Ruby 2/13

Status
Not open for further replies.

arozeboom

Member Since 2011
AMPS 378

Well, at least I'm sure she's going up right now, compared to her +6. I'm not sure what to do. Her daytime numbers for the past 2 days were good, but then she spent the evenings and overnights in pink. I really thought that shooting in her hips instead of her shoulders too was going to be the secret to keeping her off the roller coaster, or as least on a kidder coaster. I won't be able to do any daytime mid-cycle checks this week. I'm guessing I'll have to make the change to Lantus this weekend.

Thanks to Robin for spending most of her weekend checking our progress!
 
What a wild weekend. :roll:

I sure hope things settle this week for Ruby, with the bonus of selfishly hoping you'll stay here. :-D But I also understand you have to do what you can for Ruby. I can still be sad, right, if you leave for LL Land? I'll still wish you luck. :-D
 
My new, and friendly, vet normally uses Lantus. So it's possible Poop may see that in his future...but will depend on how well he does on ProZinc. He's not pushing for a switch and will supply me with the ProZinc.

What would make me nervous is how they work differently. Learning these dance steps takes work and focus. Changing the dance venue has got to be sort of scary...as in, here we go again, starting over kind of thing. With that said, though, if ProZinc isn't getting Ruby to a good place with good numbers, it may be well worth the switch, including with all the effort and re-learning.

No matter which insulin you use, no matter which board you're posting on, I have no doubt you'll continue to do your best for Ruby. :-D And she's a lucky if stubborn girlie! :lol:
 
She should know by now that I'm just as stubborn as she is! :smile:

My work schedule won't allow for the really tight regulation. I think that's what really gets to me. I can occasionally sneak home at lunch but not very often. It seems with Lantus it takes a lot more testing to get a good grasp on what's happening. Also, I don't think I can handle getting up any earlier or going to bed any later. Right now I'm barely averaging about 4 and half to 5 hours of sleep a night and that's not enough for these tired old bones!
 
She is in regulated numbers during the day. That's great. :-D

What is different about night? Less food, no moving around? Would she eat something if she had it overnight?

We can adapt (that is the best thing about PZI) by shooting a tiny bit less at amps (anticipating a lower, longer cycle) and a little more at pmps or changing to a 13/11 schedule - shooting an hour later at pmps and a hour earlier at amps. ( I am talking tiny differences in dose)
Let's see what Robin thinks.
 
We're really not doing anything different during the day than we are in the evening. She's fed the same food, FF in either Chopped Grill or Tender Beef & Chicken. I've switched those off to see if there is any difference with it (one day doing the grill in the AM, the next doing it in the PM).

She does tend to sleep more at night, but not necessarily during the evening. She does seem to have a bit more energy during the day in general. Even this morning with the high 300s she was perkier than she was last night.
 
I try to get her to play as much as possible because I've seen how her numbers will drop when she does a couple of laps around the house. She wasn't very interested in playing most of yesterday, other than her tossing around the noisy toys at midnight!
 
FWIW, I don't think I'd give up on Prozinc yet. Your schedule requires a more flexible insulin.

You have stopped the long duration and are coming into the fine tuning part of the dance. All on tiny doses of insulin.

I know that today was higher again but that is ok, you are getting shootable PS's. Once she settles down for a few days you would start increasing the scale back up to start lowering the PS's and nadir. I think that regulation is just a few steps away.

Of course what ever you decide to do we will back you up.

Robin
 
Trust me, I don't want to change! I like you all too much! :-D

I'll be home in about an hour. My plan is to test her, wait about 30 minutes and test her again to make sure she's moving up.

I stuck with the .2 this morning, hoping to keep the duration in check, even though she was well over 300.
 
Ruby's numbers are awesome! Looks like you're a little ahead of me, timing-wise, but you've got SO MUCH LESS red on your spreadsheet! I'm jealous! Glad to see someone else in a similar position timing- and dosage-wise. Hope the numbers continue downward (but not to hypo).

Lu-Ann
 
She tends to lean more towards pink than red but I hate them both!

Even if she was all blue, I'd be crazy happy.
 
You PMPS is a bit lower than AMPS which is good.

I think you could stay with .2u or go with .3u to see if it will help bring down the PS #'s.
 
I stuck with .2

If she follows the same path in the morning, with a lower PS than tonight and I confirm she's heading up, not down, should I go with the .3 then? (as long as she's over 200)
 
If she's in the mid to upper 300's in the morning I would go with the .3u.

But if she's in the 200's I would go with a .2u.

Can you get a before bed test in? It might help to see where she's headed.
 
Lately I'm on both. I'm usually up until 11:00 and get back up at 5:00.
I had bad insomnia before this whole started but now, forget it! I don't remember the last night I slept all the way thru. :roll:
 
+4.5 337

I've been using the shorter needles this weekend and I think I like them. She's getting better about taking the shots, too. She'll lay down for me, to which ever side I start massaging. I still get squawked at, but she's dealing with it much better.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top