Rocky PMPS 344 +2 358 +3 324 +5 401 +8 395

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 1/21 Rocky's AMPS 299

Hi guys .. no dosing advice from me .. Rocky, how about some nice blues soon? Have a great day guys!
 
Re: 1/21 Rocky's AMPS 299 +3 228

So, Rocky came down a smidgen overnight to 299. Then, three hours later at +3, a few more points down.

I just fed him his 2nd 1/2 can of NVIV, after his test, of course. He was very excited to eat it. He'll get that 3rd 1/2 can after PMPS.
 
Re: 1/21 Rocky's AMPS 299 +3 228

Tina

I think the opinion was to shoot 1u this morning unless he was below 150.....

If you didn't, it's ok. We'll see what he does today.
 
Re: 1/21 Rocky's AMPS 299 +3 228

Hi Marje,

I'm sorry I thought that I was to hold at .75u until someone told me different. I asked this morning but no one was around so I just kept him at .75u.

Do you think he will go too low now by PMPS time due to not enough insulin? :roll:
 
Re: 1/21 Rocky's AMPS 299 +3 228

Hi Tina, sorry to miss so many condos but I've been out of town.

Rocky is sliding down nicely, I hope he continues. You'll know by tonight if this is the bounce clearing or if he needs a little more juice. I think Marje was nice and clear just now.

Wendy gave you the link to get the Arkray/Relion strips at ADW. Have you tried the Presto meter I sent you? Those strips are even cheaper at ADW just $41.61 for 200 strips (4 boxes). They also have a deal to buy strips and lancets together, 200 of each for $44.91.
 
Re: 1/21 Rocky's AMPS 299 +3 228

So that I am clear on this at Rocky's dinner time at PMPS tonight, my instructions are:

If Rocky's bg is still in the 300s or 200s at his PMPS time, go ahead and increase his insulin dose to 1.0u?

Just a reminder, I will be out of town all day this coming Friday, January 24, and won't be able to monitor him or test his blood until his PMPS time.

Thank you! :YMHUG:
 
Re: 1/21 Rocky's AMPS 299 +3 228

That's right! And a lot can happen between now and Friday AM. Thursday night would be the best time to make a plan.
 
Re: 1/21 Rocky's AMPS 299 +3 228

Hi Ann,

Ann & Tess said:
Have you tried the Presto meter I sent you?
I have not tried the Presto monitor. Thought I'd keep it as a back-up. DID try the Nova Max but then was advised against it because of the bg strip recall. As for their blood testing ketone strips, I went to Walmart, CVS, and Walgreens and all of these stores in Elk Grove, CA have pulled even the Nova Max bg monitors. I guess those stores didn't want to take a chance so just pulled the entire Nova Max product line, for now anyway.

Just moments ago I went ahead and ordered the ReliOn bg strips from the ADW. I still have close to 200 of them here, so I'm safe until the arrive.

I have tested Rocky's urine for ketones only one time so far since being home. He was negative. I will do my best to try to get another test sometime this afternoon, or tonight. He must cooperate and pee while I'm in the room. I think he is a bit shy that way. :-D

Also moments ago I registered for that Lantus Solostar Pen savings and now have the printed out card in my hand. At my Target pharmacy I am able to purchase (1) pen at a time. I called the pharmacy and asked for the price. For (1) 3mL SoloStar Pen it was $84.50.. My vet is charging me a little over $65.00 for 2mL. I am almost out of insulin.

it will be good to pay no more than $25.00 for the first (6) pens containing (3)mL.. that will be some savings.
 
Re: 1/21 Rocky's AMPS 299 +3 228 +6 302 +8 355

Hi Tina!

Yes, if Rocky is above 150 at PMPS, go with 1 unit

IF you get below 150, we would want you to NOT shoot, DON'T feed, and post and ask for help. This would include at least the first time or two you get a Pre-shot number under 150. We just want to make sure we're here to help you at least the first few times. Make sure your subject line says something like "First time under 150" or "Advice needed please!"...something that gets our attention that you're shooting a 150 for the first time or that you need someone to help with dosing advice.

Good luck with the dosecrease and I hope you start to see some prettier numbers soon...but if not, just keep holding the dose. When you increase, you have to let the depot "fill" to the new dose, so while you might not see better numbers immediately, you might a cycle or two down the line.

Come on Rocky! No shy bladder buddy...pee for your mamabean!!
 
Re: 1/21 Rocky's PMPS 344

Rocky is at 344 at PMPS .. so getting the dosecrease up to 1.0 u.

Started ripping himself to shreds again late this afternoon.

I hope he comes down now and levels out.

I took his litter box out of the room so that he might wait until I could be in there with him. He couldn't wait. He peed on a towel instead. I did put the ketone strip on the peed towel. It did read negative, but I don't know how reliable that is. I'll try with him again later tonight before I go to bed.
 
Re: ketone question

Do you think it would be OK to use the ketone dip strips in Nature's Miracle litter? It's made of corn cobs and is nice and soft.

I ask because I think Rocky is P.O.'d at me for continually removing his litter box and then replacing it with one which has rocks in it while I am in there. In addition, I place him in the box with aquarium rocks to give him a little hint. He's not impressed with my skills.

I think the NM **might** be wet enough to get something on the stick, if he should pee when I place him in that box. He clearly likes this litter better than fish tank rocks.
 
Re: ketone question

It's been a while since I tried the Nature's Miracle litter. Is it the clumping kind? I'd be worried about all the urine getting soaked up into the litter before you could get a test stick in. Have you tried putting some plastic wrap on top of the litter. It might catch some of the urine in it.
 
Re: ketone question, Rocky PMPS 344 +2 358

Hi Wendy,

The urine does soak into the litter, but it is pretty wet. I think wet enough to make the stick wet if I placed it on top of it. Would that be OK?
 
Re: ketone question, Rocky PMPS 344 +2 358

As long as you can get the stick fairly wet, it should be OK. I know that with World's Best Cat Litter and the Blue Buffalo walnut litter, the clumps form too quickly. I guess this is a case where a litter that absorbs poorly is best. :lol: I think Julie used to use washed and dried lentils on top of a plastic bag in a litter box. That would be pretty soft too.
 
Re: ketone question, Rocky PMPS 344 +2 358 +3 324

With BK I used a combination of (the original) Feline Pine clumping litter and Dr. Elseys.
Depending on BKs position in the box , his urine output and how quickly he jumped out of the box, a small pool would momentarily be there and if I was quick enough I could get a good test.

Also, I discovered I could see the result better in natural light (near a window) as opposed to the light in the bathroom (where his litter boxes are).
 
Re: ketone question, Rocky PMPS 344 +2 358 +3 324 +5 401

I'm going to give up on trying to get this piss from Rocky. I'm going to start crying..

Rocky is isolated in a bathroom. I am not sitting in a bathroom with him 24/7. My solution was to take the box out of the room and to bring it back in with me when I do the testing. So far, it hasn't worked. In fact, today he peed on a towel I had on his bed rather than wait for the box.

I am NOT going to be able to get his "fresh" urine. I'll never know when he peed. I do not know what to do.
 
Still VERY high bg for receiving a .25 u increase last night.

PMPS 344
+2 358
+3 324
+5 401
+8 395

Climbing further upwards, rather than coming back down.. my poor Rocky Boy.. :cry:
 
You aren't going to see an immediate response like that. Someone (Sienne?) likens Lantus to turning a huge ship, you have to go in a huge circle to turn around, not do a quick 180. Let the depot build up try to be patient. I know how difficult it is. Take a look at Cobb's spreadsheet. He was much higher than Rocky for months. Rocky will respond, but you have to give the insulin time to work.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top