? Rukia AMPS 518 | +6 270 | +10 342

Auora

Member Since 2019
A little worried because even though we keep upping the dose, Ruki went back to black numbers. There's nothing she could have gotten into during the night. Curious as to why. Is this a bounce? Or cause for concern?

Was hoping to start seeing some progress since she's finally seen a few blues. I'm wondering if it's safe to go to 4.25U? And, how much insulin is too much? Just looking around at a few other's SS, it seems like most other cats don't need anywhere near this much :-/ Thanks in advance.

Previous Post
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...-18-6-335-pmps-24-5-441-advice-needed.212520/
 
I think Riki might be bouncing. On the evening of the 4/4 you tested at +3 and she dropped from 24.3 to 18.5. You didn't test after that and she could well have dropped lower and be bouncing from that. Bounces can last for up to 6 cycles. If you see a lower number like that, try and get another test in to see how low she goes, and to check she is still in safe numbers.In the previous couple of days she was starting to get some nice blue nadirs.
I would wait another couple of cycles before increasing to see if she comes off the bounce. See what others think.
Some cats need more insulin than others.

.
 
Thanks will do. I usually try to get 2 tests in between shots but I've got a bit of a crazy schedule. She actually dropped down to 7.7 tonight, just checked her now at +5. I was going to go to bed but looks like I'll be staying up a little while just to make sure she starts heading up again. Fed her 1/2 can of FF so hopefully that'll help.
 
Bumping - her AMPS and PMPS the past day have been a bit lower. I think she may be coming off the bounce. How soon can I tell? And how soon would you increase after a bounce?

I'm starting to get a little concerned for her. She was normally such a calm and content cat, but now she cries so often. I'm not sure if she's just crying for food or there's something else wrong. When I hear her cry, I call her into the room and she comes in and stops for a bit - but stays unsettled and goes back into the kitchen or somewhere else @@. I feel like this has changed her personality so much. :(
 
Can you update your SS so we can see what is happening with the numbers please?. If she is bouncing you will know when she comes off the bounce as she will come down to probably blue numbers as she was in them for a short time a couple of days ago. If she is still high after 6 cycles (after the blue numbers) I would increase the dose.
Have you decided what method you are following TR or SLGS ?
She is probably crying because she is hungry. Cats that are in high numbers like Rukia can’t utilise the nutrients in the food and need extra food until they come down into more normal numbers. If she is not overweight I would let her eat when she is hungry.
Are you testing regularly for ketones?
On this Lantus forum we start a new thread each day so you might like to post a new thread next time.
Keep asking questions.
 
It is perfectly fine to increase the dose during a bounce. You just don’t want to increase on the same cycle they break the bounce, as that cycle can have extra downward momentum, making for exciting times.

You comment about crying, has she had bloodwork done recently? How are her thyroid and kidney numbers?
 
Can you update your SS so we can see what is happening with the numbers please?. If she is bouncing you will know when she comes off the bounce as she will come down to probably blue numbers as she was in them for a short time a couple of days ago. If she is still high after 6 cycles (after the blue numbers) I would increase the dose.
Have you decided what method you are following TR or SLGS ?
She is probably crying because she is hungry. Cats that are in high numbers like Rukia can’t utilise the nutrients in the food and need extra food until they come down into more normal numbers. If she is not overweight I would let her eat when she is hungry.
Are you testing regularly for ketones?
On this Lantus forum we start a new thread each day so you might like to post a new thread next time.
Keep asking questions.

Updated. I had wanted to follow the TR method but was unsure about what to do during a bounce, if it's still okay to increase or not. I've been giving her more food, but not every time she's acting hungry, because she ALWAYS acts hungry. If I let her eat anytime she cries her stomach would burst at the seams, or she'd throw up from overeating. She's not an overweight cat - small. I don't think her stomach can hold that much. Ketones haven't been showing up on the strips, so I think that's okay. I try to test it every 2nd day or so.

Could I ask why you start a new thread each day here? I've noticed that, and it seems to make things....crowded, to me. Is making a new thread each time really necessary? Posts seem to get lost rather quickly when so many people are making a new one each day. Just a curious thing.

It is perfectly fine to increase the dose during a bounce. You just don’t want to increase on the same cycle they break the bounce, as that cycle can have extra downward momentum, making for exciting times.

You comment about crying, has she had bloodwork done recently? How are her thyroid and kidney numbers?

She hasn't had any blood work since she was diagnosed, which was at the beginning of Feb. I put a link to her labs in her spreadsheet. How often would you recommend to get that kind of stuff done?
 
I got bloodwork done every six months. Sooner if something came up.

Starting a new thread is a better way to get people to notice you. People respond to new posts, not so much to old ones. It’s a convention we have gotten used to here.
 
Back
Top