RUMPELTEAZER 4-10-13 AMPS = 383

Status
Not open for further replies.

misty1477

Member Since 2013
AMPS = 383 @ 7:30AM

Gave/ate 1 can FF for breakfast after AMPS.

Trying to decide if I should try 1.25 units today. :YMSIGH: Have to make decision before 8:00AM.
 
Good luck. In theory, she should be fine. But just to be sure (and because she's a cat and they don't do theory) get a +2 or 3 to see how she is headed.
 
Sue and Oliver (GA) said:
Good luck. In theory, she should be fine. But just to be sure (and because she's a cat and they don't do theory) get a +2 or 3 to see how she is headed.


I will be doing +2-+4-+6-+8 just like have been over the past week or so.
 
AMPS = 383 @ 7:30AM

Gave/ate 1 can FF for breakfast after AMPS.

Trying to decide if I should try 1.25 units today. :YMSIGH: Have to make decision before 8:00AM. TRYING 1.25 UNITS TODAY.

1.25 units @ 8:15AM

279 @ 10:15AM (+2) Gave/ate 1 PureBites Chicken treat after test.
 
AMPS = 383 @ 7:30AM

Gave/ate 1 can FF for breakfast after AMPS.

Trying to decide if I should try 1.25 units today. :YMSIGH: Have to make decision before 8:00AM. TRYING 1.25 UNITS TODAY.

1.25 units @ 8:15AM

279 @ 10:15AM (+2) Gave/ate 1 PureBites Chicken treat after test.
174 @ 12:15PM (+4) Gave/ate 1 PureBites Chicken treat after test.
 
Sue and Oliver (GA) said:
Looking good. The lower numbers seem a little scary when you've gotten used to higher ones, but anything over 50 is great.


Yes, Sue, they are scary nailbite_smile I am getting nervous. I hope just giving her one of the chicken treats will be okay....I don't want to "change" too many things at one time (unless I absolutely have to), so I can get an idea of exactly what is "working". Ya know what I mean?

I don't need a hypo today....just got done with federal income taxes..... ohmygod_smile you DON'T want to know!!! nailbite_smile ohmygod_smile
 
If she drops 100 points in the next 2 hours, she would be in the 70s at nadir. That would be lovely. But if the numbers under 100 make you nervous, give her a tablespoon of the regular low carb. It won't mess up her numbers - might just level her off or bring her up a little bit.
 
Sue and Oliver (GA) said:
If she drops 100 points in the next 2 hours, she would be in the 70s at nadir. That would be lovely. But if the numbers under 100 make you nervous, give her a tablespoon of the regular low carb. It won't mess up her numbers - might just level her off or bring her up a little bit.


I am keeping my fingers & toes crossed that maybe this 1.25 unit is the right dose for her....It is the only one we haven't tried yet.

Will do. In any case...I AM ready if she hypo's....I have everything I need.
 
AMPS = 383 @ 7:30AM

Gave/ate 1 can FF for breakfast after AMPS.

Trying to decide if I should try 1.25 units today. :YMSIGH: Have to make decision before 8:00AM. TRYING 1.25 UNITS TODAY.

1.25 units @ 8:15AM

279 @ 10:15AM (+2) Gave/ate 1 PureBites Chicken treat after test.
174 @ 12:15PM (+4) Gave/ate 1 PureBites Chicken treat after test.
149 @ 2:15PM (+6) Gave/ate 2 PureBites Chicken treats after test. She WANTS foooooood !!! :roll:
 
AMPS = 383 @ 7:30AM

Gave/ate 1 can FF for breakfast after AMPS.

Trying to decide if I should try 1.25 units today. :YMSIGH: Have to make decision before 8:00AM. TRYING 1.25 UNITS TODAY.

1.25 units @ 8:15AM

279 @ 10:15AM (+2) Gave/ate 1 PureBites Chicken treat after test.
174 @ 12:15PM (+4) Gave/ate 1 PureBites Chicken treat after test.
149 @ 2:15PM (+6) Gave/ate 2 PureBites Chicken treats after test. She WANTS foooooood !!! :roll:
165 @ 4:15PM (+8) Gave/ate 2 PureBites Chicken treats after test.
 
Still B L U E

Part of that may be feeding, so lets make sure she is getting enough calories doing this.

How much does Rumpleteaser weigh and is she at her optimal weight?

Required calories per day = [13.6 X optimal lean body weight in pounds] + 70
(per Cat Info - Obesity
 
BJM said:
Still B L U E

Part of that may be feeding, so lets make sure she is getting enough calories doing this.

How much does Rumpleteaser weigh and is she at her optimal weight?

Required calories per day = [13.6 X optimal lean body weight in pounds] + 70
(per Cat Info - Obesity



Having major thunderstorm....FYI...in case I lose my internet.

Isn't B L U E a good thing?

She weighs 12.5 pounds. Has been at that weight since first diagnosed at end of February 2013. Vet had no problem with 'poundage'.

Oh Yeah.....she does have "doolap" :lol:
 
Blue is terrific! I just want to make sure it was achieved from insulin, not just food reduction.

You were feeding her teaspoons of food after testing before, plus a full can or more morning and evening, and it adds up. A calorie reduction will show up as less glucose too.

Approximately (12.5 * 13.6) + 70 = 240 calories per day. For an unregulated diabetic, add maybe 50% to that, as not all the calories are being used.

Now check the food's calorie content to see if she's getting enough food.
 
BJM said:
Blue is terrific! I just want to make sure it was achieved from insulin, not just food reduction.

You were feeding her teaspoons of food after testing before, plus a full can or more morning and evening, and it adds up. A calorie reduction will show up as less glucose too.

Approximately (12.5 * 13.6) + 70 = 240 calories per day. For an unregulated diabetic, add maybe 50% to that, as not all the calories are being used.

Now check the food's calorie content to see if she's getting enough food.


I will check....it is crazy here....bad storm...listening to scanner....trees down....bad lightning.....kittehs don't like thunder storms.
 
White noise may help - a fan, an air cleaner - basically anything with a monotonous drone to cover/mask the storm sounds.
 
BJM said:
White noise may help - a fan, an air cleaner - basically anything with a monotonous drone to cover/mask the storm sounds.


They don't really run & hide...they just kind of get "on point" and look all around. My kittehs actually "GROWL" when the UPS truck goes by my house :lol:

Gonna be real fun delivering papers overnight.....I can hear on scanner about all the wires & trees down....roads closed. I have been through this many times....they will not have all roads clear by the time I am out & about.
 
AMPS = 383 @ 7:30AM

Gave/ate 1 can FF for breakfast after AMPS.

Trying to decide if I should try 1.25 units today. :YMSIGH: Have to make decision before 8:00AM. TRYING 1.25 UNITS TODAY.

1.25 units @ 8:15AM

279 @ 10:15AM (+2) Gave/ate 1 PureBites Chicken treat after test.
174 @ 12:15PM (+4) Gave/ate 1 PureBites Chicken treat after test.
149 @ 2:15PM (+6) Gave/ate 2 PureBites Chicken treats after test. She WANTS foooooood !!! :roll:
165 @ 4:15PM (+8) Gave/ate 2 PureBites Chicken treats after test.

PMPS = 233 @ 7:00PM Ate +/- 2 cans FF after PMPS

Hmmmmm.....have to check my notes to figure PM shot after today's test.
 
The PureBite Chicken treats she has been eating after testing are ONLY 1 calorie EACH !!! ohmygod_smile

FF she eats ranges from 80 to 94 calories per can.

Did only having the treats today along with higher dose (1.25 units) give her all the blue numbers????

It is now 8:00PM and I am not sure if I should drop back to 1.0 unit or stay with 1.25. I have to get to sleep soon.

I have been reading over my notes and looking at her ss. I became confused......with my schedule, this time of day is not good for analyzing/comprehending/etc. .... brain is tired. @-) @-)

Suggestions?????
 
Shooting 1.0 unit @ 8:15PM

Don't know what else to do.....afraid of hypo issue......can't have that overnight. Brain is tired.....was long brain-usage-day for me today.
 
I think one unit is good. Maybe we can think about one unit in the 200+ range and 1.25 in the 350+ range and see how that works for awhile.

Great numbers today!
 
Sue and Oliver (GA) said:
I think one unit is good. Maybe we can think about one unit in the 200+ range and 1.25 in the 350+ range and see how that works for awhile.

Great numbers today!


Put your info in my notes. Thanks Sue.

G'night . <Yawns>
 
It was probably a combo of the insulin increase AND less food in the morning and throught the day.
As many cats go lower overnight, going with 1 unit makes sense. Just note that you gave 2 cans of food, not 1 as you did this morning.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top