Rudy - Taking a Break

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jen1218

Member Since 2017
After much thought - Rudy and I will be taking a break from FDMB for a little while. We'll still continue to test and update the ss, but we won't be posting or reading updates.

It's too hard to come on here every day and feel so rotten that other cats diagnosed after Rudy are doing so much better than he is. (No offense to the cats or their beans. More power to both of you for doing so well.) I just can't help but be upset that it's not him. That's not good for anyone.

So rather than put myself through this - we're off for now.

Peace, love and safe surfing.

Jen & Rudy

Last update
 
Last edited:
:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:

We'll be thinking of you. I hope you'll periodically update us. Rudy is still a fairly newly diagnosed diabetic and has come a long way down from his high of 5 units. You are doing a fabulous job with him Jen. Some cats are just bouncy, I know how that feels. I also know how it feels when other kitties are going OTJ to the left and right of you. We aren't all dealt the same hand. What helped me was to focus on my cat, and how much better she was feeling and doing than when I started the FD journey and what I had learned to help her.

Scritches to Rudy.
 
Jen,
First, you and I don't "know" each other, so I hope you aren't offended in any way that I'm piping in here ;) But know this, know that we are only given what we can handle. I just took a quick look at your spreadsheet and you should take comfort in knowing that Rudy isn't in that "all pink, all the time" ;) phase. You've done that. You should be very proud, yet I'm sorry you're feeling discouraged.
Trust me when I say "we've all been there". We understand.
I think what I really wanted to emphasize is that Rudy is with you, is doing well (yes?) and the two of you are a team handing the diabetes. Going OTJ is a lovely thing, BUT, it can't be the goal. The goal has to be quality of life for you both. So if taking a break gives you a "breather", do it. But as Wendy mentioned, keep up with his spreadsheet (this coming from someone who has not . . . yes, pot? Meet kettle . . . heehee)
You've got this, and you're doing great. That I DO know!
Mwah!!
Darcy and Lebowski
 
Hang in there! I'm new and sometimes find the whole process daunting at times as well. It's hard overall and remembering to post when working full time and having a busy life when I get home. Just know we all "get it". Hope to see you back soon! I was having a pity party all week as well, Aurora had what I suspected to be an ear infection which drove up her numbers due to a steroid in the ear drops and I was completely frustrated seeing higher than usual numbers. I think we all feel how you do at some point in this sugar dance.
 
I think you are doing great, remember all cats are different some take longer and some may never be OTJ but they are okay and that's what matters

I can tell you that 4 months after diagnosed Babu's numbers didn't looked half as good as Rudy's
 
Take all the time you need. I hope you will come back and give us an update every now and then. Rudy is doing much better because of your loving care. Sending prayers.
:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
:bighug:

I understand completely, take a break but please come back:). You are doing great and you are making progress as slow as it seems. :bighug:
 
Rudy and Yum joined the dance at about the same time and they tracked the same numbers until 2.75 units. Then Rudy charged ahead (bouncing) and Yum got stuck (but not bouncing). I was jealous of Rudy's reductions. But not the bouncing. I am using TR and an alphatrak meter (which measures higher than a human meter). Those 2 differences have made Yum's dose decreases much more conservative than yours. I have to wonder if I had been taking SLGS reductions like you at nadirs below 90 (maybe 120 or 130 or higher on an alphatrak)---would she be bouncing too? I wonder if TR would help Rudy stop bouncing. I am not an expert, but I have been watching Rudy's chart. I also think it's important to remove carbs before +6. I am sorry you are so frustrated. Take care of yourself and that cute Rudy.
 
I completely understand what you mean. My vet steered me wrong in the beginning 5 months ago and my Martini has been all over the place despite my best efforts. It is frustrating and challenging to feel joy for the kitties with better numbers quicker but they surely deserve it and I am happy for them. Martini may never go back to OTJ but I'll continue also to help her as much as I can. People here are wonderful, helpful and understanding and most of all knowledgeable for which I am extremely grateful. All the best to you with Rudy, you are not alone in your frustration believe me.
 
Hang in there! I'm new and sometimes find the whole process daunting at times as well. It's hard overall and remembering to post when working full time and having a busy life when I get home. Just know we all "get it". Hope to see you back soon! I was having a pity party all week as well, Aurora had what I suspected to be an ear infection which drove up her numbers due to a steroid in the ear drops and I was completely frustrated seeing higher than usual numbers. I think we all feel how you do at some point in this sugar dance.
Hey Nicole, better a "pity party" than a "pajama party" ;) heehee
 
My TiTi can be very discouraging, too, but I've tried to get over feeling sad because other kitties do so well, while TiTi remains a high dose cat, with various crises. What I focus on now is keeping her in a safe BG zone, so her kidneys don't deteriorate. I am also pleased to see how very well she's doing overall. I guess that nowadays, I only compare TiTi to TiTi.. In that realm, she's doing splendidly.

Hope you come back to us soon.
 
After much thought - Rudy and I will be taking a break from FDMB for a little while. We'll still continue to test and update the ss, but we won't be posting or reading updates.

It's too hard to come on here every day and feel so rotten that other cats diagnosed after Rudy are doing so much better than he is. (No offense to the cats or their beans. More power to both of you for doing so well.) I just can't help but be upset that it's not him. That's not good for anyone.

So rather than put myself through this - we're off for now.

Peace, love and safe surfing.

Jen & Rudy

I just took a look at your spreadsheet. My goodness! You're doing fabulously!

Last update
 
{{{Jen}}}

We all understand your frustration and disappointment. As everyone has said already, just concentrate on Rudy's QOL. Really, our goal should be a good QOL for all our cats, and if we can get them to OTJ, so much the better. You have come a long way since you joined us, and I hope you feel we have helped you. Please don't hesitate to post if you need anything and do know we are here for you and we care.
 
Hi.

Thank you all for the kind words for Rudy and me.

Unfortunately, nothing has changed. Still no sign of a blue despite a new pen and another .25 increase this morning. I checked ketones the other day - negative. Maybe it's the hotter weather? I just don't know any more. If he's not showing any difference after the weekend - vet visit it is.

I'm still very frustrated and disheartened. It hasn't gotten any better. His ss is starting to look like it did 2 months ago. I hate it. It makes my heart hurt. I want to help him. I'm trying to help him. But nothing I'm doing seems to be helping him. It's really taking its toll on me.

I don't know if/when we'll be back to posting. For now - I just wanted to say thank you for reaching out.

Jen & Rudy
 
Try and not get discouraged or hung up on the dose. I know I did for a bit with Gizmo and had to adjust my mind set. Someone here told me sometimes you have to go up to come back down.

Lots of hugs. :bighug:
 
:bighug::bighug::bighug:

The FD dance can be very discouraging at times, Jen. I think for at least the first year, my DH's and my moods were totally driven by Gracie's BG. We did everything we could and still she bounced and bounced. If not for the support here, we would have gone crazy. Everybody got it.

What was then even harder was being here 5-1/2 years and watching cats go into remission one right after another, but not our baby girl. I would watch members come in who wouldn't test, who didn't feed appropriately, etc, and their cat would go OTJ.

At some point, I just rwill Alize that it didn't matter. She wasn't going into remission and as long as I had her well regulated, she was healthy and happy, that was all that mattered.

We all understand and hope you will know we are here when you need us.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top