RUMPELTEAZER 4-24-13 AMPS=346

Status
Not open for further replies.

misty1477

Member Since 2013
NOTE: Tested @ 1:30AM .... see ss and topic dated 4-23-13

AMPS = 346 @ 8:15AM

Gave/ate 1-1/2 cans FF after AMPS <<<<< Segregated from civvies until they are done eating >>>>>

1.25 units @ 8:30AM
 
Not a bad number for the middle of the night.

I think, once you get more test strips, you could fatten up your dose and get him into the greens. You've got about 50 points during the day leeway from his lowest tests, so I'm not sure I'd take it up to 1.5 units.
 
BJM said:
Not a bad number for the middle of the night.

I think, once you get more test strips, you could fatten up your dose and get him into the greens. You've got about 50 points during the day leeway from his lowest tests, so I'm not sure I'd take it up to 1.5 units.


I am thinking keeping at 1.25 unit in the AM and doing 1.25 unit in the PM. I am leery about going to 1.5 unit....when vet told me to do that back on 3-12-13, she went hypo the next day. see her ss.

Do you think I should stay @ 1.25 AM and 1.0 PM and try to test around 1:30AM for a few more days before we change anything? If I keep it this way, I won't do any changing until after the weekend....due to Saturday/Sunday work schedule.
 
I like your idea of raising the pm dose to 1.25. Ideally, that would lower the amps and bring down the daytime numbers too. Course, they seldom do "ideally" :mrgreen:
 
Sue and Oliver (GA) said:
I like your idea of raising the pm dose to 1.25. Ideally, that would lower the amps and bring down the daytime numbers too. Course, they seldom do "ideally" :mrgreen:


Silly SugarCats.....they just like to drive us crazy. :lol:

Should I try the 1.25 unit tonight? Since it is Wednesday already....I will only be able to do a test before I leave for work until Friday. Testing after PM shot on Saturday nights is definitely NOT something I can do.
 
If your schedule permits you to test in the middle of the night for the next few nights, I would think this would be the perfect time to try the new PM dose. But, I don't know too much about anything, so follow Sue or BJM's advice before mine.
 
Of course, "ideally", it would be best to check somewhere midcycle if you increase the dose, but we understand your work schedule is far from ideal. If possible, can you leave out some food and check sometime after the shot? When we look at the numbers, a tiny increase in the pm should be fine, but we all know that cats don't read their spreadsheets........

If there is a time when you have any more flexibility in testing/feeding overnight, that would be the best time to increase.

Please understand, as we are not vets and we are trying, to the best of our ability, help you with dosing, we are understandably nervous about increasing without testing. You have the syringe and have to decide what is best for Rumpel.
 
Sue and Oliver (GA) said:
Of course, "ideally", it would be best to check somewhere midcycle if you increase the dose, but we understand your work schedule is far from ideal. If possible, can you leave out some food and check sometime after the shot? When we look at the numbers, a tiny increase in the pm should be fine, but we all know that cats don't read their spreadsheets........

If there is a time when you have any more flexibility in testing/feeding overnight, that would be the best time to increase.

Please understand, as we are not vets and we are trying, to the best of our ability, help you with dosing, we are understandably nervous about increasing without testing. You have the syringe and have to decide what is best for Rumpel.


You make me LOL....they don't read their spreadsheets.....LOL. Wish they could test/feed/dose themselves like beans can....Now there is wish that can never come true. LOL LOL


If PM dose is at 8:00....then what would "midcycle" be???? I have been looking at info on the PZI board and some of the posts/topics are sooooo old. I have to start printing out all of the daily topics for her....I know I have info from others on them, but don't remember on what days. It would be easier for me to look through a print-out than try to search all of the daily topics.

If I leave out some food after PM shot....she will gobble it up IMMEDIATELY. The 1-1/2 cans FF she has been getting in the AM & PM are not enough for her appetite. When I leave her out of the powder room after the civvies are done eating, she looks all over for any 'crumbs' of food on the floor!!! :YMSIGH: :roll:

Here is my "schedule" for being able to do a test after PM shot:
Sunday Night into Monday Morning ---- between 1:30AM and 2:00AM
Monday Night into Tuesday Morning ---- between 1:30AM and 2:00AM
Tuesday Night into Wednesday Morning ---- between 1:30AM and 2:00AM
Wednesday Night into Thursday Morning ---- between 1:30AM and 2:00AM
Thursday Night into Friday Morning ---- between 1:30AM and 2:00AM
Friday Night into Saturday Morning ---- between 1:30AM and 2:00AM
Saturday Night into Sunday Morning ---- CANNOT DO THIS AT ALL

NOTE: The "between 1:30AM and 2:00AM" times listed above are only good if I get to sleep by 8:30PM (hardly happens any more) and I don't oversleep/not hear the alarm go off. When I finally get to bed, I sleep so deeply that many times I don't even hear the THREE alarms I have set at 15 minute intervals to wake me up. Ever since this RumpelT FD issue began, my sleep schedule is all messed up. I have been on the "get to bed by 7:00PM" schedule for almost 10 years and had no problem getting up on time. Now I don't get to bed until almost 9:00PM. Even if I do happen to doze off during the day for 45 minutes to 1 hour, it does not help.

I understand what you are saying about not testing if increasing. I am nervous about that myself. Although I have everything I need for a hypo episode, I do not want that to happen.....especially if numbers indicate one when I have to leave for work. I cannot "call-off" and stay home to take care of her if that happens + I have no one that could come to my house and deal with it while I am gone.

Jeepers Cats !!! It is almost noon, and I have not even started any of the urgent tasks I have to complete today!!! For starters.....I have to monitor my Betta fish....I believe he is having a health issue that I have to deal with. GOOD GRIEF !!!! Does the hoopla ever end???????? ohmygod_smile
 
Between 1:30 and 2Am is perfect - it falls in the 5-7 hours after the shot window. So any night you could manage that would be good data to have.

I don't have any brilliant ideas about the overnight feeding, but it would be helpful for her to have access to food about midcycle, just in case she went down low some night. An automatic feeder would keep her from gobbling it up before you wanted her to, but I don't know how to keep the other cats away unless you can isolate her at night.

Pets, kids - all the joys of motherhood. :mrgreen:
 
NOTE: Tested @ 1:30AM .... see ss and topic dated 4-23-13

AMPS = 346 @ 8:15AM

Gave/ate 1-1/2 cans FF after AMPS <<<<< Segregated from civvies until they are done eating >>>>>

1.25 units @ 8:30AM

166 @ 12:30PM (+4) Gave/ate PureBites Chicken treats after test.
 
Sue and Oliver (GA) said:
Between 1:30 and 2Am is perfect - it falls in the 5-7 hours after the shot window. So any night you could manage that would be good data to have.

I don't have any brilliant ideas about the overnight feeding, but it would be helpful for her to have access to food about midcycle, just in case she went down low some night. An automatic feeder would keep her from gobbling it up before you wanted her to, but I don't know how to keep the other cats away unless you can isolate her at night.

Pets, kids - all the joys of motherhood. :mrgreen:


Sue....IAM LOSING MY MIND TODAY <<<<< grabs hair and makes it look like crazy-woman >>>>>

I am in the middle of testing fish tank water & alarm goes off to test RumpelT. ohmygod_smile ohmygod_smile

The other cats would surely eat anything in an automatic feeder.....I would come home to 7 cats with major injuries....The phiranas would attack each other!!! :roll:

It is bad enough that RumpelT is segregated in the powder room during AM & PM feeding times....also for a short while late afternoon so civvies can have a quick bite to eat. I would not want to eat my food in a 'bathroom' that has a litter box in it....I feel bad for her.....as soon as she is done eating (in about 15 seconds) she cries to come out. I tried putting her in a cat carrier in the beginning, but she pooped/peeeed in it....was all over her...soooo that doesn't work. All rooms in my house except powder room & bathroom have wall-to-wall carpet....she would claw at carpet by door to get out....carpeting already has rips in some rooms from cat(s) being in room(s) with door closed. I don't know what to do with this craziness already!!!

As I type this, she is trying to rip open the bag of her chicken treats !!!!

Gotta go now....have to finish testing fish tank and looks like a water change is needed. Also, have to go on the Betta fish forum...my fishie looks like he has white stuff on his chin and has not been his usual self the past few days. Jeepers Fish !!!! :roll:

And...pregnant daughter has some kind of virus or something....waiting for her to call me back if needs ride to obgyn. Jeepers Kids !!! :roll:

Will check back here a little later. HAVE A GREAT DAY !!!! :roll: :YMSIGH:
 
NOTE: Tested @ 1:30AM .... see ss and topic dated 4-23-13

AMPS = 346 @ 8:15AM

Gave/ate 1-1/2 cans FF after AMPS <<<<< Segregated from civvies until they are done eating >>>>>

1.25 units @ 8:30AM

166 @ 12:30PM (+4) Gave/ate PureBites Chicken treats after test
413 @ 3:30PM (+7) Gave/ate PB Chicken treats after test. <<<<< Retested @ 3:35PM ----- 361 ----- WILL TEST AGAIN @ 5:30PM (+9) >>>>>
 
misty1477 said:
...my fishie looks like he has white stuff on his chin ...

Might be Ich
Treatment:

•Raise water temperature
•Medicate for 10-14 days
•Reduce medication when treating scaleless fish
•Discontinue carbon filtration during treatment
•Perform water changes between treatments

The entire cycle takes about two weeks from start to finish. Higher temps will shorten the cycle, while low temps lengthen it. Therefore, raising the water temp shortens the time it takes for the parasite to reach the stage in which it is susceptible to medication.

Treatments must be given for a long enough period to assure that all parasites are gone. Watch carefully for other infections, as secondary infections often occur where the skin has been damaged by the parasite.

Although nothing kills the parasite once it has checked into it's fish "hotel", several chemicals kill ich once it has left the fish. Malachite green, methylene blue, quinine hydrochloride, and mepracrine hydrochloride are all effective, and are available under several brand names.

Dose based on the package instructions, however cut dosages in half when treating scaleless catfish and tetras. Regardless of the medication used, treatment should be given continuously for 10-14 days to ensure all parasites are killed. Between treatments a partial water change is recommended. Keep water temperatures higher than usual to speed up the life cycle of the parasite. Discontinue carbon filtration during treatment, as it will remove the chemicals.
 
NOTE: Tested @ 1:30AM .... see ss and topic dated 4-23-13

AMPS = 346 @ 8:15AM

Gave/ate 1-1/2 cans FF after AMPS <<<<< Segregated from civvies until they are done eating >>>>>

1.25 units @ 8:30AM

166 @ 12:30PM (+4) Gave/ate PureBites Chicken treats after test
413 @ 3:30PM (+7) Gave/ate PB Chicken treats after test. <<<<< Retested @ 3:35PM ----- 361 ----- WILL TEST AGAIN @ 5:30PM (+9) >>>>>
236 @ 5:30PM (+9) Gave/ate PB Chicken treats after test <<<<< Here we go with goofy numbers today >>>>>
 
NOTE: Tested @ 1:30AM .... see ss and topic dated 4-23-13

AMPS = 346 @ 8:15AM

Gave/ate 1-1/2 cans FF after AMPS <<<<< Segregated from civvies until they are done eating >>>>>

1.25 units @ 8:30AM

166 @ 12:30PM (+4) Gave/ate PureBites Chicken treats after test
413 @ 3:30PM (+7) Gave/ate PB Chicken treats after test. <<<<< Retested @ 3:35PM ----- 361 ----- WILL TEST AGAIN @ 5:30PM (+9) >>>>>
236 @ 5:30PM (+9) Gave/ate PB Chicken treats after test <<<<< Here we go with goofy numbers today >>>>>

PMPS = 342 @ 7:50PM

Gave/ate 1-1/2 cans FF after PMPS <<<<< Segregated from civvies until they are done eating >>>>>

1.25 units @ 8:05PM

Will test between 1:30AM and 2:00AM .....hope number is okay.
 
Sue and Oliver (GA) said:
This is a pretty bizarre cycle, Misty. Looks like an inverse curve. Let's hold off on any increase till we see if there is a repeat.


ohmygod_smile ohmygod_smile Too late.....already shot 1.25 units. ohmygod_smile ohmygod_smile
 
It's okay. Sorry I wasn't around earlier. Strange cycle, looked inverse but usually we don't consider that unless we see more than one cycle. (by inverse, I mean the highest number was in the middle, instead of the lowest). Sometimes it can mean too much insulin, but we haven't seen anything else to suggest that in her previous cycles. Just weird. Can you think of anything that would explain it? No dry food?

So, if you can, get that test at 1:30 or 2. If she is low, you would need to feed her higher carb. I don't think she will be - just giving advice now since I won't be around then. We would expect it to be about the same as last night.
 
Sue and Oliver (GA) said:
It's okay. Sorry I wasn't around earlier. Strange cycle, looked inverse but usually we don't consider that unless we see more than one cycle. (by inverse, I mean the highest number was in the middle, instead of the lowest). Sometimes it can mean too much insulin, but we haven't seen anything else to suggest that in her previous cycles. Just weird. Can you think of anything that would explain it? No dry food?

So, if you can, get that test at 1:30 or 2. If she is low, you would need to feed her higher carb. I don't think she will be - just giving advice now since I won't be around then. We would expect it to be about the same as last night.


I will test between 1:30 and 2:00AM ..... I had better get by butt to bed like right now!!!! LOL

As far as I know, she did not have any dry food....unless she scarfed a couple pieces off the floor.

I won't shut my laptop down so it won't have to boot up later......so I can hopefully post the number after the test.


Later.
 
NOTE: Tested @ 1:30AM .... see ss and topic dated 4-23-13

AMPS = 346 @ 8:15AM

Gave/ate 1-1/2 cans FF after AMPS <<<<< Segregated from civvies until they are done eating >>>>>

1.25 units @ 8:30AM

166 @ 12:30PM (+4) Gave/ate PureBites Chicken treats after test
413 @ 3:30PM (+7) Gave/ate PB Chicken treats after test. <<<<< Retested @ 3:35PM ----- 361 ----- WILL TEST AGAIN @ 5:30PM (+9) >>>>>
236 @ 5:30PM (+9) Gave/ate PB Chicken treats after test <<<<< Here we go with goofy numbers today >>>>>

PMPS = 342 @ 7:50PM

Gave/ate 1-1/2 cans FF after PMPS <<<<< Segregated from civvies until they are done eating >>>>>

1.25 units @ 8:05PM

Will test between 1:30AM and 2:00AM .....hope number is okay.


266 @ 1:30AM
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top