? Ruckus10/28 pmps +12 8.5 / 153

Options are: 1)skip; (2) shoot a reduced dose but you risk Ruckus going high for a few days like the last time you did that recently or (3) go ahead and shoot a new dose reduced by 10 percent and monitor him carefully through the cycle
 
Don’t shoot now. Test again in 20 minutes. Having fed hc complicates things. At preshot you would normally feed a couple teaspoons of lc and see if that works.
I gave him half can of gravy friskies food, he’s at 4.4 right right.
What’s ic and hc mean ?
 
upload_2021-10-28_8-23-7.jpeg


20 min after 4.4
 

Attachments

  • upload_2021-10-28_8-23-7.jpeg
    upload_2021-10-28_8-23-7.jpeg
    28.4 KB · Views: 130
Ok next time I’ll do low carb, I though hypo was gravy
Normally hypo is gravy but if it’s at amps or pmps and just under 50 feed or in 40’s actually lc to see if that will bring him up.

Did you retest to make sure it wasn’t a bad strip? I know sometimes I would forget to do that when I got a line amps as it never was expected.
 
Last edited:
Normally hypo is gravy but if it’s at amps or pmps and just under 50 feed or in 40’s actually lc to see if that will bring him up.

Did you retest to make sure it wasn’t a bad strip? I know sometimes I would forget to do that when I got a line amps as it never was expected.
No I was pretty frazzled and he was screaming at me, he woke me up early
 
Nice to see the cabergoline is starting to work. :)

Some things for next time you see low numbers at preshot (yes, it could happen again). First, we never shoot if below 50 (2.8), so good for you for stalling. Second, do NOT feed, as long as he's in the 40's. Wait 15 minutes and retest again, to see if he's coming up on his own. As it is, you have shot a food influenced number meaning you don't know if he's still under 50 without influence of food. The carbs could have boosted him above 50 but high carb wet wears off in a couple hours so he could come down again. And it looks like the +4 is showing some of that, combined with the insulin onset.

A small housekeeping thing, it really helps those helping you if you report numbers in the US mg/dL format.

Now that the cabergoline is starting to work, you will have to be really vigilant about testing. The number one cause of death of acros is a hypo. :( If possible, a later PM test would be prudent. Unless you need 10 hours of sleep per night, a +4 or +10 test might be a good one to start getting. We have no idea how low he went last night. A +2 in a Lev cat doesn't give a lot of info, though just a small rise to +2 last night would have had me setting an alarm for later. If you can get a +10 in the morning in such situations, it'd be worth doing.
 
And I think the plus 4 in the spreadsheet really belongs in the plus three cell it’s only just going to be 4 hours since the shot in about 15 minutes. He got his shot at 8:30 am Calgary time. That is mountain time, I guess
 
Nice to see the cabergoline is starting to work. :)

Some things for next time you see low numbers at preshot (yes, it could happen again). First, we never shoot if below 50 (2.8), so good for you for stalling. Second, do NOT feed, as long as he's in the 40's. Wait 15 minutes and retest again, to see if he's coming up on his own. As it is, you have shot a food influenced number meaning you don't know if he's still under 50 without influence of food. The carbs could have boosted him above 50 but high carb wet wears off in a couple hours so he could come down again. And it looks like the +4 is showing some of that, combined with the insulin onset.

A small housekeeping thing, it really helps those helping you if you report numbers in the US mg/dL format.

Now that the cabergoline is starting to work, you will have to be really vigilant about testing. The number one cause of death of acros is a hypo. :( If possible, a later PM test would be prudent. Unless you need 10 hours of sleep per night, a +4 or +10 test might be a good one to start getting. We have no idea how low he went last night. A +2 in a Lev cat doesn't give a lot of info, though just a small rise to +2 last night would have had me setting an alarm for later. If you can get a +10 in the morning in such situations, it'd be worth doing.

Ruckus woke me up 7:48 yelling loudly beside my face, it was even hard to test him because he wouldn’t stay still. How do I not feed him when he’s freaking out and that low? Also when do I feed the gravy food then I’m confused on that part. Also if I wait 15 min then I’m 15/30 minutes late on his shot so how do I make sure I’m not too late and what even is to late? Like today everything was delayed by 30 minutes and then I get confused where the BG numbers go in the chart.

The house keeping thing what do you mean to post the US chart? I use the world one so I think there’s bottom tab that says US. Or do you mean write the number in my written part where I’m explaining what going on?

Ok so a +4 or +10 at night with the +2 ? I really thought I’ve been vigilant on test I’ve gotten a test every single night lately. He went up +2 which is what I thought we wanted, he didn’t go down so why do I have to keep testing after. Is it because now the medication is working so he will be always up and down? Will he get regulated on one dose ever or is this always going to be like this. I will be starting work at some point and won’t be home during the days so then what. I really thought he would be regulated on the medication / insulin before I had to go back, my EI will be done soon.

One more thing he cry’s now when I test him like his ears hurt or I’m like hurting him. I can’t handle it I feel guilty even doing it
 
Ruckus woke me up 7:48 yelling loudly beside my face, it was even hard to test him because he wouldn’t stay still. How do I not feed him when he’s freaking out and that low? Also when do I feed the gravy food then I’m confused on that part. Also if I wait 15 min then I’m 15/30 minutes late on his shot so how do I make sure I’m not too late and what even is to late? Like today everything was delayed by 30 minutes and then I get confused where the BG numbers go in the chart.

The house keeping thing what do you mean to post the US chart? I use the world one so I think there’s bottom tab that says US. Or do you mean write the number in my written part where I’m explaining what going on?

Ok so a +4 or +10 at night with the +2 ? I really thought I’ve been vigilant on test I’ve gotten a test every single night lately. He went up +2 which is what I thought we wanted, he didn’t go down so why do I have to keep testing after. Is it because now the medication is working so he will be always up and down? Will he get regulated on one dose ever or is this always going to be like this. I will be starting work at some point and won’t be home during the days so then what. I really thought he would be regulated on the medication / insulin before I had to go back, my EI will be done soon.

One more thing he cry’s now when I test him like his ears hurt or I’m like hurting him. I can’t handle it I feel guilty even doing it
I always put a warm Cotton Round on Amethyst ear(Warm it with hot water) Before I test her and then apply it right after I test her I understand how they feel The Lancets hurt:(I pricked myself a couple of times by mistake. Try the warm cotton round before and then apply it right after:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Last edited:
The house keeping thing what do you mean to post the US chart? I use the world one so I think there’s bottom tab that says US. Or do you mean write the number in my written
Yes. Just when you post here multiply your number by 18 (or just get it from your spreadsheet by clicking the top where it says US and it will do the conversion for you. You can still use your spreadsheet home the same way you always do. So put the numbers in the thread title using the U.S. numbers.
 
Last edited:
Also if I wait 15 min then I’m 15/30 minutes late on his shot so how do I make sure I’m not too late and what even is to late?

you can shoot up to 30 minutes late and still consider it to be on time. So, on any given day you can shoot 15 minutes early or late at both AMPS or PMPS or thirty minutes early or late for one or the other— AMPS or PMPS. Thirty minutes total (per day) won’t mess things up.
 
Some people who aren’t home during the day to test just keep their cats a little higher on a smaller dose of insulin for safety reasons. You can cross that bridge when you come to it.
 
Last edited:
How do I not feed him when he’s freaking out and that low?
You can feed a zero carb all meat treat, or boiled/baked piece of chicken breast.

The house keeping thing what do you mean to post the US chart? I use the world one so I think there’s bottom tab that says US. Or do you mean write the number in my written part where I’m explaining what going on?
I mean what you post in your subject line or write in the written part of your post where you explain what is going on. The US tab contains the conversions, so you don't need to do the math.
 
You can feed a zero carb all meat treat, or boiled/baked piece of chicken breast.


I mean what you post in your subject line or write in the written part of your post where you explain what is going on. The US tab contains the conversions, so you don't need to do the math.
Can he have egg? He loves eggs
 
Hopefully you can get a later test tonight and he stays in safe numbers.

A tip for next time, and since cabergoline might be working. With a larger dose is a larger depot. If he doesn't rise much after a reduction is earned, and/or you cannot monitor much the cycle after, you can try a BCS (big chicken shot) or reduced dose for one cycle only. That would be something like a 1/2 dose for one cycle. Then do his new earned lower dose the cycle after that. The BCS can help reduce the large depot. I only once had to do a BCS, but it was after SRT the second time. The first time Neko always bounced to the moon so it wasn't an issue.
 
Back
Top