RUMPELTEAZER-4-2-13 AMPS=409

Status
Not open for further replies.

misty1477

Member Since 2013
AMPS = 409 @ 7:30AM

Numbers looking goofy PMPS (4-1-13) + AMPS (4-2-13) ~O)
I know she wasn't into any food she wasn't supposed to have.

Ate approx. 2 cans FF for breakfast

Shot 0.75 units @ 7:45AM
 
Re: RUMPELTEAZER-4-2-13 AMPS=

Damn 400 :sad: Might be time to raise dose a little when you can be around to watch.
 
Re: RUMPELTEAZER-4-2-13 AMPS=

donnahc said:
Damn 400 :sad: Might be time to raise dose a little when you can be around to watch.

I hear ya donna. Since I already gave her 0.75 today, maybe I will try going back to 1.0 unit tomorrow. Well...I will have to wait and see how her numbers are first. I might test her at +2 and then every 2 hours or so today....just to see how she pans out.

I want the BLUE'S !!! ;-)
 
Re: RUMPELTEAZER-4-2-13 AMPS=

Remember - lots of things change glucose levels.

How's her mouth look? Tartar? Red gums (gingivitis)?
How's the urine output - lots of little piddles suggests something renal/bladder is going on. blood does, too.
Eyes/nose - any mucus/goo?
Any chance she got contraband? Bread, kibble, etc?
How active has she been?

Her body is more accustomed to the insulin now, so maybe 1 unit will work this time.
 
Re: RUMPELTEAZER-4-2-13 AMPS=

BJM said:
Remember - lots of things change glucose levels.

How's her mouth look? Tartar? Red gums (gingivitis)? Everything looks great. Teeth were checked by vet during physical at end of February
How's the urine output - lots of little piddles suggests something renal/bladder is going on. blood does, too. Urine output is large...after I post this, I am off to the store for more litter :roll: No blood at all.
Eyes/nose - any mucus/goo? RumpelT and her brother always had what I call "goopies" from their eyes. They were feral kittens when I got them 7 years ago. Nothing from nose.
Any chance she got contraband? Bread, kibble, etc? Unless she figured out how to open the fridge, no contraband this time.
How active has she been? Just her usual feed-me/let me wash my face/drink some water/peee/poop/ahhh...now I can lounge for a few hours self :lol:

Her body is more accustomed to the insulin now, so maybe 1 unit will work this time. Maybe will try it tomorrow. See how things go.
 
Re: RUMPELTEAZER-4-2-13 AMPS=

AMPS = 409 @ 7:30AM

Numbers looking goofy PMPS (4-1-13) + AMPS (4-2-13) ~O)
I know she wasn't into any food she wasn't supposed to have.

Ate approx. 2 cans FF for breakfast

Shot 0.75 units @ 7:45AM

366 @ 9:45AM (+2) Did not give her a treat after test.
 
Re: RUMPELTEAZER-4-2-13 AMPS=

Chronically goopy eyes can be feline herpes virus. Lysine added to the diet may help with that, or you can pick up lysine chews. My cats thought Vetri-lysine was fantastic and if I crumble it over food, the food is scarfed! Its available on Amazon if you want to try that.
 
Re: RUMPELTEAZER-4-2-13 AMPS= 409

BJM said:
Chronically goopy eyes can be feline herpes virus. Lysine added to the diet may help with that, or you can pick up lysine chews. My cats thought Vetri-lysine was fantastic and if I crumble it over food, the food is scarfed! Its available on Amazon if you want to try that.


I will add it to my shopping list and give it a try. Hmmmm....they have been going to my vet since I got them as feral kittens AND the b**** (sorry) never said anything about that. I always mentioned the 'goopies' so she wouldn't think that I was not taking care of them or something....she never said anything about them being an issue. angry(2)_cat angry(2)_cat

There is a local vet that everyone is crazy about....my daughter keeps telling me I should take my kittehs to him. But....he is an older gentleman (but very up-to-date on things).....and since I have a habit of 'jinxing' things....I am afraid that as soon as I get all set up with him.....he will RETIRE !!!! That would be my luck. :roll:
 
Feline herpes is a virus which many cats carry all the time. Some cats will have chronically goopy eyes, some will have no syptoms, and some will have symptoms when under some sort of stress.

from The Merck Veterinary Manual
Oral supplementation in cats with 250–500 mg of l-lysine daily may reduce the severity and frequency of recurrence of FHV-1 conjunctivitis and keratitis.

The l-lysine, aka lysine, may be purchased as a powder and sprinkled on food. It is an amino acid, ie protein building block. Keep to the recommended amounts; too much isn't helpful either.
 
AMPS = 409 @ 7:30AM

Numbers looking goofy PMPS (4-1-13) + AMPS (4-2-13) ~O)
I know she wasn't into any food she wasn't supposed to have.

Ate approx. 2 cans FF for breakfast

Shot 0.75 units @ 7:45AM

366 @ 9:45AM (+2) Did not give her a treat after test.
286 @ 12:45PM (+5) Ate 2 tsp FF as treat after test
 
BJM said:
Feline herpes is a virus which many cats carry all the time. Some cats will have chronically goopy eyes, some will have no syptoms, and some will have symptoms when under some sort of stress.

from The Merck Veterinary Manual
Oral supplementation in cats with 250–500 mg of l-lysine daily may reduce the severity and frequency of recurrence of FHV-1 conjunctivitis and keratitis.

The l-lysine, aka lysine, may be purchased as a powder and sprinkled on food. It is an amino acid, ie protein building block. Keep to the recommended amounts; too much isn't helpful either.

Thanks for the info. :-D
 
AMPS = 409 @ 7:30AM

Numbers looking goofy PMPS (4-1-13) + AMPS (4-2-13) ~O)
I know she wasn't into any food she wasn't supposed to have.

Ate approx. 2 cans FF for breakfast

Shot 0.75 units @ 7:45AM

366 @ 9:45AM (+2) Did not give her a treat after test.
286 @ 12:45PM (+5) Ate 2 tsp FF as treat after test
487 @ 2:45PM (+7) Ate 2 tsp (1/2 can) FF as treat after test
 
AMPS = 409 @ 7:30AM

Numbers looking goofy PMPS (4-1-13) + AMPS (4-2-13) ~O)
I know she wasn't into any food she wasn't supposed to have.

Ate approx. 2 cans FF for breakfast

Shot 0.75 units @ 7:45AM

366 @ 9:45AM (+2) Did not give her a treat after test.
286 @ 12:45PM (+5) Ate 2 tsp FF as treat after test
487 @ 2:45PM (+7) Ate 2 tsp (1/2 can) FF as treat after test
369 @ 4:45PM (+9) Did not give treat after test....too close to PMPS
 
Three possibilities:

Her body is settling into the dose and it does need to increase.
Maybe, the dose needs to decrease.
Or, there's a very remote chance her body is starting to fight the insulin (IAA).
 
The numbers are weird. Not an inverse curve but higher number in the middle and lower pmps.

I guess I would try an increase to one unit when you will be there during the day. And if the numbers continue to be wonky, I'd consider a decrease.
 
AMPS = 409 @ 7:30AM

Numbers looking goofy PMPS (4-1-13) + AMPS (4-2-13) ~O)
I know she wasn't into any food she wasn't supposed to have.

Ate approx. 2 cans FF for breakfast

Shot 0.75 units @ 7:45AM

366 @ 9:45AM (+2) Did not give her a treat after test.
286 @ 12:45PM (+5) Ate 2 tsp FF as treat after test
487 @ 2:45PM (+7) Ate 2 tsp (1/2 can) FF as treat after test
389 @ 4:45PM (+9) Did not give treat after test....too close to PMPS

PMPS = 369 @ 7:15PM
 
BJM said:
Three possibilities:

Her body is settling into the dose and it does need to increase.
Maybe, the dose needs to decrease.
Or, there's a very remote chance her body is starting to fight the insulin (IAA).

I have to research what you mean by IAA.

I will feed now & dose 0.75 units. Will try 1.0 unit if AMPS look okay tomorrow.
 
Carl & Bob said:
http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=12&t=375

If you scroll about halfway down the page, there's a section on IAA there.

I'm wondering if the half can at +5 raised the BG at +7? If you keep seeing this pattern, maybe downsize that testing treat?


I will check out the topic.

The half-can is almost like the "2 tsp" I have been giving her as treat after test. When I do a "tsp".....I don't 'level-it-off'....you could say it is more like a heaping tsp.
 
AMPS = 409 @ 7:30AM

Numbers looking goofy PMPS (4-1-13) + AMPS (4-2-13) ~O)
I know she wasn't into any food she wasn't supposed to have.

Ate approx. 2 cans FF for breakfast

Shot 0.75 units @ 7:45AM

366 @ 9:45AM (+2) Did not give her a treat after test.
286 @ 12:45PM (+5) Ate 2 tsp FF as treat after test
487 @ 2:45PM (+7) Ate 2 tsp (1/2 can) FF as treat after test
389 @ 4:45PM (+9) Did not give treat after test....too close to PMPS

PMPS = 369 @ 7:15PM

Did not shoot yet......She was not as ravenous with eating like she has been.....only ate about 1 can FF instead of 2 or 2-1/2. And didn't really scoff it down real fast.
 
Shot 0.75 units @ 8:00PM

Ate 1/4 to 1/2 can more FF a little after 8:00PM. Was not eating "wildly" like usual tonight.

Wondering if I should try 1.0 units tomorrow. I will be able to watch her and test her throughout the day.
 
If you're gonna be around to test, I'm thinking it's a good idea to raise to 1u. Just my 2 cents :-D
Have a good night Misty!

peace....
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top