Salem #2

Status
Not open for further replies.
So I’ll take a video later but here’s a picture. That’s Salem on the right and my other cat Nyx on the left staring at it.
 

Attachments

  • B530BF17-95F8-4F81-8025-029A1793B701.jpeg
    B530BF17-95F8-4F81-8025-029A1793B701.jpeg
    67.4 KB · Views: 104
Uhhhhh so I just took Salem’s ps twice and he was at 72/89 on the AT2. I’m not giving insulin tonight on that. And he’s had food too, he’s had probably at least a can this afternoon. I'll just see where he's at in the morning.
 
Last edited:
Good call on the no shot and GREAT numbers. Sometimes due to discomfort and the stress of the day, BG can be elevated for a few days post dental. Apparently Salem isn't going to do "normal" but what he's doing is just fine! :D
 
Yeah I was honestly expecting him to be a little high just due to being stressed and having stuff done. It could be a fluke, but I'm definitely not giving anything on that and I'll just see how much he goes up in the morning. I also would expect it to be low on no food, but I gave him a can and a half this afternoon and he seemed to eat most of it so he has food in his system. I'm not going to complain about him being low, I'm just curious what he'll be tomorrow. Surely even the vet can't argue with me not giving a shot on that low.
 
Yeah I'm just going to chill and see where he's at in the morning. He's still a little out of it even though he was playing some earlier. Even if he spikes tonight it probably won't be too much bc honestly he hasn't been spiking a lot with food lately. Plus I seriously need to sleep tonight so not giving the shot means I won't be up worrying. Since he's in normal range I really don't see a need to.
 
Okay I just tested twice on the AT2 and he’s at 119/125. Which is higher than I’d like but not too high. I can wait an hour before giving him a shot so I’m going to wait and see if he goes up. I’m wondering if the .5 would be safe to give.
 
If he has only come up just over 50 points with no insulin last night I wouldn't give him the 0.5u dose. He's sitting in normal range right now. I'd reduce to 0.25u at least and be monitoring him closely at least in the early part of the cycle.

The lowest pre-shot you've given insulin was 138 on the 17th but we don't know exactly what occurred that night because you used the AT2 for pre-shot and the Relion for follow up readings. We also don't know how low Salem went on the day 17th day cycle but it looks like the night cycle might have been pretty flat.
 
I tested again and he’s at 133 which is about the same? I know I gave him .5 on 138 so I might give a little less than the .5. I can monitor him today at least. I guess I can call the vet and see what he thinks but I don’t know if he’ll get back to me in time.
 
Okay I gave about .3? I’m going to check him every hour for the first few hours and see what happens. If he goes too low then I’m calling the vet.
 
1 hour out and he’s at 175 so he went up a bit. Hopefully what I gave him is enough to bring him back down.
 
Another update: I tested at +6 and he was 126. I’m going to work now so we’ll see where he’s at when I get home to give his shot. I’m wondering if he doesn’t feel as well today bc he’s been sleeping in his cat carrier all day.
 
Anything is possible. He had a big day yesterday. It's also possible that he is having a tiny bounce from the lower BG earlier. Leave some food out for him while you are gone in case he has any plans to drop later in the cycle per chance. Doubt it but you never know.
 
That’s true I didn’t think about it maybe being a bounce. I’m just going to take it day by day I think. The .5 doesn’t seem to drop him too much so I feel okay about giving it as long as he’s over 130. I’ll be home all day tomorrow so I can keep a close eye on him.
 
I genuinely don't get why he drops so suddenly at +2 when ProZinc isn't even supposed to start working until then? Idk how the pancreas works with all of that but maybe it's his pancreas working in combination with the insulin?
 
Just checking in. My geriatric fur kid woke me up. He's a bit senile and gets confused at night. :rolleyes: Its not only the extra extra sweet ones that keep us up!

You seem to have a handle on things. Are you Ok or do you want me to stick around till you test again?
 
I think I have a handle on it, but thanks! Hopefully he won't go much lower than the 116 but he still has a few hours to drop maybe.
 
Yes there is the potential for more drop. I'd watch him for at least another hour. Sorry but he seems to have a plan to keep thing interesting right now.
 
He seems to be doing that a lot lately! I guess I'll have to see what he's at in the morning.
 
Well it's been 2 hours and he's at 140 so I'm going to call it a night. I have a feeling he'll probably bounce from this but oh well. I'm going to take advantage and get some sleep. I've left some LC food out just in case, also bc my other cat threw up his dinner and needed to eat more.
 
PMPS is 142. I’m going to go ahead and give .5 again and I’ll just have to see where he’s at in 2 hours.
 
I hate to be a pain, but it would be helpful if you could add the data to the spreadsheet in as you get it. Sometimes, those of us helping are monitoring several kitties at once and it's easier for us to just keep SS open to see all the readings together than scrolling through messages. :)
 
Just tested him and he’s at 155 so he hasn’t started dropping yet. Hopefully that means tonight won’t be as active. I’ll grab another test around +3.
 
Just an update on Salem, he's pretty much stayed in the 100's all day. This dose only seems to bring him low occasionally now but it seems like his overall numbers are leveling out. I'm going to stick with the .5 through the weekend and then talk to the vet next week. I'm briefly going out of town during the day on Saturday so I won't be able to get numbers then. I'm going to leave plenty of food out though and he might just have to get his night shot a little late but the vet said I have up to 14 hours with it if I have to.
 
Salem is looking good but she has a little more room for improvement and you could try a little increase but I'd only do so when you can monitor closely.
I'm assuming you are using U40 syringes. Something to think about.....you can use U100 syringes with a conversion chart to make dose adjustments in smaller increments. Not sure what the situation is where you live re: obtaining syringes....ie whether you need a prescription or not.

Not sure what your vet means by the 14 hours. You can shoot late anytime but you can only shoot early by an hour. The only problem with shooting late is getting back onto your normal schedule for work purposes etc.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top