RUMPELTEAZER 5-7-13 AMPS = 244 --- Food --- 271

Status
Not open for further replies.

misty1477

Member Since 2013
OH..... AND LET THE FUN BEGIN !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Tested before I left for work ...... 243 @ 1:10AM


AMPS = 244 @ 7:10AM

Fed/ate 1-1/2 cans FF after "AMPS"
Segregated from civvies until they are done eating.

RETESTED ------ 271 @ 8:00AM
 
Sue and Oliver (GA) said:
One unit? You could try 1.2 if you can monitor at +2/3 and 6. This is close to +12, eight?


I don't know what you mean by "This is close to +12, eight?" 244 @ 7:10AM was about 11-1/2 hours since shot last night. I tested her at 1:10AM (before work) ..... was 243.

I have to shoot soon..... I can monitor every damn hour during the day today if I have to !!!! This is really driving me nuts!!! Every day I struggle with a new situation!!!! Even though I am keeping everything the same. cat(2)_steam :roll: :YMSIGH: @-) ohmygod_smile
 
Sorry, I'm on my ipad and it's hard for me to see your ss once i start a post? I didn't want to advisenif it was an early shot. M. Either way works - one unit if you want an easy day. A little more if you want to try a little more agressive dose.
 
Sue and Oliver (GA) said:
Sorry, I'm on my ipad and it's hard for me to see your ss once i start a post? I didn't want to advisenif it was an early shot. M. Either way works - one unit if you want an easy day. A little more if you want to try a little more agressive dose.


How does 1.25 sound??? I have to shoot ASAP.....I cannot stay up until 9:00PM waiting to see if I can shoot after 12 hours !!! I have to get up earlier for work now....NO LATER THAT 1:00AM !!! I am on 4 hours sleep today.....this is totally crazy !!! I didn't have a life before because of job.....NOW I REALLY DON'T have a life !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
 
OH..... AND LET THE FUN BEGIN !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Tested before I left for work ...... 243 @ 1:10AM


AMPS = 244 @ 7:10AM

Fed/ate 1-1/2 cans FF after "AMPS"
Segregated from civvies until they are done eating.

RETESTED ------ 271 @ 8:00AM

1.25 units @ 8:35AM

I will test every damn hour during the day if I have to. Cannot be staying up so late anymore.....work schedule = get up NO LATER THAN 1:00AM !!!
 
OH..... AND LET THE FUN BEGIN !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Tested before I left for work ...... 243 @ 1:10AM


AMPS = 244 @ 7:10AM

Fed/ate 1-1/2 cans FF after "AMPS"
Segregated from civvies until they are done eating.

RETESTED ------ 271 @ 8:00AM

1.25 units @ 8:35AM

I will test every damn hour during the day if I have to. Cannot be staying up so late anymore.....work schedule = get up NO LATER THAN 1:00AM !!!


Gave/ate PureBite Chicken treats after tests


290 @ 11:10AAM (+2.5)
 
It sounds like you are having a rough day again. Misty, we don't need for you to test so often. Once early in the cycle and then once midcycle is fine. When she is in the mid 200s at preshot and in the low 100s at midcycle like she was yesterday, she is very close to regulated numbers. This is where many members would love to see their kitties.

As I said in the thread yesterday, remission may be difficult because it is hard for us to suggest being more agressive about dosing overnight since you have no options if she would suddenly go low midcycle.

A regulated cat with an owner who only needs to test 3-4 times daily, if that, is not a bad place to be.
 
OH..... AND LET THE FUN BEGIN !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Tested before I left for work ...... 243 @ 1:10AM


AMPS = 244 @ 7:10AM

Fed/ate 1-1/2 cans FF after "AMPS"
Segregated from civvies until they are done eating.

RETESTED ------ 271 @ 8:00AM

1.25 units @ 8:35AM

I will test every damn hour during the day if I have to. Cannot be staying up so late anymore.....work schedule = get up NO LATER THAN 1:00AM !!!


Gave/ate PureBite Chicken treats after tests


290 @ 11:10AAM (+2.5)
256 @ 12:45PM (+4)
 
Sue and Oliver (GA) said:
It sounds like you are having a rough day again. Misty, we don't need for you to test so often. Once early in the cycle and then once midcycle is fine. When she is in the mid 200s at preshot and in the low 100s at midcycle like she was yesterday, she is very close to regulated numbers. This is where many members would love to see their kitties.

As I said in the thread yesterday, remission may be difficult because it is hard for us to suggest being more agressive about dosing overnight since you have no options if she would suddenly go low midcycle.

A regulated cat with an owner who only needs to test 3-4 times daily, if that, is not a bad place to be.

Hi Sue.....

Yes...it is another rough day... :roll: :YMSIGH:

I tend to test so much because I want to see how her cycle is throughout the day. I guess I am just an idiot or something OR just an overprotective "fur-mom". I don't know already....did ya ever feel like you are going insane?????

I always try to figure out why her numbers keep changing every day. Check out her ss now. You will probably say numbers are good....but....why was it sooooo messed up the few days before? AND today she started low and is now going lower already. I am so confused....even though I keep reading posts and info and arghhhhh....I am going crazy !!!
 
I tend to test so much because I want to see how her cycle is throughout the day. I guess I am just an idiot or something OR just an overprotective "fur-mom". I don't know already....did ya ever feel like you are going insane?????

Daily. :mrgreen: It's part of the condition....

I think her numbers overall are great. The weekend tends to be uglier but then you are sometimes shooting at +14 which is 2 hours after the insulin wears off. And the one night, you skipped right? That will mean an ugly number at the next preshot.

Someone wise told me early on to breathe deeply and often. This isn't a race. She has diabetes, which is so much more treatable than dozens of other things she could have. Yes, it takes a lot of time to care for her, but she doesn't know she is sick. She feels great, gets lots of treats and Mom pays attention to her more than usual. If you can get her regulated (and she is close) then you can decide if that it how it is going to be. Keep getting preshot numbers and shooting that 1 unit or 1.25 as needed and chill?
 
Yup I too went a little insane most days. Harley had been diet controled for a year but came out of remission after the stress of being boarded at the vet clinic.

I stomped around PZI yelling "I WANT HIM REGULATED AND I WANT IT NOW" cat(2)_steam :lol: I was in some kind of hyper adrenaline overdrive.

Stopping to breathe does help. Since he is in decent numbers, give yourself a pat on the back for a job well done, a piece of chocolate for you and a piece of chicken for RumpleT.

We can try to explain things better if that will help, just ask.
 
Rob & Harley (GA) said:
Yup I too went a little insane most days. Harley had been diet controled for a year but came out of remission after the stress of being boarded at the vet clinic.

I stomped around PZI yelling "I WANT HIM REGULATED AND I WANT IT NOW" cat(2)_steam :lol: I was in some kind of hyper adrenaline overdrive.

Stopping to breathe does help. Since he is in decent numbers, give yourself a pat on the back for a job well done, a piece of chocolate for you and a piece of chicken for RumpleT.

We can try to explain things better if that will help, just ask.

I am exactly like what you said about stomping around PZI. I think it was Carl (hmmmm....where has he been.....I was looking at some of his pics....awesome) that sent me the "patience pants" pic awhile back. :lol:

I try to stop and breathe.....but I don't have time :roll:

This whole thing is just so nerve-wracking. I had a Siberian Husky years ago that went diabetic at 10-years-old....it was sooooo much easier with him (a dog).

I am going crazy and Rumpelteazer is happy as a clam .... until it is time for food anyway.
 
Sue and Oliver (GA) said:
I tend to test so much because I want to see how her cycle is throughout the day. I guess I am just an idiot or something OR just an overprotective "fur-mom". I don't know already....did ya ever feel like you are going insane?????

Daily. :mrgreen: It's part of the condition....

I think her numbers overall are great. The weekend tends to be uglier but then you are sometimes shooting at +14 which is 2 hours after the insulin wears off. And the one night, you skipped right? That will mean an ugly number at the next preshot.

Someone wise told me early on to breathe deeply and often. This isn't a race. She has diabetes, which is so much more treatable than dozens of other things she could have. Yes, it takes a lot of time to care for her, but she doesn't know she is sick. She feels great, gets lots of treats and Mom pays attention to her more than usual. If you can get her regulated (and she is close) then you can decide if that it how it is going to be. Keep getting preshot numbers and shooting that 1 unit or 1.25 as needed and chill?


See my response to Rob & Harley. JEEPERS CATS .... Cell alarm just went off for next test and SHE IS SITTING HER "WAITING"
 
OH..... AND LET THE FUN BEGIN !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Tested before I left for work ...... 243 @ 1:10AM


AMPS = 244 @ 7:10AM

Fed/ate 1-1/2 cans FF after "AMPS"
Segregated from civvies until they are done eating.

RETESTED ------ 271 @ 8:00AM

1.25 units @ 8:35AM

I will test every damn hour during the day if I have to. Cannot be staying up so late anymore.....work schedule = get up NO LATER THAN 1:00AM !!!


Gave/ate PureBite Chicken treats after tests


290 @ 11:10AAM (+2.5)
256 @ 12:45PM (+4)
154 @ 2:35PM (+6)
 
OH..... AND LET THE FUN BEGIN !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Tested before I left for work ...... 243 @ 1:10AM


AMPS = 244 @ 7:10AM

Fed/ate 1-1/2 cans FF after "AMPS"
Segregated from civvies until they are done eating.

RETESTED ------ 271 @ 8:00AM

1.25 units @ 8:35AM

I will test every damn hour during the day if I have to. Cannot be staying up so late anymore.....work schedule = get up NO LATER THAN 1:00AM !!!


Gave/ate PureBite Chicken treats after tests


290 @ 11:10AAM (+2.5)
256 @ 12:45PM (+4)
154 @ 2:35PM (+6)
98 @ 4:35PM (+8)

It's a GREEN :-D Crazy number day today....AGAIN. :roll: Good Numbers......but......WHY??? Yes....I always wonder WHY???? :roll: :lol:
 
JEEPERS CATS .... Cell alarm just went off for next test and SHE IS SITTING HER "WAITING"
I think she has trained you very well! "Treat now mommabean! Trade you an ear poke for a treat, how about it?"

What are Rumpelt's favorite Fancy Feast flavors?
 
Its multifactorial, ie many different factors go into determining the glucose levels.
Food batches can vary.
Amount eaten can vary.
Activity levels can vary.
Absorption rates can vary.
Digestive processes can vary.

And so on.

Its as much art, as science. Eventually, as you review the spreadsheets, you'll probably start being able to 'intuit' for dosing because you know her general responses.
 
That was a fairly agressive dose for the low 200s. So that tells us next time, maybe one unit is better. The numbers are lovely but the cycle is running long. I hope she goes up enough for you to shoot at pmps. If she does, then the dose is perfect!
 
Deb & Wink said:
JEEPERS CATS .... Cell alarm just went off for next test and SHE IS SITTING HER "WAITING"
I think she has trained you very well! "Treat now mommabean! Trade you an ear poke for a treat, how about it?"

What are Rumpelt's favorite Fancy Feast flavors?


Yup....that's her to a Rumpel"T" !!!

Favorite FF flavors????? OMG......She will eat ANY flavor. I wish I could get a video of her eating.....food actually flies out onto counter/floor.....is all over her face.....even on top of her head !!!! Oh....but don't worry.....she cleans up every little bit that flies around while she chomps away.
 
Sue and Oliver (GA) said:
That was a fairly agressive dose for the low 200s. So that tells us next time, maybe one unit is better. The numbers are lovely but the cycle is running long. I hope she goes up enough for you to shoot at pmps. If she does, then the dose is perfect!


I think I am screwed for this evening. 71 @ 6:35PM nailbite_smile nailbite_smile
 
OH..... AND LET THE FUN BEGIN !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Tested before I left for work ...... 243 @ 1:10AM


AMPS = 244 @ 7:10AM

Fed/ate 1-1/2 cans FF after "AMPS"
Segregated from civvies until they are done eating.

RETESTED ------ 271 @ 8:00AM

1.25 units @ 8:35AM

I will test every damn hour during the day if I have to. Cannot be staying up so late anymore.....work schedule = get up NO LATER THAN 1:00AM !!!


Gave/ate PureBite Chicken treats after tests


290 @ 11:10AAM (+2.5)
256 @ 12:45PM (+4)
154 @ 2:35PM (+6)
98 @ 4:35PM (+8)

It's a GREEN :-D Crazy number day today....AGAIN. :roll: Good Numbers......but......WHY??? Yes....I always wonder WHY???? :roll: :lol:


71 @ 6:35PM (+10)

Long night ahead I think !!! ohmygod_smile
 
No, we learned something. We need to stick with the one unit when she is below 300. I think you'll have to skip tonight. I just hope she doesn't go down any further before you have to leave.
 
Sue and Oliver (GA) said:
No, we learned something. We need to stick with the one unit when she is below 300. I think you'll have to skip tonight. I just hope she doesn't go down any further before you have to leave.


I hear ya .... loud & clear.

I was just looking at "socks" posts from last night into today. OMG....I feel his bean's pain.

Think I am going to go downstairs and see if my body will provide me with one of it's famous "45-minute-then-get-the hell-up-you-sleepy-head" naps. I have a feeling I am gonna need it.
 
Maybe get in a test right before you walk out the door too, to see if your are getting a long carryover, or if she's on the way back up.
 
OH..... AND LET THE FUN BEGIN !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Tested before I left for work ...... 243 @ 1:10AM


AMPS = 244 @ 7:10AM

Fed/ate 1-1/2 cans FF after "AMPS"
Segregated from civvies until they are done eating.

RETESTED ------ 271 @ 8:00AM

1.25 units @ 8:35AM

I will test every damn hour during the day if I have to. Cannot be staying up so late anymore.....work schedule = get up NO LATER THAN 1:00AM !!!


Gave/ate PureBite Chicken treats after tests


290 @ 11:10AAM (+2.5)
256 @ 12:45PM (+4)
154 @ 2:35PM (+6)
98 @ 4:35PM (+8)

It's a GREEN :-D Crazy number day today....AGAIN. :roll: Good Numbers......but......WHY??? Yes....I always wonder WHY???? :roll: :lol:


71 @ 6:35PM (+10)

Long night ahead I think !!! ohmygod_smile

81 @ 8:00PM

WILL FEED 1-1/2 cans FF now & test again @ 8:30PM
 
I've had carryovers that have lasted a minimum of 15 hours, so it's a possibility that she might linger a little. If you leave her without a shot at PMPS, and you can check at PM+6, you might be able to catch the rise.
 
Mary & Simba said:
I've had carryovers that have lasted a minimum of 15 hours, so it's a possibility that she might linger a little. If you leave her without a shot at PMPS, and you can check at PM+6, you might be able to catch the rise.


I have to leave for work NO LATER THAN 1:30AM (Eastern Time). That would be PM+5 correct?

Good Grief....I should actually be leaving for work by 1:15AM.

I probably won't shoot tonight.

Let me feed now & test between 8:30PM and 8:45PM and see where she is.
 
The + number continues from shot to shot so PM +5 would actually be +17. Just so everyone is on the same page and don't think you shot at PMPS.
 
misty1477 said:
Mary & Simba said:
I've had carryovers that have lasted a minimum of 15 hours, so it's a possibility that she might linger a little. If you leave her without a shot at PMPS, and you can check at PM+6, you might be able to catch the rise.


I have to leave for work NO LATER THAN 1:30AM (Eastern Time). That would be PM+5 correct?

Good Grief....I should actually be leaving for work by 1:15AM.

I probably won't shoot tonight.

Let me feed now & test between 8:30PM and 8:45PM and see where she is.

Rob & Harley (GA) said:
The + number continues from shot to shot so PM +5 would actually be +17. Just so everyone is on the same page and don't think you shot at PMPS.

"Rob"....So if I test before leaving at 1:15AM that would be good? I am going to go & test her right now....she is done eating..BRB.
 
OH..... AND LET THE FUN BEGIN !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Tested before I left for work ...... 243 @ 1:10AM


AMPS = 244 @ 7:10AM

Fed/ate 1-1/2 cans FF after "AMPS"
Segregated from civvies until they are done eating.

RETESTED ------ 271 @ 8:00AM

1.25 units @ 8:35AM

I will test every damn hour during the day if I have to. Cannot be staying up so late anymore.....work schedule = get up NO LATER THAN 1:00AM !!!


Gave/ate PureBite Chicken treats after tests


290 @ 11:10AAM (+2.5)
256 @ 12:45PM (+4)
154 @ 2:35PM (+6)
98 @ 4:35PM (+8)

It's a GREEN :-D Crazy number day today....AGAIN. :roll: Good Numbers......but......WHY??? Yes....I always wonder WHY???? :roll: :lol:


71 @ 6:35PM (+10)

Long night ahead I think !!! ohmygod_smile

81 @ 8:00PM

WILL FEED 1-1/2 cans FF now & test again @ 8:30PM

138 @ 8:45PM

Number UP due to food I presume.

NO SHOT TONIGHT..
 
Yikes!

When you wind up unable to shoot due to low pre-shots, one possibility is that the dose may need reduction. Tomorrow will be high from skipping, but maybe Thursday am you might test a slight (0.25) reduction.
 
Going to test her now .... clean up kitchen.....test again....then get to bed (as long as all is well number-wise).

If I don't get to bed sooooon...there will be not testing before I leave for work because I will surely be running late !!!!!!!!!!!!! ohmygod_smile I want a real life again !!!
 
OH..... AND LET THE FUN BEGIN !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Tested before I left for work ...... 243 @ 1:10AM


AMPS = 244 @ 7:10AM

Fed/ate 1-1/2 cans FF after "AMPS"
Segregated from civvies until they are done eating.

RETESTED ------ 271 @ 8:00AM

1.25 units @ 8:35AM

I will test every damn hour during the day if I have to. Cannot be staying up so late anymore.....work schedule = get up NO LATER THAN 1:00AM !!!


Gave/ate PureBite Chicken treats after tests


290 @ 11:10AAM (+2.5)
256 @ 12:45PM (+4)
154 @ 2:35PM (+6)
98 @ 4:35PM (+8)

It's a GREEN :-D Crazy number day today....AGAIN. :roll: Good Numbers......but......WHY??? Yes....I always wonder WHY???? :roll: :lol:


71 @ 6:35PM (+10)

Long night ahead I think !!! ohmygod_smile

81 @ 8:00PM

WILL FEED 1-1/2 cans FF now & test again @ 8:30PM

138 @ 8:45PM

Number UP due to food I presume.

NO SHOT TONIGHT..

151 @ 9:30PM
189 @ 9:50PM

G'nite.....Will try to test before I leave for work....might not have time to post....all of you will be sleeping anyway. :YMSIGH: :YMSIGH:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top