Ruby 1/23

Status
Not open for further replies.

arozeboom

Very Active Member
The last time we were at the vet, one of the women remarked "This one's going to be a trouble child!" I agree with her.

Last night at +2 she was 331
At +4 267
At +5 315

AMPS this morning (+12 from the last shot - I gave her a fat .5 unit) - 282

She sat right around 330 almost all day yesterday.
 
Could be a classic case of NDW (new dose wonkiness). Hopefully others more experienced will chime in. :smile: Nice to see the yellow AMPS though. :-D
 
And of course I managed to shoot a fur shot this morning. :-x

There was way too much pink over the weekend for my taste. I've never liked the color pink.
 
I agree she is complicated. So this cycle is toast - just relax and wait for the next one. You are in that classic PZI quandary (we need a fancy acronym for it, everybody!) of whether to raise or lower. Only data gives you the answer. You are getting higher flat cycles at lower doses. Your best - though scary- cycle was at +2.

I 'd stay here another cycle to see if you get any more numbers that give you a clearer picture. Then I'd vote for a higher dose, I think.
 
I think I should go back to 1 unit and see where she goes then. I'll stick with the .5 unit tonight so I don't knock her over after probably not having any this morning.
 
That's definitely tonight. Then again, its tough to tell exactly where her nadir is based on the past few days of testing. :roll:
 
Teresa, I might have to steal that glass of wine from your smiley guy!
I've already got the chocolate.
 
Hi, just sort of catching up with you and Ruby....

Here's what looks odd to me....
A few days ago, you got a 145 AMPS, no shot, and she went only up to 199 and hour later, which would be the boost from the food starting to hit her system. Perfectly logical.
Then I look at 1/21, where you had a 262 PMPS, and she got .5 but jumped to 380 by +2. I know that maybe the insulin hadn't had its onset yet, but still odd to me.
Ruby is the third kitty I looked at tonight that is showing this rather big climb in the first two hours after shooting, so it seems like it's a common trend. Maybe it's been this way all along with most cats and I just haven't noticed?

This is from your SS comments:
How is she lower at 12 hours from last night's shot than she was at 5 hours after, after she dipped at 4 hours?

This is seen with some cats. Is she more, or less, active overnight? Sometimes people see a lower number due to how much the kitty sleeps vs. how much they are active (exercise has been noted to lower bg), or due to how much food is eaten overnight vs. daytime. Does she eat while you are sleeping, do you leave food out at night?

Just grasping at straws.

Also noticed you use an AlphaTrac, so we all need to keep that in mind when looking at the numbers (thanks for putting it in your sig!). Have we established how much, on average, that your numbers would be higher than if you were using a regular human meter? Generic is "30", but don't know the specifics of what you got prior to switching to the AT.

Carl
 
She's a night sleeper most of the time. She likes an audience when she's playing.

If she hasn't finished her full serving of dinner, I will leave it out overnight. Its not very much, maybe 1 or 1.5 tablespoons of Fancy Feast and a lot of the time its still there in the morning. I know her and I know that if I don't leave anything out she'll start waking me up around 2:30 AM.

On the AlphaTrak, for the first day or two I tested them both side by side. I have some graphs showing the difference. The curve matches almost exactly, but the spread varies. At the higher numbers, there can be as much as 70 points difference (381 Alpha vs. 318 Relion) on the lower end, the spread isn't as wide (246 Alpha vs. 218 Relion). I could add the side by side numbers to the spreadsheet.
 
Looks like 10% or so on yellows, and maybe up to 20% on high 300's.... I can work with that. :smile: You don't have to alter your SS, we just need to keep it in mind when we look at the numbers, that's all.

Carl
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top