Ruby 2/9 NEED SOME ADVICE PLEASE!

Status
Not open for further replies.

arozeboom

Very Active Member
AMPS 206
fed and shot .5

+2 159
30 minutes later 117

I'm supposed to leave for work. Should I be freaking out?
 
Re: Ruby 2/9

+2 159

Down at +2 after her AM shot? Its really close to the 20% variable but would PZI kick in that fast?

I'm going to give her 15 or 20 minutes and see what happens.
 
Re: Ruby 2/9 NEED SOME ADVISE PLEASE!

Sue! I'm so glad to see you!
The 117 was 30 minutes after the +2, not 45 minutes. I posted that wrong
 
Re: Ruby 2/9 NEED SOME ADVISE PLEASE!

She should be okay. You have shot similar amounts before with similar results and she hasn't dipped super low. But I am aware of her unpredictability. Is it possible to get home around nadir to check? Or can someone else come in and check on her? You definitely can leave out food so she can bring herself up.
 
Re: Ruby 2/9 NEED SOME ADVISE PLEASE!

I can actually probably get away with hanging out for a couple of hours and going in late. The bosses are out of town.

She's been all over the map the past few days. The past 3 shots have been closer to her hind end. Maybe a hands width forward from her tail, about an inch off each side of her spine. Could that be allowing better absorption and that's what I've been doing wrong this whole time?
 
Re: Ruby 2/9 NEED SOME ADVISE PLEASE!

I went ahead and took the 911 off the original post. I'm going to stay home for awhile yet, just to make sure she doesn't tank on me.
 
Re: Ruby 2/9 NEED SOME ADVISE PLEASE!

Oh my goodness! What a thing to see in so short of time! Come on, Ruby....show momma bean you can level out. nailbite_smile
 
Re: Ruby 2/9 NEED SOME ADVISE PLEASE!

That is as likely as any scenario. :mrgreen: Lots of people get lower numbers when they change shooting spots, but with some cats, it makes no difference. One of those ECID things. But if that holds true for her, it might be an important piece to the puzzle that is Ruby.

Glad you can stick around a while to ease your mind. You fed her right? What is the relationship of food/shots/time?
 
Re: Ruby 2/9 NEED SOME ADVISE PLEASE!

I tested her and fed her right around 5:00 AM. That's when she had 206. She takes awhile to eat so I gave her the shot at 5:30. She had eaten about 3/4 of a can of FF by then.

I checked her at about 7:20 and she hit the 159. It was a bit of a drop so I waited 30 minutes, tested her again and she was 117. That was almost 30 minutes ago.

For her shots, I've been rotating around. Front right, left back, front left, right back...that kind of thing. For some reason it struck me yesterday that its possible she gets lower numbers when I stay near the back. I've done that with her last 3 shots and so far its proving true. If it is true and keeps her leveled out, I'd love it. The vet wants us to switch to Lantus and for some reason it makes me really, really nervous.
 
Re: Ruby 2/9 NEED SOME ADVISE PLEASE!

I can be around for the next 2 hours so will keep an eye on you. You might get another test in 30 minutes from the last just to see.
 
Re: Ruby 2/9 NEED SOME ADVISE PLEASE!

I just tested her again (8:30) and got 120. I consider that no change from the last one so it makes me happy. Can I wait an hour to test again or should I go with 30 minutes?
 
Re: Ruby 2/9 NEED SOME ADVISE PLEASE!

Here is a recap of this morning with specific times on the meter:

5:00 AM-PS 206 (fed FF)
7:16 AM 159
7:47 AM 117
8:26 AM 120
 
Re: Ruby 2/9 NEED SOME ADVISE PLEASE!

That sounds like she may have flattened out for a while. That's good. An hour should be fine. She should be okay, but I am aware we are talking about Ruby. :mrgreen:
 
Re: Ruby 2/9 NEED SOME ADVISE PLEASE!

Ruby - a.k.a. Miss Contrary for the sake of being Contrary or Miss Curveball 2012. :-D
 
Re: Ruby 2/9 NEED SOME ADVISE PLEASE!

If you do have to leave at some point today you can always feed some medium carb food. Asher has been going low lately even with the dose reduction, and if we feed two tablespoons of medium carb food, it seems to be enough to bring him up that I am not as worried..... ohmygod_smile
 
Re: Ruby 2/9 NEED SOME ADVISE PLEASE!

Glad to see Ruby seems to be leveling out! Seems like you may be on to something with the location making a difference in her numbers.

Hope y'all have a great day!

Libby
 
Re: Ruby 2/9 NEED SOME ADVISE PLEASE!

I'm going to stick to dosing her in the hind end today and tomorrow and see if that keeps her level. If it does, I'm going to tell the vet I want to hold off a week before I make the switch to Lantus and see if she's leveling out on the PZI. It would totally fit Ru's personality to level out on and stay on the PZI because I already shelled out the cash for the Lantus. That stuff isn't cheap!
 
Re: Ruby 2/9 NEED SOME ADVISE PLEASE!

(this was an accidental post. I'm not sure what I did but I can't erase it)
 
Re: Ruby 2/9 NEED SOME ADVISE PLEASE!

I'd think one more test and if it is not plummeting or staying the same, you should be fine to head to work. You could leave out medium or low carb food. What do you think?
 
Re: Ruby 2/9 NEED SOME ADVISE PLEASE!

Yes, just mention switching insulins and they always do throw curves! Really!!!
 
Re: Ruby 2/9 NEED SOME ADVISE PLEASE!

I think she should be okay. She seems to have not plummeted at any point so it would be unusual for her to start at +4. I would leave out some low carb food.

You have gotten some great numbers with PZI. It seems she hasn't given much of a pattern to follow. It would be nice if changing where you shoot would help that.
 
Re: Ruby 2/9 NEED SOME ADVISE PLEASE!

Thanks for your guidance (Again!). I'm going to leave out a bit of food and head to work.

I'm keeping my fingers cross (with complete knowledge of her nonsense behavior!) that we can stay with PZI and just change to poking her in the bum instead of also in the shoulders.
 
Re: Ruby 2/9 NEED SOME ADVISE PLEASE!

Have a great day!

If you had been home today, the numbers would have been interesting and encouraging. It's when we can't be around that they make us nervous.
 
Re: Ruby 2/9 NEED SOME ADVISE PLEASE!

Shakes has always been one of the cats where shotting spots are very important
and once you find a good spot, make sure to rotate, you dont want any build up
 
Re: Ruby 2/9 NEED SOME ADVISE PLEASE!

I'm going to trade off sides & stick the back half of her body.

I was trying to avoid the scruff, but its possible that I wasn't avoiding it enough. I'm really interested to see where she is when I get home in an hour.
 
Re: Ruby 2/9 NEED SOME ADVISE PLEASE!

While I'm thinking about it. If she's under 200 when I get home in an hour, should I hold off on the evening shot or stick with the normal dose?
 
Re: Ruby 2/9 NEED SOME ADVISE PLEASE!

If she is under 200, I dont thinkI would shoot .50...usually she is a big dropper
and just because she didnt drop too low today
dosent mean she wont tonight
I would wait and see what she is but maybe if she is around 200 and a little over ,
if it were me I would maybe shoot .25,
under 200 I would wait 20 minutes and retest....

Just an fyi, I have shot a larger dose into a low number =in Shakes and he had a great day
his pmps was higher so I shot the same, and that is when he hypoed....
you never know..just because one cycle happened this way, doesnt mean that the next cycle will also... :mrgreen:
 
Re: Ruby 2/9 NEED SOME ADVISE PLEASE!

I'm happy. I'll test her again around 10:00. That would be right around +4
 
Re: Ruby 2/9 NEED SOME ADVISE PLEASE!

+4 255
I was petting her and now I think the PM shot was at least a partial fur shot. Her fur smells like the insulin...not massively, but more than it should.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top