RUMPETEAZER 11-18-13 AMPS = 94

Status
Not open for further replies.

misty1477

Member Since 2013
128 @ 1:20AM
FF

AMPS = 94 @ 7:40AM
Was not going to do a retest....got phone call...not fed yet....Retested
85 @ 7:50AM

:mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: dancing_cat dancing_cat cat_pet_icon cat_pet_icon

NO SHOT
 
128 @ 1:20AM
FF

AMPS = 94 @ 7:40AM
Was not going to do a retest....got phone call...not fed yet....Retested
85 @ 7:50AM

:mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: dancing_cat dancing_cat cat_pet_icon cat_pet_icon

NO SHOT

150 @ 2:25PM
 
128 @ 1:20AM
FF

AMPS = 94 @ 7:40AM
Was not going to do a retest....got phone call...not fed yet....Retested
85 @ 7:50AM

:mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: dancing_cat dancing_cat cat_pet_icon cat_pet_icon

NO SHOT

150 @ 2:25PM

PMPS = 266 @ 7:40PM

Have to figure out dosing so not in 200's at PMPS after No Shot in AM because AMPS is low. :YMSIGH:
 
The only way I know, Misty, is to chase the number. You could have shot at 150 and then hoped it would last till tomorrow am. Or we could lower the scale a smidge to see if that gives you 2 shootable preshots?
 
128 @ 1:20AM
FF

AMPS = 94 @ 7:40AM
Was not going to do a retest....got phone call...not fed yet....Retested
85 @ 7:50AM

:mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: dancing_cat dancing_cat cat_pet_icon cat_pet_icon

NO SHOT

150 @ 2:25PM

PMPS = 266 @ 7:40PM

Have to figure out dosing so not in 200's at PMPS after No Shot in AM because AMPS is low. :YMSIGH:

1.0 unit @ 9:00PM
 
Sue and Oliver (GA) said:
The only way I know, Misty, is to chase the number. You could have shot at 150 and then hoped it would last till tomorrow am. Or we could lower the scale a smidge to see if that gives you 2 shootable preshots?

I am a little confused. Isn't the goal to end up not having to give insulin (eventually)? I guess I am too tired to think logically right now..... :YMSIGH:
 
misty1477 said:
Sue and Oliver (GA) said:
The only way I know, Misty, is to chase the number. You could have shot at 150 and then hoped it would last till tomorrow am. Or we could lower the scale a smidge to see if that gives you 2 shootable preshots?

I am a little confused. Isn't the goal to end up not having to give insulin (eventually)? I guess I am too tired to think logically right now..... :YMSIGH:

Good Morning Sue !! :smile:

I never thought of shooting at 150 (this test time would normally be her nadir).
If I had done this and tested her at normal PMPS time, I would not shoot because THAT would be her NEW nadir....correct?
Then....since I normally test around (+4 or +5) AFTER PM shot, I would feed & shoot at that time....correct?
Then....her AMPS would be a NADIR?!??!?!
ohmygod_smile ohmygod_smile I am confused_cat Maybe I am analyzing this scenario too much....I have a tendency to over-analyze things. :roll:


If we lower scale a smidge to see if I get 2 shootable preshots:
Maybe I am thinking wrong here...but...isn't the "goal" to not have to shoot.....as in :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: all the time?
I am confused as to why we are trying to get shootable numbers instead of :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:


Gotta go give shot now ... I await your response to help this silly bean become less confused. I hope I didn't confuse YOU with my thinking above. :smile: :smile:

Thanks A Bunch...my mentor....my friend. :-D
 
It is confusing, Misty. :-D To chase the number, it does throw your schedule completely off. The hope is that after having to skip a shot, you can shoot a rising number when you hit your target. This only works if you have the freedom (and schedule ) to wait 12 hours from that shot to shoot again. It throws the schedule out the window, but the hope is that the insulin lasts longer than the usual 12 hours (like it did yesterday) and so you are shooting 12+ hours. My thought is that would most likely completely mess up your feeding schedule and life. At some point, if she drops down in double digits at preshot consistently, it may have to be an option. To see how others have done it, check out the ss of people who posted in the remission thread.

The objective is to get them in numbers below the renal threshold as much as possible. The renal threshold is thought to be the range below which the pancreas can heal - it can"rest" and not work so hard. (there is debate about that number, but generally it is in the 180-250 range). So you want them always below that range, if possible, to get them off the juice. So shooting twice daily, when possible, usually keeps them in those lower ranges consistently. Skipping a shot and then shooting again 12 hours later when they are 200+ is less ideal. It won't hurt her. But general advice for going off the juice is to shoot at numbers in the 150 range (and sometimes below) with tiny doses and shoot twice daily, if possible. If shooting twice daily isn't possible because of low numbers, then chasing the number is the best option, if possible. Regardless, active monitoring is very important to make sure you can intervene if they drop below 40-50.

Clear as mud?


FOR ANY NEW DIABETICS READING THIS THREAD, THIS ADVICE IS FOR MISTY ONLY. SHE HAS TONS OF DATA AND IS AVAILABLE TO MONITOR OFTEN AND HER KITTY IS LIKELY HEADED FOR REMISSION.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top