Ruby 1/22

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi there.
I'm not going to run a curve today, I'm just going to test her a couple of times.

+4 from her morning dose 330
 
How is Ruby doing otherwise? Peeing, drinking, eating, playfulness, grooming, etc?

In looking at her numbers, 1u is a bit too much, and it seems the .5u may be a bit too much as it looks like an inverse curve. Then again, she may still be coming off a bounce from her lower numbers earlier.

Just thinking out loud as I'm also still learning the dance...and the darn cats keep changing the steps! :lol:

Are you testing for ketones?
 
Yesterday she seemed hungrier but also slept a lot. Her water intake and litter box habits have been pretty much the same. She's playing this morning.
Now that I think about it, she's been grooming her bottom end quite a bit yesterday and this morning. Is that indicative of anything?
 
If she is licking her bottom excessively, you might want to consider the possibility of a UTI. If she has a UTI, you need to get her on an antibiotic. Infections will increase BGs and need to be addressed sooner rather than later in diabetic kitties.

Just my thoughts...
 
It all sounds good. :smile:

Excessive drinking/peeing is what I was hoping not to hear. :-D Playing and grooming are big pluses! Yah! dancing_cat Means she's feeling good about herself, caring for herself (grooming) and interested in things outside herself (playing). :smile:

If the grooming is excessive, Kim has a great point.
 
When she was diagnosed in December, she also had a bad bladder infection (rod bacteria) and was on a round of antibiotics. We confirmed on Jan 10th that it was cleared up. I really don't want her to go thru that again. Reading that there is a possibility it might be back kind of makes my heart drop into my stomach. Her water intake has lessened a bit in the past two weeks but she's been drinking and peeing a lot since before she was diagnosed.
 
I should note that she's a notorious over-groomer. For years she's been licking her fur off in various areas. For a long time it was her belly. Then she moved to her back leg, then to her front legs. She grooms one spot until the fur is totally gone and them moves along to another. We did a bunch of tests a few years back and everything came back negative. The fur will grow back in the previous spots. The vet decided she was most likely neurotic, which wouldn't shock me at all.
 
I have to say that I am very perplexed by your numbers
part of me says raise, then part of me says lower the dose...
I am unsure if it is too much or not enough...
what are you thiniking of doing...
maybe lower first, and if the numbers stay bad I would raise
 
I'm totally perplexed! When I dropped her to the .5u, they definitely went up. But the 1u seemed too high.

She's all kind of spunky today, lots of playing, and she's not constantly checking out her food bowl like she did yesterday.

My husband always jokes that she likes to be contrary just for the sake of being contrary. :smile:
 
If she is acting great and playing I am thining maybe you should lower tonight
and if her numebrs stay the way they are then I would raise to maybe .75
 
It depends, If there is an inverse curve...meaning if the numbers go higher mid cycle
and then lower on the preshot it could be that it is too much insulin....
but it could also mean not enough...
so my thinking would be to lower for one dose and if you dont see improvement
then I would raise her above .5
 
Yesterday's does , yes, but that was a 305 preshot..
last night and this morning you had 2 yellow preshots, ;last night was 262 and this morning was 226
and both times it looked like an inverse curve where he went higher mid day

that is why I suggested maybe lowering...unless maybe Ruby is in the 300's for preshot
then maybe hold at .5
 
If I were you I would hold the .50 for the 300's
and if you get a 200's preshot perhaps lower just a bit
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top