RUMPELTEAZER 8-15-13 AMPS=197 Three-meals

Status
Not open for further replies.
That's a nice amps. Hope she stays lower today.

Misty, be sure you watch those preshots. If she is in the 180s and below, you probably want to skinny up that higher dose we are trying.
 
Tested before work
265 @ 1:10AM

AMPS = 197 @ 8:00AM

0.75 unit @ 8:20AM

100 @ 12:20PM (+4)
350 @ 3:20PM (+7)

Well....that dose didn't last long. :roll:
 
Tested before work
265 @ 1:10AM

AMPS = 197 @ 8:00AM

0.75 unit @ 8:20AM

100 @ 12:20PM (+4)
350 @ 3:20PM (+7)

Well....that dose didn't last long. :roll:

BOING !!!!!!


PMPS = 284 @ 7:30PM
 
misty1477 said:
Bounce = Lower Dose.......Yes????

No. It just means she isn't used to going that low and her body reacted by releasing stored glucose (glycogen).

Here are some glucose reference ranges used for decision making using a human glucometer:

< 40 mg/dL
- Treat as if HYPO if on insulin
- At nadir (lowest point between shots) in a long term diabetic (more than a year), may earn a reduction.

< 50 mg/dL
- If before nadir, steer with food, ie, give modest amounts of medium carb food to keep from going below 50.
- At nadir, often indicates dose reduction is earned.

50 - 130 mg/dL
- On insulin - great control when following a tight regulation protocol.
- Off insulin - normal numbers.
(May even go as low as the upper 30s; if not on insulin, this can be safe.

> 150 mg/dL
- At nadir, indicates a dose increase may be needed when following a tight regulation protocol.

200 mg/dL
- no shot level for beginners; may slowly reduce to 150 mg/dL for long-acting insulins (Lantus, Levemir, and ProZinc) as data collection shows it is safe

180 - 280 mg/dL
- Any time - The renal threshold (depending on data source and cat's renal function) where glucose spills into the urine.
- Test for ketones, glucose is too high.

>= 280 mg/dL, if for most of the cycle between shots
- Uncontrolled diabetes and thus at risk for diabetic ketoacidosis and hepatic lipidosis
- Follow your insulin protocol for dose adjustments
- Test for ketones; if more than a trace level of ketones, go to vet ASAP.
 
Tested before work
265 @ 1:10AM

AMPS = 197 @ 8:00AM

0.75 unit @ 8:20AM

100 @ 12:20PM (+4)
350 @ 3:20PM (+7)

Well....that dose didn't last long. :roll:

BOING !!!!!!


PMPS = 284 @ 7:30PM

SKINNY 0.75 unit @ 8:30PM
 
BJM said:
misty1477 said:
Bounce = Lower Dose.......Yes????

No. It just means she isn't used to going that low and her body reacted by releasing stored glucose (glycogen).

Here are some glucose reference ranges used for decision making using a human glucometer:

< 40 mg/dL
- Treat as if HYPO if on insulin
- At nadir (lowest point between shots) in a long term diabetic (more than a year), may earn a reduction.

< 50 mg/dL
- If before nadir, steer with food, ie, give modest amounts of medium carb food to keep from going below 50.
- At nadir, often indicates dose reduction is earned.

50 - 130 mg/dL
- On insulin - great control when following a tight regulation protocol.
- Off insulin - normal numbers.
(May even go as low as the upper 30s; if not on insulin, this can be safe.

> 150 mg/dL
- At nadir, indicates a dose increase may be needed when following a tight regulation protocol.

200 mg/dL
- no shot level for beginners; may slowly reduce to 150 mg/dL for long-acting insulins (Lantus, Levemir, and ProZinc) as data collection shows it is safe

180 - 280 mg/dL
- Any time - The renal threshold (depending on data source and cat's renal function) where glucose spills into the urine.
- Test for ketones, glucose is too high.

>= 280 mg/dL, if for most of the cycle between shots
- Uncontrolled diabetes and thus at risk for diabetic ketoacidosis and hepatic lipidosis
- Follow your insulin protocol for dose adjustments
- Test for ketones; if more than a trace level of ketones, go to vet ASAP.

I will make a note of this info....thanks.

I would like to ask some questions about it and RumpelT's numbers, but I have to get to bed now. Will start a new thread of PM you tomorrow.

g'night.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top