RUMPELTEAZER @ 79 AMPS !!! HELP !!!

Status
Not open for further replies.
Sue and Oliver (GA) said:
Yes, the second part of this is watching behavior. If she would act strange - like howling or acting like she can't see - you need to take some syrup and head to the ER.

I am leaving now but will have you and your sweet baby on my mind. BJ is a great help and I have also asked Momma of Muse to come over and keep an eye out for you. Two voices are always best as one may remember something the first forgets.

Just keep posting and following the directions they give and if they say it is time to take her to the ER, do it.


Thank You......So Much
 
Sue I'm here...just gonna take a second to read through so I can catch up where we are at this point.

Misty just breathe...Bj & I are old hands at this...my girl loves to dive for the basement...I can walk out a hypo in my sleep :-D I'll stay with you until we have your Rumple back where she needs to be.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
41 is not significantly different from 37.

Feed another 1-2 teaspoons of food plus syringe syrup.

Re-test in 15 minutes.
 
Would not eat food the first time.

I can syringe some syrup in her .... how much?

Excuse spelling.... ?!?!??!!?

She is curled up in her sleep-position.....purrs when I pet her.
 
Aim for 3 ml - about 1 tablespoon worth. Divide into 1 ml amounts to dose more easily.
 
If she won't let you syringe the syrup and won't eat food with it...got any ice cream? Sweetened Yogurt? I know Autumn fights me with Karo and syringe feeding but I can almost always get her to lick vanilla ice cream.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Test again - every 15-20 minutes until we get her safe.

Maybe make a mix of syrup and food for the next syringing.
 
The testing every 15 minutes is to see which way she is going. We want to see her go up some and stabilize.

Syrup doesn't last long - its in and out fast.

A mixture of syrup and food will add some longer lasting calories from protein and fat, so the glucose will be less likely to drop within 15 minutes.
 
54 -> 43.2 to 64.8

Better.

Another round of syrup/food.

Test again in 15 - 20 minutes.
 
Test again in 15 she is headed in the right direction but a lot of that is the syrup which once it wears off she could dive again so we need to have you keep testing. Once she hits 70 I usually stop the syrup and see if they can hold the higher numbers without it.

Also since I'm playing catch up...how far out are we now from her shot this morning? +what?

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Rolled over on her back like she wanted me to rub her belly....never did that before. Pulled my hands to her face to be petted. This is odd for her.

I have the food mixed with syrup on my desk.....seems like she is looking for it. Oh....went back in hallway to lay down....going to sleep.

Should I offer the food/syrup mix now before 15 minute test?
 
Plus you want to treat this kind of like a concussion you really don't want to assume she is just trying to take a nap..we need to keep her up and eating. How is she walking? Normal or like she is drunk?

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Watch for these:

MILD HYPOGLYCEMIA
Sudden ravenous hunger
Shivering
Weak or lethargic

MODERATE HYPOGLYCEMIA
Disorientation
Trouble with vision... bumps into furniture
Poor coordination, such as staggering, walking in circles or acting drunk
Changes in head or neck movements
Restlessness
Urgent meowing
Behavioral changes, such as aggressiveness

SEVERE HYPOGLYCEMIA
Convulsions or seizures
Unconsciousness
 
MommaOfMuse said:
Plus you want to treat this kind of like a concussion you really don't want to assume she is just trying to take a nap..we need to keep her up and eating. How is she walking? Normal or like she is drunk?

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang


Walks a wee-bit shaky....she has a strange body shape :roll: always kind of looked odd walking.

Time for test ..... poor ears !!!!!!!!! Other kittys are looking for attention....jealous I guess.

I will test and offer food/syrup in bowl. If she won't eat...shall I try to syringe it?
 
Don't let her eat alot we need her to stay a little hungry in case we need her to eat more later.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Only put down 1-2 teaspoons worth.

Too much and she may vomit, undoing the good from the syrup and food.

131 ~ AMPS (8:00)
76 ~ +2 (9:00)
37 ~ +3 (10:00)
41 ~ +3.5 (10:33)
54 ~ +4 (10:55)
58 ~ +4.25 (11:16)
 
Maple syrup will work as will honey......rub on gums only, do not syringe. Also, Laxatone or Nutrical if you have any. Also, vanilla ice cream.
 
She only had a couple bites. She then washed her face and is laying down again. My cats (I guess MOST cats) always just "lounge" all day.

Will test again at 12:30. She is getting a little angry with fur-mom about the ear testing. I feel so bad.
 
BJM said:
I'd rather she be mad and alive.


Me too !!!

Geee.....almost time for next text. Fifteen minutes never went by so fast!!!

YOU GUYS ARE TOTALLY AWESOME!!! I APPRECIATE THIS SOOOOO MUCH !!! :-D
 
Second that one...I want her alive to forgive you later and she will she loves you.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
I would leave her alone and test in 30 minutes.
Carl
 
Its been mostly syrup to this point; maybe aim for a teaspoon of just food, no syrup, to help stabilize the better numbers.

131 ~ AMPS (8:00)
76 ~ +2 (9:00)
37 ~ +3 (10:00)
41 ~ +3.5 (10:33)
54 ~ +4 (10:55)
58 ~ +4.25 (11:16)
74 ~ +4.5 (11:30)
 
Two reasons Misty...
1 - you don't want to force too much food and make her puke up what's in her belly.
2 - you want to give what is in her belly the time it takes for the carbs to show up on your meter.

If it is lower in thirty minutes, then see if she'll eat a spoonful.
Carl
 
She is up enough now to put the syrup away and see if she can stay up on just food. Plus we need to know where she is headed once that sugar wears off...syrup will bring them up quickly but also wears off fairly quickly so we need to know if she is really up again or just on a sugar high right now.

You are doing fantastic by the way...And when Rumple gets over being mad about the testing today she will thank you for saving her life.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Carl & Bob said:
Two reasons Misty...
1 - you don't want to force too much food and make her puke up what's in her belly.
2 - you want to give what is in her belly the time it takes for the carbs to show up on your meter.

If it is lower in thirty minutes, then see if she'll eat a spoonful.
Carl


I understand. She is napping now...I keep calling her every once in a while to make sure she picks her head up (responds).

Could all of this be from when my vet up her dose to 1.5 ????? And .... Holy Crap....vet told me to only test at AMPS + PMPS !!!! Is there a "beat the crap out of the vet" smiley available?????
 
misty1477 said:
...Could all of this be from when my vet up her dose to 1.5 ????? And .... Holy Crap....vet told me to only test at AMPS + PMPS !!!! Is there a "beat the crap out of the vet" smiley available?????

Yes, this could be from increasing the dose. Also it could be from the pancreas starting to kick in a bit.

And we find many vets are out of date when it comes to contemporary feline diabetes management.

If you get a minute, add the numbers to your spreadsheet.

A good thing to do when first starting out with doses is to find out if the pre-shot is rising or falling. You do that by testing 30-60 minutes or so before the pre-shot test. (Thanks for the reminder Carl)
 
angry(2)_cat Think this is the best one we have :mrgreen: Please, never syringe syrup, Karo, etc......risk of aspiration. Works well just rubbing on the gums with your finger. I know, makes a mess but much safer. If kitty will eat, then you can mix some Karo into the food. Glad R is going up.
 
Sweet now hopefully she will stay up for you. <fingers, toes and paws crossed>

Good job on getting those tests today. cat_pet_icon

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Misty,
From now on, at least short-term, no shots under 200? Maybe at some point you could try it, but you don't want this kind of excitement every day ;-)
Carl
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top