Ruby 2/8

Status
Not open for further replies.

arozeboom

Very Active Member
Ruby, Ruby, Ruby...I don't even know what to say about her.

AMPS - first test 87. Waited and 2nd test 92. (just tested again...99 - this is about an hour after the initial test)

Yesterday was a disaster from the get go. High AMPS and then a fur shot. Last night I was at work until after 7:00 (I normally feed her between 5:30 and 6:00). The husband fed her before I got home. It was only about 20 minutes or so, so I don't think it effected her too much before I tested her. She was at 392. I did a smaller than normal shot and at +4 she was 306. I thought she was looking pretty good. Then this morning double digits!?

I know its early compared to last night's shot...right now its about +10 but isn't that a crazy drop for 6 hours? She's acting fine. Even woke me by flinging her noisest toy around and just came hauling bum up the basement stairs after using the litter box.

I'm guessing no shot this morning?
 
Wow! Is it possible Mr. P decided to help out? Sounds like it might be so. (Knocks on wood.)

Great problem to have. :mrgreen:

Pull up a chair, make yourself at home, and stick around, Mr. P!
 
I didn't expect anything so low so she's already started eating so will probably get a food spike in about 2 hours (based on how she's looked up until now).
 
I have no idea. I can't check her mid-cycle today.

Token shot? No shot? Wave the bottle of PZI over her head and hope it get there by osmosis?
 
arozeboom said:
Wave the bottle of PZI over her head and hope it get there by osmosis?

haha_smiley

With the way she likes to spring those higher numbers at you, I'd be afraid not to give her anything....yet that's awfully low to shoot. Especially if Mr. P decides to stick around. Let's see what others have to suggest. :-D
 
Do you have a "line in the sand" number for no shots? Some choose 150 or so.

If this were Poopy, and he was so low at PS, I'd be tempted for no shot. Especially if Mr. P is truly helping out (wouldn't want to shut him down or cause a hypo). Of course, I'd also be expecting to see a higher than the moon PMPS (if Mr. P was only making a drive-by visit).

Too high is much better than too low. :-D
 
I generally do about 170-ish. (the Alpha reads higher than other meters).

Her numbers have been higher than the moon for a couple of days now.
 
We're now about 2 hours from her AMPS and she's at 142. (this would be about 110 or so on a human meter) Definitely the food spike.

Shoot or no shoot at the rate she's going up?
 
Yup. That's what I've decided. Even if I shot at 142, that's the lower than I've ever shot and I can't bring myself to do it when I'm not going to be home.

I'm really hoping the switch to Lantus this weekend gets this all under control. I'm a bit tired of her nonsense. ;-)
 
Yeah. Better safe and high than going too low when you can't be there. Have a great day! And here's hoping for a number not on the moon tonight. :-D
 
Late to the party as per usual lately :oops: but I think you made the right call.
My line in the sand is lower, but we have been at this over a year and have a ton of data to go by. Thus our disclaimer.
But even now, I would never shoot into a new low if I wasn’t going to be home. It’s just not worth it.

Just have to enjoy these lower numbers even tho they cause us some stress with the schedule sometimes.
 
So, I'm wayyy late to the party, but wanted to check in on you and Ruby. For what it's worth, I would've been afraid to shoot, too. Here's hoping your PMPS isn't sky high. I know everybody says ECID but we should also say EDID (Every Day Is Different)! Heck, even every CYCLE is different -

Take care -

Libby
 
If I was able to stay at home, I might have shot once she hit the 142, but even that would have been tough. I don't understand why she took the bid nosedive last night.

Thinking back, I rotate where I give her the shots. I think I avoid the scruff but I wonder if I don't avoid it enough and that could be the root of the problem. I've never tracked where I've given her the shot specifically so I guess I need to start doing that. I know last night I gave it to her in her left flank. She's got more loose skin up top so if she's being difficult, its easier to get her there. Being the pudge bucket that she is, she doesn't have a lot of loose skin on her flanks. (that's where the pudge is!) When the vet showed us how to administer the shots, they used T-Rex, one of the office cats. He's an oriental shorthair/siamesey looking thing, all skinny legs and big ears with a lot of extra skin (and adorable!). But now that I think about it, they absolutely showed us how to shoot into a tent of skin on his scruff.

Hmmm.....I think I need to watch this between now and Friday, before I switch to the Lantus.
 
We were rotating where we shot and noticed that his flank shots resulted in higher numbers than the shots around the shoulder area. So, now we stick with just below the scruff/at the shoulder area and move around in a 'circle' there. (Hope that makes sense.) I don't know if it's that way for every cat, but it seemed to be for Hershey.

Switching to Lantus, huh? What made you switch (sorry if I missed that discussion)? We'll miss you -
 
I sent off 2 weeks of Ruby's charts (I make a line graph every day) to the vet and she's totally stumped Ru's wacky numbers. She wants to switch to Lantus. I'm super nervous about it and will totally miss everyone here. I've been reading the Lantus boards and its so overwhelming!
 
While we will all go through Ruby withdrawals, we will still wish you two the best. ECID and insulins play a part. Maybe Lantus will work better for Ru. If not...you know the way back here! :-D
 
We have found giving Asher his shots around his shoulder works well for us. I vary the side and area a bit, but it is where I can easily find an area that is just skin, not fat with the skin, to shoot into. Asher is a bit “big boned” :lol: ;-)

I seem to remember that the insulin gets absorbed better if it is not shot into fat. Don’t ask me where I read that but I swear I did. :-D
His shoulder is an area I can shoot into when he is eating, which is how I try to do it most days.

If you switch to Lantus, you can always come here to chat and visit! ~O)

I wish you all the best no matter what your decision!
 
In my opinion where you shoot is just as important as how much
With Shakes if I shoot into the scruff he will get crappy numbers
I have to shoot on his sides and if I shoot too much into one spot
his numbers start getting flat again until I move the shooting area
 
She's just pulled a 420 for her PMPS.

I shot her in the right flank this time. We'll see where she is in a few hours.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top