RUMPELTEAZER - 3-18-13

Status
Not open for further replies.

misty1477

Member Since 2013
Morning All..... <YAWNS>

Left some FF out fast night...from what I could tell....NONE was eaten.

NO food yet today...waiting until after 2 tests. <<<<Prays....Please God, make this a good day. Thank You>>>>


FIRST test today ----- 461 @ 7:25AM

Waiting 20 minutes (till 7:45AM) to do SECOND test.
 
BJM said:
I'm up ... barely


HA HA....I am ready to go to sleep. BUT....I have way too much to do today.

Go get a coffee for yourself....I will be doing second test in a couple minutes and then I WILL BE BACK !!!! :lol:
 
449 @ 7:45AM

Question: Why did she 'drop' within the 20 minutes?

I wish I could understand all this up - down - up - down stuff better. Maybe I am over-analyzing things (that is my nature though), but I just NEED to know EVERYTHING about EVERYTHING !!!! :roll:
 
Have to restock the FF today.

I have read the food list here, but questions:

I read somewhere (can't find it now) that FISH flavors not good every day. Why not?

Since I will most likely be using FF, which "flavors" and "types" are the best. Seems like RumpelT will chomp down anything, but my other kittehs seem to be fussy. I still have 3 of them that will not eat wet food. :roll:

Those little cans are driving me crazy....can't get them opened fast enough. We should tell FF company to make bigger cans for our sugarcats. :lol:

If I opt for Friskies, which "flavors" and "types" are best?

ONE of the ZILLION things on my to-do list today is to call the local "Emergency Vet Clinic" and see if they can recommend/know-of a vet that kind of "specializes" in FD. Would just like to know what they say.
 
Those numbers are within 20% of each other, so not different.
Ex 400 -> 320 to 480

Should be safe to shoot 1 drop, maybe 0.25. She didn't go too low on that. If you'll be around, go with the 0.25
 
Misty,
Sounds like you are in the same boat I am with Xuxu. 1 drop can make a difference. Xuxu does drop immediately on the PZI, there doesn't seem to be any lag time like with the Lantus or Levemir. So I have to be really careful to not overdose.

Do you have Rumpelteazer on Mirtazapine? It's a wonderful drug for cats, starts their appetite within 15 minutes. and it's better than IV Valium since it doesn't run out in 30 min. It's expensive, but you only give 1/4 pill every 2-3 days, so 10 pills can last a long time. I've found that for Xuxu, 1/4 pill can start his appetite when it lags and he continues to eat for as much as a week after. So after 2 months, I'm still on his first 10 pill script.
 
DebH said:
Misty,
Sounds like you are in the same boat I am with Xuxu. 1 drop can make a difference. Xuxu does drop immediately on the PZI, there doesn't seem to be any lag time like with the Lantus or Levemir. So I have to be really careful to not overdose.

Do you have Rumpelteazer on Mirtazapine? It's a wonderful drug for cats, starts their appetite within 15 minutes. and it's better than IV Valium since it doesn't run out in 30 min. It's expensive, but you only give 1/4 pill every 2-3 days, so 10 pills can last a long time. I've found that for Xuxu, 1/4 pill can start his appetite when it lags and he continues to eat for as much as a week after. So after 2 months, I'm still on his first 10 pill script.

Hi Deb....

I have been looking at XuXu's info.....Jeepers Cats !!!! I thought I was having issues with RumpelT.

She does not have any problem eating....she has her head in the can as I am putting food in bowl + she chomps hers down and then goes over to the other kittehs' bowls and starts to eat their food. :roll:

I am just trying to get the right dose of ProZinc in her. I have a really screwed up work schedule....if you read my other posts....you will see how it is.

Also, my vet (hopefully soon to be "NOT my vet") first dosed 1 unit Prozinc....then upped it to 1.5 units.... Check Out RumpelT's SS.....What A Nightmare !!!!

Gotta check my posts....waiting for BJM to advise me after 2 tests before food today. CATS ARE READY TO OPEN THE FRIDGE BY THEMSELVES AND GET SOMETHING TO EAT !!!! :lol: :lol:
 
BJM said:
Those numbers are within 20% of each other, so not different.
Ex 400 -> 320 to 480

Should be safe to shoot 1 drop, maybe 0.25. She didn't go too low on that. If you'll be around, go with the 0.25

I will try .25 Only have to run to store for food...then I will be home all day.

Thanks. You are awesome! AND so is EVERYONE else here. :smile:
 
Good morning all. Misty, will you be around to get a +2 and +6? If so, I'm with BJ on 2 drops.

Friskies makes the big cans. Stick with the pates. Fish has mercury so they suggest not feeding more than once a week or so.
 
Today, you might do a mini-curve and test every 3 hours. This will give you an idea of how she does on the 0.25 units across the full 12 hour period.

When I get to the office, I'll put it in Excel and graph it.
 
BJM said:
Today, you might do a mini-curve and test every 3 hours. This will give you an idea of how she does on the 0.25 units across the full 12 hour period.

When I get to the office, I'll put it in Excel and graph it.


I can test test every 3 hours today. Shot was at 8:35AM .... so....

11:35

2:35

5:35

8:35 ===== Oh no.....another mini-sleep for me. Wish I better work hours....like 6 to 6 .... never happen in my lifetime :roll: :YMSIGH:
 
Sue and Oliver (GA) said:
I like to see +2 also, BJ. That is when she plunged before. I don't think she will do that, but we'd want to catch it early.


What the heck....her ear bleeds real good now :-D I can do a +2. No problem. Just call me the "Pokester" :lol: :lol:
 
She's had a few days to recover from those hypos and we've really cut the dose due to her new sensitivity. Its a UFO - You'll Find Out!

If you're up for +2, +4, +6... great.
 
BJM said:
She's had a few days to recover from those hypos and we've really cut the dose due to her new sensitivity. Its a UFO - You'll Find Out!

If you're up for +2, +4, +6... great.


Hmmmm....since she had her AM shot at 8:35....then her 12-hour shot would be 8:35PM....Correct? ohmygod_smile Off schedule again ohmygod_smile
 
I wouldn't worry about that yet. She may surf longer than 12 hours. Remember my thing about chasing the numbers. It could be that this cycle will be longer than 12 hours and the pmps won't be up to 200.

Or she could be contrary and not do that... After all, she IS a cat. :mrgreen:
 
Sue and Oliver (GA) said:
I wouldn't worry about that yet. She may surf longer than 12 hours. Remember my thing about chasing the numbers. It could be that this cycle will be longer than 12 hours and the pmps won't be up to 200.

Or she could be contrary and not do that... After all, she IS a cat. :mrgreen:


Oh Yeah.....she IS a cat !!!!! :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: cat_pet_icon cat_pet_icon cat_pet_icon

Okay... I will start out at +2 and we shall take it from there. Where is the "fur-mom is going crazy" icon???? :lol:
 
That's a 50% drop. She is still in nice safe numbers, but that is a steep drop for +2 I am glad you will be around to get a +4.

Hopefully she stays in nice safe numbers today while generally coming down. The info you get today will really help us decide how many drops :mrgreen: do what to her numbers.
 
About 108 points per hour drop at +2, starting at mid 400s, dosing 0.25 units.
 
Its the 20% thing

498.0 -> low est = 398.4 hi est = 597.6
378.0 -> low est = 302.4 hi est = 453.6

See how the high estimate of the low number (453.6) is greater than the low estimate of the high number (398.4)? That means the ranges for the tests overlap and indicate they are approximately the same number.
 
BJM said:
Its the 20% thing

498.0 -> low est = 398.4 hi est = 597.6
378.0 -> low est = 302.4 hi est = 453.6

See how the high estimate of the low number (453.6) is greater than the low estimate of the high number (398.4)? That means the ranges for the tests overlap and indicate they are approximately the same number.

Hate that "20% thing" :roll:

Why is she going UP already? Shouldn't this time frame be 'nadir' ?
 
ECID - each cat is different

The duration may get longer with a slightly higher dose, say 2 drops (you mentioned 3 drops per 0.5 units), which may be safe for tonight's shot as long as she keeps going up.
 
Silly Kittehs. :smile:

I see what you are saying. I think I understand .... YAY .... I think. :roll:

I will test again @ +8 That should be 5:35PM

+12 will be 8:35PM. Arghhh....why always so late? :sad:
 
We're still trying to get her leveled out.

That said, if you need to shift the times earlier, do so by 5 minutes per shot, with no more than 10 minutes change in a day, because right now she is really sensitive to the insulin. Once she is stable the changes may be done in 15 minute intervals.

And know that shooting early is like a dose increase and shooting later is like a dose decrease.
 
What would you like to do tonight - shoot earlier OR slightly increase the dose?

Can you eyeball between 0.25 and 0.5, or pull up 0.5 and discharge 2 drops? (using 3 drops per 0.5 units)?
 
BJM said:
What would you like to do tonight - shoot earlier OR slightly increase the dose?

Can you eyeball between 0.25 and 0.5, or pull up 0.5 and discharge 2 drops? (using 3 drops per 0.5 units)?


Shall I test her now & then decide what to do?

I tested her at 8:15PM 387
I can eyeball between .25 and .5 .... it hardly looks like any difference.....but I can do it.

They all want to eat .... like.... NOW !!! :roll:
 
HMMMMMM.....am I correct on this conclusion????

<<<<Based on the "20% thing".....she has stayed level all afternoon/evening? >>>>>

But.....is it a too HIGH of a level????

Gotta feed them real soon !!!!! :roll:
 
BJM said:
What would you like to do tonight - shoot earlier OR slightly increase the dose?

Can you eyeball between 0.25 and 0.5, or pull up 0.5 and discharge 2 drops? (using 3 drops per 0.5 units)?

No one is here and it is getting late for her shot. I am going to do 1 drop. last night her numbers were close to todays at PMPS and she did okay. So that is what I will do.
 
This gets you back on your schedule? Let's see what BJ thinks, but I am thinking 1 drop.
I am wondering if the higher numbers in the end of the cycle are a bounce from the blue at the beginning? And I am a little nervous because you won't be around tonight.

BJ, do you think one or two?
 
That is good for now, letting her get a bit more stable.

The glucose numbers do need to come down lower, though. Normal glucose is between 40 - 120 in a non-diabetic cat. We'd like the glucose below the renal threshold of about 240 as much as possible. There's a ways to go to accomplish that.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top