Ruby 2/11

Status
Not open for further replies.

arozeboom

Member Since 2011
AMPS 365

Let's hope for a better day than last night was. The only thing that would make sense is that it was a fur shot I didn't realize.
 
~O) Morning Amy.
I feel your pain this morning on a pink amps :sad:
Here’s to a day with better numbers for all!
 
She was walking around on my at 5:00 on the nose, wanting breakfast. Now she's tossing toys around, which is a little odd for a number as high as 365. She normally saves that for the 100s and 200s.
Not that I'm complaining!
 
By chance, did you retest? I know sometimes strips can be wonky...and not the cat. If I get a higher or lower number than hoped for, I'll retest, just to be sure. :-D
 
This is the only thing I can think of what happened, other than a fur shot. I did a test with the control solution yesterday morning. Last night I notice a tiny bit of the red fluid dried in the channel where the test strip goes so I cleaned it off with a damp q-tip. I wonder if a little moisture got farther into the meter and caused everything to go wonky. Once I realized this I tested with the Relion also.

At 11:30, the Alpha came up as 420 and the Relion at 308. That's a really wide spread for those meters. I used them both on the next two tests, including this morning, and the ran much more normally compared to each other:
12:30 PM - 364/325
5:00 AM - 365/321

So I'm wondering if maybe she wasn't really as high as I thought she was last night, that it was the control solution throwing things off. I mean, she was still probably in the 300s, but not as high as 420+.
After that 420/308 comparison I did a test with the control solution and it came in at 157. The acceptable test range is 108-160. Any other time I've used the solution it tested in low 100, always under 112.

We'll see how she does today. She's really active right now, which is great. I tried to go back to sleep but she decided it was play time so we had a quick game of laser pointer, with her galloping like a little herd of buffalo back and forth across the living room.
 
Last night looks like a classic inverse curve to me, which indicates that the .4u was too much insulin.

On 2/4 you had another inverse curve on .5u which is one of the days she wasn't going into or coming out of a bounce and one of the days I based the lower dose scale on to rule out cronic rebound.

I've heard that it takes 3 to 5 days for the rebound hormones to clear. So until then she will keep you on your toes.

Lets see what others think.
 
+9.5
Alpha 143
Relion 99

What causes her to still be going down so late in the cycle? Too much insulin? Not enough insulin? Because I'm wearing green socks today?
 
I would say the green socks, Amy. :mrgreen:

Not a bad cycle. It is a later nadir but she doesn't do that all the time. I would hang on and see what else the weekend holds (and the cycle). Don't forget, the first goal is regulation and she is flirting with regulated numbers on tiny doses.
 
+12
Alpha 138
Relion 110

Should I wait a little bit and test her again before I feed her to make sure she's going up?
 
No worries, I haven't fed her yet, much to her dismay. She's knocking things off of tables, trying to get my attention. :smile:

I'll test again in about 15 minutes.
 
Wow, Ruby! Whatcha doin', girl? Besides driving momma bean crazy?

Not a bad problem to have, such good numbers, but hard to shoot.
 
I know you had discussed switching insulins earlier in the week. I was just curious where your thoughts are now. It looks like the Prozinc is setting in with Ruby.
 
I'm actively trying to avoid changing insulin. My gut is still saying the PZI might work, if I can get her into a better rhythm.
 
She's going up now. I didn't feed her anything and she just tested 194 on the Alpha and 141 on the Relion.

I'm going to go ahead and get her started on dinner before she gnaws my leg off.

What do you think about dosing? She normally spikes pretty high with food.
 
I guess it's an okay number. You were using an AphaTrak on 1/28 when you shot .5 into the 200, right? What does Robin's scale say?

It makes me nervous to see the 141 and then dosing at night.
 
From 1/15 until late last night all numbers are only AlphaTrak. I've been using the Relion today because of the weird numbers last night. I'm going to stop that now.

Anyway...the scale says .1 for 175-199 .2 for 200-224 .3 for 225-249 .4 for 250-300
 
I tend to be conservative, particularly at night. You hold the syringe, Amy. Your guess is as good as mine. We all know Ruby is fairly unpredictable.
 
I'll go between .2 and .1


I don't have any place to be until Monday, so an all nighter wouldn't kill me. I'd prefer to not do it, but I'd also prefer for her to not have diabetes! :smile:

Wish us luck! I'll report back in a couple of hours.
 
Wow what a ride Ruby had today. Usually a longer duration does suggest that the dose was a tiny bit to high.

Good luck tonight.

:RAHCAT Rooting for Ruby
 
+6 318

Thank goodness!

I'm turning in. I'll be back up around 5:30 to start the dance again.

Should I stick with the scale if she's above 175 (the bottom end of the scale)?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top