (well there would be if it were a people product I guess).
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top