Safe or gentle wet foods for upset stomach

Inky & Olivia

Member Since 2026
Today is Inky’s second day on Fortiflora. She ate it with her breakfast this morning (2.4 oz Tiki Cat silver can), I left out some Cats in the Kitchen and BFF wet food as well for her to eat later and I went to school like normal around 8:00am. On the cat camera I saw that she ate some at 9:30am, and then she slept from 9:30am to 3pm when I came home. At 3:30 she went back and ate more of the BFF, and she hadn’t even finished eating before she threw it up all over the carpet, the first time she’s puked in at least 18 months. I can count on one hand the number of times she has thrown up in the 3.5yrs we have had her. I tested her right away just to be safe and her BG was 121 mg/dL and ketones at 0.2 mmol/L. I don’t know if the puke has something to do with the FortiFlora, if the wet food had just been left out for too long, or if she had just eaten too much at once, after not eating since 9:30am. I took away her leftovers from breakfast and have given her another 2.4 oz of Tiki Cat silver in small amounts over the last hour or so because I didn’t want her to eat too much and puke again. I don’t know what caused it, but I will be keeping a close eye on her for the near future. Does anyone have any recommendations of wet food that is good for settling an upset stomach?
 
When Moonie has a really upset stomach, I make my own baby food. I get a protein I know she tolerates well from the grocery store, poach it in hot water, blend it up, and serve it at the right temperature. It’s not nutritionally complete but it’s ok to feed for a few days in a pinch when you’re not sure what’s going on.

Also sorry I missed why you’re putting Inky on Fortiflora but it doesn’t do much as a probiotic if that was your intent. It tastes good and is a good appetite stimulant for some cats though.

Visbiome is the probiotic that gets recommended here most often but it’s very expensive. I’ve also seen others here recommend Proviable which is more affordable.
 
When Moonie has a really upset stomach, I make my own baby food. I get a protein I know she tolerates well from the grocery store, poach it in hot water, blend it up, and serve it at the right temperature. It’s not nutritionally complete but it’s ok to feed for a few days in a pinch when you’re not sure what’s going on.

Also sorry I missed why you’re putting Inky on Fortiflora but it doesn’t do much as a probiotic if that was your intent. It tastes good and is a good appetite stimulant for some cats though.

Visbiome is the probiotic that gets recommended here most often but it’s very expensive. I’ve also seen others here recommend Proviable which is more affordable.
She’s on Bexacat, and she gets occasional mild diarrhea from it, maybe a handful of times a week, and more soft rather than liquid. I asked my vet if there was anything I could do since it didn’t seem severe enough for a medication, and the vet recommended Fortiflora, would Visbiome or Proviable be better? Thank you !
 
She’s on Bexacat, and she gets occasional mild diarrhea from it, maybe a handful of times a week, and more soft rather than liquid. I asked my vet if there was anything I could do since it didn’t seem severe enough for a medication, and the vet recommended Fortiflora, would Visbiome or Proviable be better? Thank you !
This might be worth asking someone experienced, since I’m not familiar with Bexacat, but Moonie has IBD and will get soft stools sometimes. This is the protocol I use when she has soft stools and it really helps us. I give Moonie Visibiome for probiotics and s bouillardi when she’s having soft stools.

How to Use S boulardii for diarrhea
 
Proviable or Visbiome are very good general probiotics. Several of the members here use one or the other routinely. S. boulardii is, as far as I'm concerned, magic when it comes to managing diarrhea. It works for cats as well as humans!

This is our information on the newer drugs for treating feline diabetes. Diarrhea is a common side effect. Please note that the manufacturers recommend that if your cat isn't responding to treatment for diarrhea, it may be that Bexacat isn't a great treatment for your kitty.
 
Back
Top