Sue and Oliver (GA) said:One unit? You could try 1.2 if you can monitor at +2/3 and 6. This is close to +12, eight?
Sue and Oliver (GA) said:Sorry, I'm on my ipad and it's hard for me to see your ss once i start a post? I didn't want to advisenif it was an early shot. M. Either way works - one unit if you want an easy day. A little more if you want to try a little more agressive dose.
Sue and Oliver (GA) said:It sounds like you are having a rough day again. Misty, we don't need for you to test so often. Once early in the cycle and then once midcycle is fine. When she is in the mid 200s at preshot and in the low 100s at midcycle like she was yesterday, she is very close to regulated numbers. This is where many members would love to see their kitties.
As I said in the thread yesterday, remission may be difficult because it is hard for us to suggest being more agressive about dosing overnight since you have no options if she would suddenly go low midcycle.
A regulated cat with an owner who only needs to test 3-4 times daily, if that, is not a bad place to be.
Rob & Harley (GA) said:Yup I too went a little insane most days. Harley had been diet controled for a year but came out of remission after the stress of being boarded at the vet clinic.
I stomped around PZI yelling "I WANT HIM REGULATED AND I WANT IT NOW" cat(2)_steam :lol: I was in some kind of hyper adrenaline overdrive.
Stopping to breathe does help. Since he is in decent numbers, give yourself a pat on the back for a job well done, a piece of chocolate for you and a piece of chicken for RumpleT.
We can try to explain things better if that will help, just ask.
Sue and Oliver (GA) said:I tend to test so much because I want to see how her cycle is throughout the day. I guess I am just an idiot or something OR just an overprotective "fur-mom". I don't know already....did ya ever feel like you are going insane?????
Daily. :mrgreen: It's part of the condition....
I think her numbers overall are great. The weekend tends to be uglier but then you are sometimes shooting at +14 which is 2 hours after the insulin wears off. And the one night, you skipped right? That will mean an ugly number at the next preshot.
Someone wise told me early on to breathe deeply and often. This isn't a race. She has diabetes, which is so much more treatable than dozens of other things she could have. Yes, it takes a lot of time to care for her, but she doesn't know she is sick. She feels great, gets lots of treats and Mom pays attention to her more than usual. If you can get her regulated (and she is close) then you can decide if that it how it is going to be. Keep getting preshot numbers and shooting that 1 unit or 1.25 as needed and chill?
I think she has trained you very well! "Treat now mommabean! Trade you an ear poke for a treat, how about it?"JEEPERS CATS .... Cell alarm just went off for next test and SHE IS SITTING HER "WAITING"
Deb & Wink said:I think she has trained you very well! "Treat now mommabean! Trade you an ear poke for a treat, how about it?"JEEPERS CATS .... Cell alarm just went off for next test and SHE IS SITTING HER "WAITING"
What are Rumpelt's favorite Fancy Feast flavors?
Sue and Oliver (GA) said:That was a fairly agressive dose for the low 200s. So that tells us next time, maybe one unit is better. The numbers are lovely but the cycle is running long. I hope she goes up enough for you to shoot at pmps. If she does, then the dose is perfect!
Sue and Oliver (GA) said:No, we learned something. We need to stick with the one unit when she is below 300. I think you'll have to skip tonight. I just hope she doesn't go down any further before you have to leave.
Mary & Simba said:I've had carryovers that have lasted a minimum of 15 hours, so it's a possibility that she might linger a little. If you leave her without a shot at PMPS, and you can check at PM+6, you might be able to catch the rise.
misty1477 said:Mary & Simba said:I've had carryovers that have lasted a minimum of 15 hours, so it's a possibility that she might linger a little. If you leave her without a shot at PMPS, and you can check at PM+6, you might be able to catch the rise.
I have to leave for work NO LATER THAN 1:30AM (Eastern Time). That would be PM+5 correct?
Good Grief....I should actually be leaving for work by 1:15AM.
I probably won't shoot tonight.
Let me feed now & test between 8:30PM and 8:45PM and see where she is.
Rob & Harley (GA) said:The + number continues from shot to shot so PM +5 would actually be +17. Just so everyone is on the same page and don't think you shot at PMPS.