Saga of Mimi: Trial and Error

Status
Not open for further replies.

Whitney&Mimi

Member Since 2021
I'll reference previous thread here: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/hypo-help-newly-diagnosed.247940/

She is very sensitive to insulin it seems. Gave 1U in AM with 257 AMPS and went down to 67 at 7+, at 12+ she is at 118.
Talked to vet today: he recommends taking her off insulin and trying low carb diet for few weeks. If her numbers are high enough tomorrow AM (200+), I will try 0.5U. If I stop insulin, I will open the ketone monitor I bought and start testing her daily.
She just switched 5/26 from kibble to 10% carbs (Wellness Minced Chicken) and now I want to take her slowly to 0% (TikiCat Luau Chicken), she is a picky kitty so I expect a lot of resistance to go to TikiCat food; will start with little bits, then mix in gradually.
A friend says that Sunflower oil (in tikicat) is bad for diabetics? As it is a polyunsaturated fat.
 
Tagging a few people from previous thread

@Bron and Sheba (GA) @Nan & Amber (GA) @JanetNJ

I disagree with the vets recommendation to stop insulin. It's not so much that she's "sensitive to insulin" as it is finding the right dose. She didn't go too scary low today, and earned a reduction down to 0.75U for her next shot.

Transitioning to lower carbs will also bring BGs
down but you can do that transition while still giving insulin, just carefully. The yellows and higher blues you're seeing tells me she does need at least some insulin; and if you expect the transition to take a little while I definitely would not discontinue insulin for that long.
 
I would also not stop the insulin. We just need to find the dose that you can shoot both cycles.
She did earn a reduction down to 0.75 units but I would be inclined to try 0.5 unit and see if that dose will allow you to give it both cycles, because giving it 12 hours is much better for the cat and will hopefully stop the higher BGs in the pm cycle
However I will Tag @JanetNJ and @Panic as I am not a Prozinc user to see what they think
 
She was 196 this morning and at 2+ she is 76!!! I eyeballed 0.25U for her dose this morning. I gave her more food to eat as she probably going to go lower. But I don’t understand why she seems to dip so dramatically with insulin.
 
Sometimes the in and out insulins can do this. I'd give her a few days to settle into the lower split dose and see how she does (provided she doesn't go TOO low of course). Below this is a drop dose, but if even that causes bigger drops then your best bet would be a depot insulin like Lantus
 
She was 196 this morning and at 2+ she is 76!!! I eyeballed 0.25U for her dose this morning. I gave her more food to eat as she probably going to go lower. But I don’t understand why she seems to dip so dramatically with insulin.
I'm glad you only did 0.25! Great job steering
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top