Saboo dosing question

Status
Not open for further replies.

Andrea A

Member Since 2022
Good evening! My boy was diagnosed on 2/7. His number was 503. Vet started him on Lantus 1 unit BID and Hills RX diet (cans and dry). Said at home testing was not necessary and counter productive most of the time. 2 week recheck, his number was 516. Double insulin dose and changed RX diet to Purina DM cans and dry. I joined this group and started researching because NOT home testing made no sense. We are now testing pre-shot and when I can mid-cycle. feeding Tiki Cat canned with Dr Elseys Duck dry food. Have only been giving one unit BID because of the food change. The canned has been 5 days, the dry started yesterday. His numbers are consistent in the mid-high 300’s on the Relion meter. Should I wait a few more days for the carbs to leave his system or should I increase his dose to 1.25? My vet doesn’t seem very knowledgeable and I worry about my baby!! Any advice is so greatly appreciated by this stressed out newbie!!
 
Hi and welcome to the site.:D It is great that you started testing yourself and have set up a spreadsheet.

I don't have enough experience to advise you about the dosing, but I am sure someone will be around to help.
If you can add some information onto your profile signature then people won't have to ask you the same questions over and over again:p.

On the left, under Settings, Click on Signature. This is where you will put information that helps us give you feedback. There is a limit of two lines which may include two links; you may separate pieces with commas, dashes, | etc. This is where you paste the link for your spreadsheet, once it is set up. Add info we need to help you:

Caregiver & kitty's name
DX: Date
Name of Insulin (do not include dose or frequency)
Name of your meter
Diet: "LC wet" or "dry food" or "combo"
Dosing: TR or SLGS or Custom (if applicable)
DKA or other recent health issue (if applicable)Acro, IAA, or Cushings (if applicable)
Spreadsheet link.
Please put the spreadsheet link on the bottom line of your signature information, on its own, so it is easy to find.
Please do not put any information about your location in the signature for security reasons. If you wish to add your country location, please add it to your profile.Be sure to click the 'Save Changes' button at the bottom. If you need help urgently it is important we know these things at a glance. We don’t want to waste valuable time finding out information.

Here is some more information on getting started:

https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/new-how-you-can-help-us-help-you.216696/
 
Good evening! My boy was diagnosed on 2/7. His number was 503. Vet started him on Lantus 1 unit BID and Hills RX diet (cans and dry). Said at home testing was not necessary and counter productive most of the time. 2 week recheck, his number was 516. Double insulin dose and changed RX diet to Purina DM cans and dry. I joined this group and started researching because NOT home testing made no sense. We are now testing pre-shot and when I can mid-cycle. feeding Tiki Cat canned with Dr Elseys Duck dry food. Have only been giving one unit BID because of the food change. The canned has been 5 days, the dry started yesterday. His numbers are consistent in the mid-high 300’s on the Relion meter. Should I wait a few more days for the carbs to leave his system or should I increase his dose to 1.25? My vet doesn’t seem very knowledgeable and I worry about my baby!! Any advice is so greatly appreciated by this stressed out newbie!!


First of all, Welcome to the club you never wanted to join. I am new here as well, my boy Hendrick was diagnosed on 1/5/22. So much to learn.

Secondly, You. Are. Awesome. To actually do some research and question your vet takes initiative! and you have found what almost every member here has discovered: most vets are fairly clueless about feline diabetes. If they have any experience with diabetic pets, it is typically dogs. Our vet also said no home testing needed. Crazy imo! :banghead:

This forum is like a life preserver tossed to a drowning person, you have found your lifeline here! The experts here have decades worth of combined knowledge helping diabetic cats. Ask lots of questions and you will get answers (probably not from me lol)
 
Welcome Andrea, you might want to read about the 2 dosing methods for lantus and decide which one you will want to follow. They will tell you when an increase or decrease is due. If you are feeding the Dr Elsey's dry you will have to follow SLGS dosing method

Is it possible for you to get more tests in other than the pre shot and mid cycle?
If you work you can test him when you get home and more often on the weekends so we can see how the insulin is working and see how low he's dropping.
Mix up the times that you test like @+3, +6, and +9
Like filling in the pieces of a puzzle

Good that you stayed on the 1 unit.


We try to stay with 5% or less
Most of us feed Fancy Feast Classic Pate or Friskies Pate
I think the Tiki Cat is OK
I'll give you the link to the food chart for you to look at check out the carbs
Do you have the syringes with the half unit markings?
I don't know if you have enough data on your spreadsheet for a member to advice about raising the dose but I will tag a few members for you to look at it

Dosing methods link
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...-low-go-slow-slgs-tight-regulation-tr.210110/


Food chart
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/dr-pierson-new-food-chart.174147/

Can you please fill out the link Chris and Checkers gave you
 
Good evening! My boy was diagnosed on 2/7. His number was 503. Vet started him on Lantus 1 unit BID and Hills RX diet (cans and dry). Said at home testing was not necessary and counter productive most of the time. 2 week recheck, his number was 516. Double insulin dose and changed RX diet to Purina DM cans and dry. I joined this group and started researching because NOT home testing made no sense. We are now testing pre-shot and when I can mid-cycle. feeding Tiki Cat canned with Dr Elseys Duck dry food. Have only been giving one unit BID because of the food change. The canned has been 5 days, the dry started yesterday. His numbers are consistent in the mid-high 300’s on the Relion meter. Should I wait a few more days for the carbs to leave his system or should I increase his dose to 1.25? My vet doesn’t seem very knowledgeable and I worry about my baby!! Any advice is so greatly appreciated by this stressed out newbie!!
@Wendy&Neko

@Bandit's Mom

@tiffmaxee

@Bron and Sheba (GA)
 
Welcome. Lantus is dosed based upon how low it takes your cat. Is your cat liking canned food? If so it is best to ditch the dry food. Try and get a few mid cycle tests and do a 12 hour curve after 7 days of testing. In the meantime stick with 1.0 unless his BG drops under 90.
 
Hello and welcome.

If you are going to feed dry food, you are limited to using our Start Low Go Slow dosing method. That means keeping the same dose for 7 days, doing a curve, then doing an increase if needed. So far it's just 4.5 days. So hang on a little bit longer with this dose. Unfortunately, Lantus and feline diabetes will teach you patience. :bighug:

This is a post to start with: New? How You Can Help Us Help You!
Then
when you've got the time, read the yellow starred Sticky Notes at the top of this forum. Lots of info, so take your time, and feel free to ask questions. There is lots to learn at first, but we've all been there and ca help you.
 
Thanks everyone! I have been giving 1.25 for three days now. His preshot numbers seem to be higher. I will be doing a 12 hour curve tomorrow, so I’ll have a better idea of his lows. So far he’s only had one reading below 300. I’m getting worried and slightly discouraged. I just want him healthy!!
 
It is hard to see the high numbers, but this does take time. I heard someone say this is a marathon not a race. Hang in there, his numbers will get better:). You are doing the best for him.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top