Rom 10/13 AMPS 286 +5 340 PMPS 365 +5 371

Status
Not open for further replies.
I would drop the dose, 2 units is a big start dose and he dropped a lot overnight, you don't want a bounce and it may take a while for you to find the ideal dose, with Prozinc the drop is gentler so while it may have been ok for a Caninsulin cycle it is a big drop for Prozinc.
 
I'm glad you're going to continue posting a daily condo for Rom, Sue. I'd very much like to keep following Rom's progress (and hopefully learn a bit about Prozinc!).


Mogs
.
 
I was always going to continue with a daily condo, I just wasn't sure which forum to put it in!! I decided Health as it gets more eyes I think. Anyway, all you had to do was ask and I would have done it anyway, you've helped me so much @Critter Mom, thank you.
 
I think the stinky pink at +4 could possibly be a bounce off last night's significant drop and quite low nadir.

If it were me in this situation I'd be looking to do the usual PS and mid-cycle tests to be as sure as possible that the starting dose is safe. If it took the BG too low for comfort I'd probably reduce the dose and keep monitoring for dose safety. If we assume for now that the starting dose is safe then I'd hold the dose for several days to let my kitty's body get used to the new insulin (continuing with normal BG preshot and mid-cycle tests) and give the dose time to 'settle'. I'd then run a full curve to get a better picture of response to the new insulin and review the dosing after that. Note: These are general principles. I've never used Prozinc and I've never used sliding scale dosing so other members may be able to give you better suggestions than this.


Mogs
.
 
His BG didn't go too low last night, but I was told that 2units is too high so I reduced to 1.5. Should I start at 2units again and keep it there?
 
His BG didn't go too low last night, but I was told that 2units is too high so I reduced to 1.5. Should I start at 2units again and keep it there?


Rom did have a 70% drop in last night's cycle, which for Prozinc is a BIG drop. His body is getting adjusted to a new type of insulin and he is bouncing from the drop last night. It is not so much that he dropped too low, but he dropped a lot and fairly quickly in the start of the cycle. My thought would be to continue with the 1.5 units for a few days until the "switch-over" has had a chance to settle and then re-evaluate. :bighug:
 
PMPS he was 20.3 (365) and +5 20.6 (371). Bouncing well and truly. My vet rang with the blood results and all is good. No infection anywhere, liver and kidneys are fine. I told her I reduced the dose which she did not like one little bit, so I raised back up to 2 units again. I will keep it at 2 and do a curve next weekend, if only to show her the dose is too high.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top