Ruby 2/15

Status
Not open for further replies.

arozeboom

Very Active Member
AMPS 267 (+10 from last night)

Its' super early because I have to be at work early.I'm going to test her again in a few minutes to make sure she's headed up.
I can actually get really close to a +12 dose if I shoot right before I walk out the door.

She's full of all kinds of energy right now and is begging for breakfast. Amy awake = Ruby eat! Sorry Ru, you'll have to wait awhile.
 
Good morning Amy!
I hate when you are awake but cant feed them just yet,
but they are Begging!! to be fed..
not a bad am number
hope you have a great day!
 
As soon as my feet hit the floor, everyone comes runnin'! "Mama's up - FOOD TIME!!!!" We really need to train them differently, don't we!
 
AMPS - 30 minutes after 1st test is 315. Not terrible after that ugly red last night.

Does it matter how much time there is between feeding and shooting? I usually end up waiting about an hour between the time she starts eating and the time I give her shot because she's a slow eater.
She dives in at first, then wanders off, comes back...lather rinse repeat...so by the time she finished 3/4 of her bowl, about an hour has passed.
Should I be shooting as soon as she first starts eating?
 
I chucked a couple of little pieces of freeze dried chicken her way. That will distract her long enough for me to hop into the shower.
 
My only thoughts to waiting an hour after eating is that she will continue to rise
until you get insulin into her....
I used to wait 20 minutes after eating but after coming here I now
let him eat probably half of what he eats in the morning and feed chicken and shoot

I am wondering if by waiting she is going higher than what she should
and it is making it harder for her to come down...
just thinking out loud :mrgreen:
 
I am laughing at your SS cause you went from 2/14/12 to 3/25/12....
Not used to getting up this early??? :mrgreen:
 
Since I normally don't have a problem with Poop eating (until recently with the same food issue), I shoot as soon as the shot is ready while his face is in the bowl (5-10 minutes for test, feed, shoot).

Not recommended for finicky eaters, I would think.

If you shot Ruby earlier, would you worry about her eating enough? That's what I would ask myself before deciding to shoot earlier. ~O)
 
I wasn't wearing my glasses when I filled that out earlier. :-D (and I haven't actually given her the shot yet. I filled that part in anticipation)

I think I feed & shoot the way I do because at first it was a battle to get her to eat and it became a habit. It didn't occur to me until now that some days I end up waiting over an hour between her starting eating and shooting. I'm going to try keeping it within a 30 minute window starting tonight. Right now its barely +11 from last night's shot, so I don't want to shoot yet but I already started her on breakfast.
 
Morning Amy, ~O)

I also shoot as soon as his head pokes over the rim of his bowl. :lol: Never had a problem with him keeping down anything really since putting him on wet only, plus he's a scarfer so it's a given that he will eat. Would probably shoot before feeding him if I think I could keep him distracted enough not to get a fur shot. I can't afford to wait because his BG zooms so much in such a short period of time. I can certainly understand your stance on waiting to shoot if Ruby like to take her sweet time. :smile:
 
We're on a new schedule today since DH retired and so I got up and took my shower before poking, feeding and shooting. We had our bathroom remodeled a couple of years ago and now we have all clear glass doors. I watched both Alex and Audrey waiting - impatiently, I might add, for me to hurry up and finish. I'm not used to an audience. :mrgreen:

Hope you have a good day!
 
I'm amazed at how much of a difference these shorter needles have made. I haven't had any fur shots and she tolerates them so much better.
 
Good Luck today! I also test, feed and shoot while Kitty is eating-- but, I have never had problems with her eating everything and wanting more!

I do agree with Denise, while you need to be sure the food stays down, the longer you wait to shoot-- the higher they climb, making it harder to bring them down.
 
I told the husband last night he really needs to learn how to test her. He works at home so it would be so nice if he could do one mid-day test for me.
 
Your scale says .4 but you would want to monitor if you did that.

I think changing to test, feed and shoot, hopefully within 15-20 minutes, will help. You are dosing for a number that was a while before with a lower dose than might be considered for the higher one. And if the 12 hours are up and the insulin is gone, you may have missed the best time to dose. Does that make sense?
 
I'm going to hold with the .3 and try shortening the "test, feed, shoot" time.
She just started eating now. She'll take a break in about 5 or 10 minutes so I'll shoot her then and make sure she starts eating again.
 
PZI is not an insulin that you have to worry about the insulin/food connection so much. Insulins that hit hard and fast like Humulin require food on board. PZI usually doesn't impact the numbers in any drastic way right away, so as long as she eats something, she should be fine.
 
I get out dishes, open the can, mush the food with water in the dishes, get everything ready before I test. Then I can feed and shoot quickly after the test. I shoot while Asher eats since he’s not a cat that throws up generally. I can do it all in 10 mins if I have to, but the key is to do everything you can first before you test. They can zoom up quick once that insulin wears off.

It’s funny they take a break sometimes while eating. My guys might even go to their box mid way thru breakfast, then come back and start in eating again :lol:
 
I'm lucky so far that Ru's never been a barfer.
It seems like she spikes with food pretty quickly though.

I did make sure the husband moved the other bowl of food out of her reach a couple of hours ago so she didn't raid it again.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top