Rom 09/12 AMPS 236 +5 283 PMPS 400 (vet stres) +2 358

Status
Not open for further replies.
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/what-do-i-do-now-does-rom-need-an-otj-trial.183759/
OK. So I gave Rom one drop last night. These were his readings
PMPS 212 (11.8)
+2 236 (13.1)
+7 194 (10.8)

The AMPS this morning 236
(13.1)

What do you think? Are they ok for the first cycle of a reduction to one drop?
Hi Sue.

I just posted on your condo from yesterday. Rom is most likely bouncing from those lows, so those numbers are fine. Here's what I said in the other condo:

I have a thought about Rom. Since it doesn't look like he's ready for a trial yet, but keeps giving you low numbers, have you considered feeding him a higher carb food? That way you could continue to safely give insulin awhile longer, and maybe his cycles will level off a little and he'll look more like a kitty starting a trial should. Just a thought.

Sorry about Teddy. Where is the tumor? I had three cats with lymphoma - kidney, intestinal and ocular. I know how hard it is to deal with. Is he on Prednisolone?
 
I just replied on my other thread @Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey, looks like we crossposted.

Rom has been clearing his bounces quickly. If he is not lower at +5 when the sitters test, then either he got no insulin this morning or something else is up. he is off to the vet tonight as he has an eye infection that appeared literally in a couple of hours. I am piggy backing him on Teddy's chemo appointment today.
 
Teddy has gastro intestinal lymphoma. This is the worst disease ever.
That's what Harvey had. His was treated with a med I gave at home - Leukeran (aka Chlorambucil). Sounds like that would not be a great option for Teddy. Are they doing infusion chemo? The CHOP protocol? I know way more about cats and cancer than I ever wanted to. The Pred kept him pretty comfortable (but gave him diabetes), and the Leukeran kept the lymphoma in check. I did have to use anti-nausea meds and appetite stimulants towards the end, but that could have been the CKD, which is what took him from me.

Do they have anything like pill pockets in the UK? It's a treat you can hide the pill in. Some cats love them. Harvey was too smart and got good at eating the pocket and leaving the pill.
:rolleyes:

Sending vines for Rom's eye.
 
Teddy has had the CHOP protocol. It failed. He has had the COP protocol. That failed too. He has been on Vincristine, Doxyrubicin, Chlorambucil, Cyclo- something. All failed. The only thing that is working is L-Aspariginaise which shrunk the tumour by a quarter at first administration. Unfortunately they didn't carry it on and then the tumour doubled in size whilst on Doxyrubicin and Chlorumbucil. He now has weekly L-Aspariginaise injections and tablets Lomustine every three weeks.

They have pill pockets here, but he is very adept at eating the treat and leaving the pill just like your Harvey!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top