Ruby 2/22

Status
Not open for further replies.
Morning Amy, ~O)

Ruby certainly has kept you on your toes. I see on your SS that you are heading on over to Lantus Land this weekend. I wish you the best of luck with sweet Ruby. We're going to miss you on this side but don't forget to visit us from time to time.
 
It's just gotten pretty obvious to me that this isn't work out. We've tried lowering the dose, raising the dose...she's still all over the map. I have to try something else. I've been chatting with some folks over there who have helped sooth my nerves a bit. I'm still pretty freaked out, but something's got to be done. It kills me to see her just sleeping day after day because her BG is so high. Sunday morning she looked so great and happy, playing with Midgie and having a good time. By mid day, she was back to sleeping.

I totally feel like I'm having one of those "Its not you, its me" talks!
 
I totally understand Amy. We were almost there in Lantus Land ourselves at one point. I admire you for doing what’s best for Ruby, that’s what this craziness is all about. ohmygod_smile
You have to promise to stop back in here to let us know how things are going tho!!! ~O)
 
You have to do what is best for Ruby...or at least try, right? Just be sure to visit us so we don't go into too bad of Amy/Ruby Withdrawals, ok?

:YMHUG:
 
Oh, I can keep you posted on all her wackiness. I'm sure her SS will be just as crazy, at least for awhile.
 
Everyone I've talked to, including my vet, said I just carry on as normal except instead of PZI in the evening I give her the Lantus. It will take a couple of days to really kick in, I think. I'll be watching her really closely all weekend and I'm prepared to take Monday off if needed. I'm still super nervous about it.
 
I definitely take yours and Harley's story to heart but at this point I just don't know what else to do. Raising the dose is too high. Lowering it isn't high enough. She looks so miserable most of the time. She turns those big sad kitty eyes on me and I just fall apart. :cry:
 
Your Lantus story will be different than ours, ECID. Some insulins work better for some cats than for others, you need to find out which insulin best suits Ruby.

No one here or anywhere else will second guess your decision, we'll be crossing paws and fingers and we will continue rooting for you both.

Some of my dearest friends on this site started in PZI and moved on to other insulins so while we no longer talk about doses we are still friends and can talk about other things and we still care about each others kitties.
 
Sorry to see you both go, but please make sure to check back in
on a regular basis!
and best of luck with Lantus!!
Dont forget to keep breathing! :mrgreen:
 
Ruby's PMPS 335

She's just flatter then all get out today! I'm betting her nadir didn't drop a whole lot.
 
Hopefully you'll find lotsa great folks in Lantus Land, and most importantly maybe Ruby will settle in to the different insulin. We'll all look forward to your posts when you pop back in to visit the gang here.

Good luck!

Lu & Grayson
 
Its going to be tough to beat all of you over here!

+4 207

(has anyone noticed how she's stayed out of the red since I said I was changing for real this time? :smile: )
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top